Abstracts 1, 2007

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 1, 2007

Foreign Policy Perspective

Alexander Galkin

Russia as the Subject of the World Policy.

The author focuses his attention on the main approaches to the determination of Russia’s place in the globalizing world. A. Galkin divides them into sovereign active and subjectively passive. He believes that their differences lie in understanding of national interests, the assessment of resources, identifying of the most possible partners and designing of supposed actions and stages in the process of attaining of the goals. The choice of strategy implies tactical approaches and decisions. Besides, according to the author opposing each other strategies and real difficulties conditioned by historical development and specific circumstances will have to be taken into consideration.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-5-29

Russian Polity

Lydia Nickovskaya, Vladimir Yakimets

Public Policy in Modern Russia between Corporate Bureaucratic and Civil Modernization Choices.

The authors analyze the state, dynamics and prospects of public policy in Russia. They use the data of a comparative study conducted in the regions. According to L. Nickovskaya and V. Yakimets during lately the public policy and the public sphere at large are in the situation of slow but persistent freezing caused by building of so called managed democracy. The authors try to prove that modern Russia needs a new type of political development that would much more appeal to solidary partnership and not to directive mobilization.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-30-51


Sergei Peregoudov

Business and Bureaucracy in Russia Dynamics of Interaction.

The author analyses the principles and norms of interaction between the executive power and business community. S. Peregudov puts in doubt the widely common thesis about the emerging corporate state in Russia. In his opinion bureaucracy and big business separately and together are not the instances where the most important national decisions are worked out. Not being the arbiter of the fate in the direct meaning corporate bureaucracy nevertheless largely influences the whole system of social relation in Russia and in many ways determines its rules of the game. The author believes that its influence is mainly expressed in the depolitization of relations between the society and the state, blocking of the society-power interaction channels and growingly evident alienation of ordinary citizens both from business and the power.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-52-64


Vladimir Rimskiy

Bureaucracy, Clientalism and Corruption in Russia.

The article is based on the series of empiric studies conducted by INDEM Foundation since the late 1990-ies with the direct participation of the author. V. Rimskiy addresses the problem of understanding of corruption especially in its current national interpretation. The author sees the specifics of the Russian corruption in its strong ties with the bureaucratic system of public administration. The factor of the underdevelopment of power and property with its deep historic roots is the special focus of the article. The author also dwells on the formation and widening of corruption networks that control significant resources.

V. Rimskiy is sure that only the system approach can combat corruption. In particular, this phenomenon cannot be curbed without reforming of the bureaucratic administration system and its adaptation to the resolution of real problems in the country.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-65-84


Andrei Okara

Reprivatization of the Future (Sovereign Democracy: from the Pursuit of the New Russian Idea to the Mission of Corporation Closed-end Stock Company Russia?).

The article deals with the analysis of concept “sovereign democracy” as a complex multi-layered political ideological project addressing the formation of “Putin’s discourse” that is seen as a certain textual contextual political quintessence of the epoch. Having found out the powerful “conservative-revolutionary” component the author proves that the power and its ideologists started to use the “conservative revolution” concepts not due to the ideological metamorphosis but due to the fact that its own conceptual toolkit was exhausted. The values of order and stability as well as the “anti-orange” rhetoric lost their effectiveness while the regime’s mobilization needs significantly rose including due to the coming parliamentary and presidential elections. According to A. Okara from the point of view of political ideological marketing and Putin’s regime survival merging of the conservative protective camp political organizational and media possibilities with the conservative revolutionary system of values (with a touch of liberal rhetoric) is quite adequate response to the challenges of the time under our conditions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-85-95

Practical Sociology

Vladimir Petukhov

Dynamics of political preferences.

The empirical base of the article is the results of all Russian sociological surveys held in 1999, 2003 and 2006. The author finds evident ideological and political differences in the different groups of the urban middle class and attempts to reveal some of their typical features. This is low interest to politics, evident orientation to private interests, individual self-realization conformism and neutral and estranged attitude to the power. In spite of the left trends in the Russian society the number of the adherents of communist and other left ideas is on the decrease in the urban middle class. At the same time the liberal idea adherents do not find any adequate carriers of this ideology in the political environment.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-96-111

Cathedra

Andrey Bolshakov

The Fate of Federal Projects in the Post-Soviet Space.

The author views federalism as both the world phenomenon and the factor of democracy enhancing. The main task of his research is in finding out the causes of the failure of federalist projects in the post-soviet space and the reasons of their low popularity both with the ruling elite and the society at large. A. Bolshakov attempts to assess the prospects of federalism in Russia and other post-soviet countries; he sees the use of its possibilities as an important and effective way of the resolution of current conflicts and contradictions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-112-125

Books Review

Valeriy Liubin

Study of Totelitarism: Earnest Nolte.

The article covers the review of the historiography of European totalitarian regimes of the XX-th century. The author focuses on the postwar study of the Western European fascism and the role of Earnest Nolte a famous researcher in it. In particular the author analyses E.Nolte’s concept of totalitarianism his three level classification of fascism and comments on his most significant publications. Valeriy compared E. Nolte’s point of view with the other researchers’ opinion in particular the Soviet and the Russian ones.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-126-138


Ernst Nolte

Interview for magazine Politeia.

In his interview (V. Lyubin took the interview) E. Nolte assesses the contribution to the development of the totalitarianism theory by some scientists and criticizes some approaches to the study of this problem. Nolte identifies papers that he finds most significant including published during lately. He also speaks about the practical influence of theoretical ideas on totalitarianism upon modern politics and politicians.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-139-145

Chronicle

Yury Korgunyuk

Jekyll and Hyde System. Political Party Life in Russia in Spring 2007.

In the traditional for magazine “Politeia” review the main events from the life of Russian political parties in spring 2007 are presented. As a rule the chronicle is accompanied by the analysis of the alignment of Russian political party forces in this period of time. The author focuses on the March elections to regional legislatures. He tries to draw the attention to such features as the dominance of the pro-government forces in the information environment the active use of the administrative resource and the dismissal of “extra” candidates for the elections. According to Y. Korgunyuk such actions on the side of the authorities are counter-productive and only contributes to the creation of opposition coalitions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-44-1-146-170

Содержание выпуска № 1, 2007

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 1, 2007

Внешнеполитический ракурс

А.А.Галкин

Россия как субъект мировой политики

В центре внимания автора – рассмотрение основных подходов к определению места России в глобализирующемся мире. В статье они условно названы суверенно-активным и подчиненно-пассивным. Их различия, по мнению А.Галкина, - в понимании национальных интересов, в оценках ресурсов, в определении наиболее вероятных партнеров, в выстраивании предполагаемых действий и этапов движения к поставленным целям. Выбор стратегии влечет за собой соответствующие тактические подходы и решения. При этом, считает автор, придется считаться как с противостоящими стратегиями, так и с реальными трудностями, обусловленными историческими наслоениями и конкретными обстоятельствами.

Российская полития

Л.И.Никовская, В.Н.Якимец

Публичная политика в современной России: между корпоративно-бюрократическим и гражданско- модернизаторским выбором.

Публичная политика в современной России: между корпоративно-бюрократическим и гражданско-модернизаторским выбором. Авторы анализируют состояние, динамику и перспективы публичной политики в России. В статье используются данные сравнительного исследования, проведенного в ряде регионов. По мнению Л.Никовской и В.Якимца, в последние годы публичная политика, как и публичная сфера в целом, оказались в ситуации медленного, но настойчивого "замораживания", причиной которого стало выстраивание так называемой "управляемой демократии". Авторы пытаются доказать, что современной России нужен иной тип политического развития, который в большей степени апеллировал бы не к директивной мобилизации, а к солидарному партнерству.


С.П.Перегудов

Бизнес и бюрократия в России: динамика взаимодействия.

В статье исследуются принципы и нормы взаимодействия между исполнительной властью, с одной стороны, и предпринимательским сообществом, - с другой. Автор ставит под сомнение бытующий тезис о складывании у нас "корпоративного государства". По его мнению, бюрократия и большой бизнес, - и по отдельности, и вместе взятые, - не являются теми инстанциями, где вырабатываются и принимаются наиболее важные для страны решения. Не будучи вершителем судеб страны в прямом смысле этого слова, корпоративно-бюрократический симбиоз тем не менее накладывает существенный отпечаток на всю систему общественных отношений в России и во многом детерминирует используемые в ней правила игры. Его основное влияние, считает С.Перегудов, проявляется в деполитизации отношений общества и государства, в закупорке каналов взаимодействия общества с властью, и в становящемся все более очевидным отчуждении рядовых граждан и от бизнеса, и от самой власти.


В.Л.Римский

Бюрократия, клиентелизм и коррупция в России.

Статья опирается на серию эмпирических исследований, которые проводятся Фондом ИНДЕМ с конца 1990-х годов при непосредственном участии в них самого автора. В.Римский останавливается на проблеме понимания коррупции, особенно в ее сегодняшнем отечественном преломлении. Специфику российской коррупции автор видит в ее сильной связи с бюрократической системой государственного управления. Особое внимание в статье уделяется фактору неразделенности власти и собственности, имеющему в стране глубокие исторические корни. Автор подробно останавливается также на формулировании и расширении коррупционных сетей, которые в совокупности контролируют ныне в стране весьма значительные ресурсы. По мнению В.Римского, в противодействии коррупции необходим системный подход. В частности, это явление невозможно преодолеть без реформирования бюрократической системы управления и ее адаптации к решению реальных проблем в стране.


А.Н.Окара

Реприватизация будущего. "Суверенная демократия": от поисков "новой русской идеи к "миссии" корпорации ЗАО "Россия".

Статья посвящена анализу концепта "суверенная демократия" как комплексного многоуровневого политико-идеологического проекта, нацеленного на формирование "дискурса Путина" – некой текстуально-контекстуальной политической квинтэссенции современной эпохи. Выявив в программных текстах идеологов "суверенной демократии" мощную "консервативно-революционную" составляющую, автор доказывает, что власть и ее идеологи заговорили на понятийном языке "консервативной революции" не в силу идейного перерождения, а по причине исчерпанности собственного концептуального багажа. Ценности порядка и стабильности, равно как и "антиоранжевая" риторика, утратили свою действенность, в то время как мобилизационные потребности режима существенно возросли, в том числе и в связи с приближением парламентских и президентских выборов. По заключению А.Окары, с точки зрения политико-идеологического маркетинга и выживания политического режима Путина соединение политических, организационных и медийных возможностей консервативно-охранительного лагеря с консервативно-революционной ценностной системой (при некотором вкраплении либеральной риторики) является в нынешних условиях вполне адекватным ответом на вызовы времени.

Практическая социология

В.В.Петухов

Динамика политических предпочтений и политического участия городского среднего класса

Эмпирической базой при подготовке статьи послужили результаты общероссийских социологических исследований, проведенных соответственно в 1999, 2003 и 2006 годах. Констатируя наличие заметных различий в идеологических и политических у различных групп и слоев, составляющих городской средний класс, автор предпринимает попытку выявить некоторые свойственные ему общие, типичные черты. Это, прежде всего, невысокий интерес к политике, отчетливо выраженная направленность на частные интересы и индивидуальную самореализацию, конформизм, нейтрально-отстраненное отношение к власти. На фоне "полевения" российского общества среди городских средних слоев неуклонно снижается число сторонников коммунистической и вообще левой идеологии. В то же время приверженцы либерального идейного течения не находят в партийно-политическом пространстве сколько-нибудь адекватных носителей этой идеологии.

Кафедра

А.Г.Большаков

Судьба федералистских проектов на постсоветском пространстве.

Автор рассматривает федерализм и как мировой феномен, и как фактор упрочения и развития демократии. Главную же задачу своего исследования он видит в выяснении причин кризиса федералистских проектов на постсоветском пространстве, причин их слабой популярности как у правящих элит, так и среди населения. А.Большаков оценивает дальнейшие перспективы федерализма в России и других постсоветских государствах, считая использование его возможностей важным и эффективным способом разрешения накопившихся конфликтов и противоречий.

Размышления над прочитанным

В.П.Любин

Изучение тоталитаризма: вклад Эрнста Нольте.

В статье представлен обзор историографии европейских тоталитарных режимов XX века. Особый акцент делается автором на послевоенном изучении западноевропейского фашизма и на роли в этом изучении известного исследователя Эрнста Нольте. В работе рассматриваются, в частности, разработанная Э.Нольте концепция тоталитаризма, его трехуровневая классификация фашизма, комментируются его наиболее значимые публикации. Валерий Любин сопоставляет точку зрения Э.Нольте с позициями других исследователей, в частности, советских и российских.


Э.Нольте

Интервью для журнала "Полития".

В интервью, которое было взято у Э.Нольте Валерием Любиным, оценивается вклад в разработку теории тоталитаризма отдельных ученых, подвергаются критике некоторые подходы в изучении данной проблематики. Нольте выделяет наиболее значимые с его точки зрения монографические исследования, в том числе из вышедших в самые последние годы. В ответах Э.Нольте идет речь и о практическим влиянии теоретических положений о тоталитаризме на современную политику и политиков.

Хроника

Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Система "Джекил-Хайд". Партийно-политическая жизнь России весной 2007г.

В традиционном для журнала "Полития" обзоре представлены основные события из жизни российских политических партий за весну 2007 года. Как обычно, хроника сопровождается анализом расстановки партийно-политических сил в России за указанный период. Основное внимание здесь акцентируется на мартовских выборах в региональные парламенты. Автор обращает внимание на такие их черты, как господство проправительственных сил в информационном пространстве, активное использование административного ресурса и снятие с выборов "лишних" участников. По мнению Юрия Коргунюка, подобные действия власти контрпродуктивны и только способствуют созданию оппозиционных коалиций.