Abstracts 1, 2011

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 1, 2011

Political theories

Svyatoslav Kaspe

BACK TO SHILS: SOCIAL STUDIES, POLITICAL REALITY AND PARADOX OF NON-DIVINE CHARISMA

Keywords: political, sacred, charisma, Durkheim, structural functionalism, Shils

The article points out significant methodological difficulties that modern social sciences face referring to the categories of the sacred and the charismatic. According to the author, the reason for such problems lies in the refusal to take into account transcendental dimension of the sacred, in the a priori belief that the latter is immanent in the social, in the treatment of the phenomenon of the charismatic solely as a type of symbolic capital, which contradicts the initial meaning of the terms and is hardly consistent with the sum of empirical observations on the cooperation between the sacred and the social (especially, the sacred and the political). S.Kaspe finds a solution to this paradox of «non-divine charisma» in Shils' sociology showing that its reanimation might provide a key towards understanding a lot of acute political challenges.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-5-18

Paradigms of social development

Kenneth F. Greene

THE POLITICAL ECONOMY OF AUTHORITARIAN SINGLE-PARTY DOMINANCE

Keywords: single-party dominance, clientelism, patronage, party competition, privatization

Why do authoritarian dominant parties, once established, continue to win elections or lose power? Employing a time-series cross-national analysis of election outcomes and two country case studies, the author shows that dominant parties endure despite poor economic performance, voter demand for new parties, and sufficiently permissive electoral institutions. Instead, the author demonstrates that dominant parties continue to win when they can politicize public resources, and they fail when privatizations put the state’s fiscal power out of their reach. The argument has implications for the fate of dominant parties, transitions to democracy in competitive authoritarian regimes, and the study of incumbency advantages and electoral fairness in comparative politics.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-19-49


Egor Lazarev

CORRUPTION AND POLITICAL STABILITY: INSTITUTIONAL PERSPECTIVE

Keywords: corruption, political stability, neoinstitutionalism

This paper investigates the relationship between political stability and corruption in weakly institutionalized polities – “weak states”. The main hypothesis is that there is a U-shaped relationship between political stability and corruption. The lower is the level of political stability the higher is the level of corruption, due to reduction of time horizon of politicians and bureaucrats. Yet the very high level of stability in “weak states” also leads to an increase in the level of corruption. The idea is that political elites use corruption as a mechanism for loyalty providing by rewarding supporters and controlling potential challengers, therefore corruption and political stability can be mutually reinforcing. The argument is grounded on the theory of inefficient institutions and simple game theoretical model of political process. The idea of non-linear relationship between political stability and corruption confirms with empirical findings from statistical analysis of the data from 122 developing countries.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-50-68

Modernity and modernization

Alexander Galkin

MODERNIZATION, FEEDBACK AND PUBLIC SPHERE

Keywords: modernization, feedback, public sphere, public interest, development, renewal, civil society, social systems

Having analyzed the specificity of the situation in the modern Russia, A.Galkin concludes that the country necessitates systemic modernization rather than techno-economic one with the former being impossible to implement without mobilizing if not the whole society, but at least its rather populous groups. According to his conclusions, in order to break the impasse and bring in motion the process of formation of the spiritual atmosphere in which modernization is perceived not only as possible, but also as desirable, in the first place it is necessary to improve and actively engage a set of mechanisms capable of stimulating public interest in modernization. This is the only case when modernizing impulses coming from above will be consistent with the aspiration towards modernization coming from below and will create necessary conditions for successful implementation of an urgent modernization breakthrough.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-69-84

Russian Polity

Kirill Kholodkovsky

AMBIGUITY OF RUSSIAN IDENTITY

Keywords: identity, socio-cultural conflict, modernists, traditionalists

The Russian identity is still far from becoming an identity of the modern epoch, however, it has not been consolidated, or frozen in numbness, which can be judged not only by its volatility, but also by “mutual penetration” of its beliefs and values, the existence of quantitative as well as significant qualitative differences between modernists and traditionalists. Having emphasized lability of the modern Russian identity, K.Holodkovsky assumes that it might face new fluctuations under the influence of both objective and subjective conditions having undergone changes. He comes to the conclusion that although the cohort of the pure modernists retreats the fact that the opposing majority lost its coherence, and new values and attitudes penetrated into its body allows to talk about the gradual – fragile, errorful, being interrupted with backwards movement – formation of new identity that will be in demand during the next stage of the Russian reforms.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-85-97


Igor Zadorin, Dmitry Zaytsev, Ivan Klimov

CIVIL PARTICIPATION IN RUSSIA: CARTOGRAPHY OF PROBLEMS AND SOLUTIONS

Keywords: social organizations, civil participation, civil initiatives, culture of solidarity, collective action

The article is devoted to the analysis of the “third sector” in the modern Russia and possible trajectories of its development in the mid-term. According to the authors’ conception, all the problems (or most of them) with the civil participation can be explained through the specificity of interaction of its main subjects i.e. civil activists and social organizations with different stakeholders – population (ordinary citizens), power and business. Having thoroughly reviewed the range of contradictions emerging during the interaction of various “social sectors”, the authors draw the conclusion that a lot of problems of the Russian civil society have their roots in its very structures, in their ability/inability to build relationships with other socio-political actors. The research paper is based on the material of the project Power and Society in Russia: Problems of Overcoming Mutual Alienation carried out by the group ZIRCON, January-March, 2010.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-98-116

Russian regions

Leonid Bliakher, Nikolai Pegin

BIROBIDJAN: BETWEEN POTEMKINS VILLAGE AND NATION-BUILDING

Keywords: nation-building, Jewish community, Yiddish, political nation, network connections, artistic culture

The article describes the processes of nation-building taking place in the Amur River Region in 1920–1930s that resulted in the emergence of the Jewish Autonomous Province. Having analyzed in details twists and turns of the struggle surrounding the idea of the “Jewish autonomy” and instruments employed for its formation, the authors demonstrate that in contrast to the conventional wisdom, “Project of Birobidjan” was not only the means of propagandistic influence over the international community or the way to attract investments from the international Jewish organizations. They conclude that it was a unique attempt to build a “secular” Jewish state based on such mechanisms as artistic culture, construction of history and commonality of fate created by immigration.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-117-134


Dmitry Kozlov

UNPREDICTABILITY OF RUSSIAN POLITICAL PROCESS By example of mayoral elections in Irkutsk

Keywords: elections, elite, social identification, territorial community, private space, masses

The author analyzes flaws in the functioning of the Russian political system caused by the transformation of the regional elites from being almost absolute principals exercising power over their territories into the agents of the federal power. He shows that with gubernators losing their roles as leaders of the local community the logic of “sovereign democracy” viewing democracy itself as a subject for manipulation and subordination also ceases working. The society being distanced from power strongly guards its space perceiving pressure exerted by power as an intrusion upon private sphere. Under such conditions as guided by the experience of Irkutsk’s elections 2010 the electoral procedure that seems to have already lost its political meaning is capable of becoming a channel for people’s protestant sentiments.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-135-146

Gubernatorial readings

Second Gubernatorial Readings

RUSSIAN MODERNIZATION: PROBLEMS AND CHALLENGES (Second Gubernatorial Readings. Tumen, January 26, 2011.)

Keywords: modernization, drivers of growth, institutional reconstruction, “democracy of trust”, Tumen region

The material published here is a report on the Second Gubernatorial Readings held in Tumen, January 26, 2011 under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tumen region with the topic of readings being Problems and Challenges of Russian Modernization and a lecturer being I.E.Diskin, PhD in Economics, Chairman of Commission on Development of Civil Society within the RF Public Chamber, Co-Chairman of Council on National Strategy, Professor of Higher School of Economics.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-147-160


First Gubernatorial Readings

STRATEGY OF MODERNIZATION OF RUSSIAN ECONOMY (First Gubernatorial Readings. Tumen, November 18, 2010.)

Keywords: economic modernization, technologies of broad application, innovations, oil & gas resources, Tumen region

The material published here is a report on the First Gubernatorial Readings held in Tumen, November 18, 2010 under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tumen region with the topic of readings being Strategy of Modernization of Russian Economy and a lecturer being V.M.Polterovich, member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Head of the laboratory of mathematical economics in the Central Economic Mathematical Institution within the Russian Academy of Sciences, Deputy Director of Moscow School of Economics.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-160-187

Cathedra

Vladimir Volsky

ON RAMON LLULLS CONTRIBUTION TO THEORY OF VOTING

Keywords: voting, pairwise comparison, criterion, sum of ranks

The article describes three procedures of voting elaborated by Ramon LLull, a distinguished medieval poet, philosopher and theologist. Having reviewed these procedures, V.Volsky demonstrated that it was LLull who actually invented the method of pairwise comparison of candidates and not Marquis de Condorcet as it is commonly considered.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-60-1-188-196

In memoriam

Содержание выпуска № 1, 2011

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 1, 2011

Политические теории

С.И.Каспэ

Назад к Шилзу: социальные науки, политическая реальность и парадокс безблагодатной харизмы

Ключевые слова: политическое, сакральное, харизма, Дюркгейм, структурный функционализм, Шилз

В статье фиксируются существенные методологические затруднения, с которыми сталкиваются современные социальные науки, обращаясь к категориям сакрального и харизматического. По мнению автора, причина этих затруднений в отказе от учета трансцендентного измерения сакрального, в априорном представлении о его имманентности социальному, в сведении феномена харизмы к одному из видов символического капитала, что противоречит исходному смыслу терминов и плохо согласуется с суммой эмпирических наблюдений над случаями взаимодействия сакрального и социального (в особенности сакрального и политического). Возможность разрешения этого парадокса «безблагодатной харизмы» С.Каспэ обнаруживает в социологии Э.Шилза, показывая, что ее реанимация способна дать ключ к пониманию многих актуальных политических вызовов.

Парадигмы общественного развития

К.Ф.Грин

Политическая экономия авторитарного однопартийного доминирования

Ключевые слова: однопартийное доминирование, клиентелизм, патронаж, партийная конкуренция, приватизация

Почему доминантные партии, однажды утвердившись, продолжают выигрывать выборы и почему они теряют власть? Опираясь на анализ кросс-национальных временных рядов по совокупности систем с доминантной партией и исследование двух страновых случаев, Кеннет Ф. Грин показывает, что доминантные партии сохраняют свои позиции, несмотря на плохое положение дел в экономике, запрос избирателей на новые партии и достаточно либеральные электоральные институты. По его заключению, доминантные партии побеждают на выборах до тех пор, пока могут политизировать государственные ресурсы, и терпят поражение, когда вследствие приватизации финансовая мощь государства оказывается вне пределов их досягаемости. Полученные автором выводы могут быть использованы при изучении перспектив доминантных партий и возможностей перехода к демократии в странах с конкурентными авторитарными режимами и сравнительном исследовании преимуществ инкумбентства и справедливости электорального процесса.


Е.А.Лазарев

Коррупция и политическая стабильность: институциональная перспектива

Ключевые слова: коррупция, политическая стабильность, неоинституционализм

Статья посвящена анализу взаимного влияния коррупции и политической стабильности в так называемых «слабых государствах». Главная гипотеза исследования состоит в том, что между коррупцией и политической стабильностью существует нелинейная связь: чем выше уровень политической нестабильности, тем выше уровень коррупции в стране, однако очень высокая стабильность также ведет к росту коррупции. Опираясь на теорию неэффективных институтов и игровую модель политического процесса, а также на статистический анализ данных по 122 «развивающимся странам», Е.Лазарев показывает, что коррупция может использоваться правящей группой не только для личного обогащения, но и для контроля над бюрократией и обеспечения лояльности значимых в политическом отношении групп. В результате из стратегии правящих групп, направленной на максимизацию собственной прибыли и удержание власти, коррупция превращается в самоподдерживающийся политический институт.

Модерн и модернизация

А.А.Галкин

Модернизация, обратная связь и публичная сфера

Ключевые слова: модернизация, обратная связь, публичная сфера, публичный интерес, развитие, обновление, гражданское общество, общественные системы

Проанализировав специфику ситуации, сложившейся в современной России, А.Галкин приходит к выводу, что страна нуждается сейчас не столько в технико-экономической, сколько в системной модернизации, которую невозможно реализовать, не подняв на достижение этой цели если не все общество, то хотя бы достаточно массовые его группы. По его заключению, чтобы сдвинуть с мертвой точки процесс формирования в стране духовной атмосферы, в которой модернизация воспринималась бы не только как возможное, но и как желанное деяние, прежде всего необходимо усовершенствовать и активно задействовать совокупность механизмов, способных стимулировать публичный интерес к модернизации. Только в этом случае модернизационные импульсы, поступающие сверху, состыкуются со стремлением к модернизации снизу и создадут тот сплав, который требуется для успешного осуществления назревшего модернизационного рывка.

Российская полития

К.Г.Холодковский

Двойственность российской идентичности

Ключевые слова: идентичность, социокультурный конфликт, модернисты, традиционалисты

Российская идентичность еще отнюдь не стала идентичностью современной эпохи, однако она и не «устоялась», не замерла в неподвижности, на что указывает не только ее изменчивость, но и «взаимопроникновение» представлений и ценностей, наличие наряду с существенными качественными и чисто количественных различий между модернистами и традиционалистами. Зафиксировав лабильность нынешней российской идентичности, К.Холодковский высказывает предположение о возможности новых ее колебаний под влиянием изменившихся объективных и субъективных условий. По его заключению, несмотря на отступление когорты явных модернистов, утрата целостности противостоящего им большинства, проникновение в его массив новых ценностей и установок позволяют говорить о постепенном – робком, неверном, прерывающемся попятным движением – вызревании новой идентичности, которая будет востребована на следующем витке российских преобразований.


И.В.Задорин, Д.Г.Зайцев, И.А.Климов

Гражданское участие в России: картография проблем и решений

Ключевые слова: общественные объединения, гражданское участие, гражданские инициативы, культура солидарности, коллективное действие

Статья посвящена анализу состояния «третьего сектора» в современной России и возможных направлений его развития в среднесрочной перспективе. Согласно концепции авторов, всю (или почти всю) проблематику гражданского участия можно описать через специфику взаимодействия основных его субъектов – гражданских активистов и общественных объединений – с различными заинтересованными сторонами – населением (рядовыми гражданами), властью и бизнесом. Детально рассмотрев совокупность противоречий, возникающих при взаимодействии различных «общественных секторов», авторы приходят к выводу, что многие проблемы российского гражданского общества имеют корни в самих его структурах, в их способности/неспособности выстраивать отношения с другими социально-политическими акторами. В основу исследования положены материалы проекта «Власть и общество в России: проблемы преодоления взаимного отчуждения», осуществленного группой ЦИРКОН в январе-марте 2010 г.

Российские регионы

Л.Е.Бляхер, Н.А.Пегин

Биробиджан: между «потемкинской деревней» и nation-building

Ключевые слова: нациестроительство, еврейская община, идиш, политическая нация, сетевые связи, художественная культура

В статье анализируются процессы нациестроительства, развернувшиеся в Приамурье 1920–1930-е годы и приведшие к появлению Еврейской автономной области. Подробно рассмотрев перипетии борьбы вокруг идеи «еврейской автономии» и инструменты, использованные при ее создании, авторы показывают, что, в противовес устоявшейся точке зрения, «биробиджанский проект» был не просто средством пропагандистского воздействия на мировое сообщество или способом получения инвестиций со стороны международных еврейских организаций. По их заключению, речь шла об уникальной попытке построения «светского» еврейского государства на основе таких механизмов, как художественная культура, конструирование истории и общность судьбы, создаваемая переселением.


Д.В.Козлов

Непредсказуемость российского политического процесса (На примере выборов мэра в Иркутске в 2010 г.)

Ключевые слова: выборы, элита, социальная идентификация, территориальное сообщество, приватное пространство, массы

В статье на примере выборов мэра города Иркутска анализируются сбои в работе российской политической системы, вызванные превращением региональных элит из почти полновластных принципалов, осуществляющих власть на территории, в агентов федеральной власти. Автор показывает, что с утратой губернаторами роли лидеров местного сообщества перестает действовать и логика «суверенной» демократии, в рамках которой собственно демократия выступает в качестве субститута, подлежащей манипуляции и укрощению сущности. Дистанцированное от власти общество жестко охраняет свое пространство, воспринимая властное давление как вторжение в приватную сферу. В этих условиях, как свидетельствует опыт иркутских выборов-2010, электоральная процедура, политический смысл которой, казалось бы, уже полностью выхолощен, способна стать формой канализации протестных настроений населения.

Губернаторские чтения

Вторые Губернаторские чтения

Российская модернизация: проблемы и вызовы (Вторые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 26 января 2011 г.)

Ключевые слова: модернизация, драйверы роста, институциональная реконструкция, «демократия доверия», Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Вторых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 26 января 2011 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема чтений – «Проблемы и вызовы российской модернизации», лектор – доктор экономических наук, председатель комиссии Общественной палаты РФ по вопросам развития гражданского общества, сопредседатель Совета по национальной стратегии, профессор Высшей школы экономики И.Е.Дискин.


Первые Губернаторские чтения

Стратегия модернизации российской экономики (Первые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 18 ноября 2010 г.)

Ключевые слова: экономическая модернизация, технологии широкого применения, инновации, нефтегазовые ресурсы, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Первых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 18 ноября 2010 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема чтений – «Стратегия модернизации российской экономики», лектор – академик РАН, заведующий лабораторией математической экономики ЦЭМИ РАН, зам. директора Московской школы экономики В.М.Полтерович.

Кафедра

В.И.Вольский

О вкладе Раймунда Луллия в теорию голосования

Ключевые слова: голосование, попарное сравнение, критерий, сумма рангов

В статье дано описание трех процедур голосования, предложенных в XIII в. выдающимся средневековым поэтом, философом и богословом Раймундом Луллием. Рассмотрев эти процедуры, В.Вольский показывает, что метод попарного сравнения кандидатов, автором которого принято считать маркиза де Кондорсе, в действительности был изобретен Луллием пятью столетиями ранее.

In memoriam