Abstracts 2, 2010

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 2, 2010

Russian polity

Vladimir Gelman

SUBVERSIVE INSTITUTIONS AND INFORMAL GOVERNMENT IN MODERN RUSSIA

Keywords: political institutions, institutional traps, Russia, state-building

The article attempts to review the “informal institutionalization” in Russia from both theoretical and comparative perspective and critically analyze some explanations of the prevalence of the “subversive” institutions in the country i.e. norms and regulations that at first sight partly resemble the modern democratic institutions, but in reality inhibit the development of the latter. Having clearly demonstrated the comprehensive character of the factors that cause this pathology being one of the manifestations of the “institutional traps”, V.Gel’man draws a conclusion that neither long-term therapy in the form of the socio-cultural evolution nor radical surgical intervention taking shape of the political regime change guarantee overcoming of its effects and what is more, might even aggravate them.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-6-24


Alexei Zudin

POLITICAL REGIME IN RUSSIA AFTER 2008: VECTORS OF CONTROLLED TRANSFORMATION

Keywords: scenario, political regime, domination, monocentrism, deconcentration, elite settlement, “cartel” parties

The detailed theses of the report held at the scientific-practical seminar “Politeia”, March 25, 2010

The report presented at the scientific-practical seminar “Politeia”, March 25, 2010, analyzes the institutional and political changes in Russia in the recent years. A.Zudin argues that the core of these changes is the transformation from the consolidation process towards the controlled differentiation of the political regime. Having pointed out the alteration in the scenario of the country’s political development, Zudin hypothesizes that in the short-term prospect the implementation of this scenario will hinge upon the solution of three most important problems i.e. a status of the socially active minority, a new model of the party system, and the future of the tandem between V.Putin and D.Medvedev. According to his conclusions, if the planned political construction shows no serious dysfunctions, the hybrid model of government laid out in the Constitution of 1993 might turn into reality.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-25-41


Andrei Melville, Ivan Timofeev

2020: RUSSIAN ALTERNATIVES REVISITED

Keywords: Russia, future, prognostication, scenarios, focus groups, bifurcation point, development, non-linear dynamics

The authors in their article generalize the results of the new stage of the research project aiming at the construction of the alternative scenarios of Russia’s future and testing them through the method of focus groups. Four scenarios – “Kremlin Gambit”, “New Dream”, “Fortress Russia”, and “Russian Mosaic” – are being reviewed. The focus groups carried out in Moscow, Yekaterinburg, Voronezh, Kaliningrad, Novgorod, and Irkutsk at the end of 2009 not only proved again that respondents hold these scenarios for real ones rather than far-fetched or arbitrarily elaborated trajectories of the future development of Russia, but also revealed a range of additional important issues. For instance, the authors found that regional differences and electoral preferences have barely any influence on the perception of the alternative variants of the future. The research demonstrated the increasing dissatisfaction of the Russian citizens with the current dynamics and the clearly defined request for changes that combines feelings of patriotism and fear of the collapse of the country with the unambiguous pro-democratic choice.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-42-65


Svetlana Tulaeva

DON COSSACKS IN THE 1617th CENTURIES AS AUTONOMIC SECURITY ORGANIZATION

Keywords: Cossacks, security contract, violence, power resource

Having conducted the analysis of the Don Cossacks’ community from the viewpoint of political economy of violence, S.Tulaeva demonstrates that treating Cossacks as being antagonistic towards the state does not capture the essence of this phenomenon, and its manifestation, development and transformation being closely tied to the formation of the centralized state should be regarded as a natural component of this process. Viewing the Russian young state and the Cossacks’ autonomy as special “security organizations” having possessed the power recourse, she interprets the relations between them as a “security contract” implying the government’s attraction of the Cossacks power resources with the purpose of more efficient fulfillment of its functions and describes in details the conditions under which the contract was concluded, its peculiar features and the reasons for the next transformation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-66-74

Russian regions

Yury Medvedev

OCCUPATIONAL STATUS AS SUCCESS FACTOR AT REGIONAL ELECTIONS

Keywords: regional legislature elections, single-member district, occupational status, factors of electoral success

Studying the elections to the Russian regional legislatures held under the single-member district subsystem of the mixed electoral system, Yu.Medvedev analyzes the dependence of the candidate’s electoral success on his/her occupational status. The article reveals the occupational categories that provide a candidate with the electoral advantage, sheds light on the resources that are necessary to reach that advantage, and evaluates the size of the latter with the help of the statistical tools. The author concludes that the social-occupational structure of the candidates’ corps at the elections to the Russian regional legislatures has already been formed and is unlikely to undergo any substantial changes in the near future.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-75-90


Galina Kalugina

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND TRANSFORMATION OF DISCOURSE OF NATIONAL POLICY IN POST-SOVIET EPOCH Case of Irkutsk

Keywords: discourse, national rhetoric, ethnic communities, NPO, migratory policy

The article is devoted to the analysis of the changes in the discourse of the “national policy” in the Russian regions. The author in her research paper proposes a hypothesis that the political fears at the federal level caused by the hypothetical chance of the country’s collapse due to the “national factor” have transformed at the regional level into the system of power decisions and institutional innovations connected to the local conflicts. The acceptance of the discourse transmitted from the federal center appeared to be a condition under which the local problem could be heard and comprehended. At the same time, this discourse constituted the basis for the conceptualization of the reality being radically different from the one that aroused political fear. As a result, the regional discourse has seen the emergence of a specific two-layer structure being both a problem (since it was necessary to determine the piece of the reality that might be conceptualized in the framework of the “national issue”) and a resource (since the conceptualization process of the selected piece of the reality inevitably leads to its reformatting that changes the “funnel of opportunities”).

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-91-106

Cis Terra Incognita: political processes in former Soviet Republics

Aleksei Gilyev

POLITICAL TRANSFORMATIONS ON POST-SOVIET SPACE: DO COLOUR REVOLUTIONS MATTER?

Keywords: regime change, “colour revolutions”, post-communism, ruling elites

The article casts light on the comparative analysis of the regime transformations in Georgia, Ukraine and Kyrgyzstan under the influence of the “colour revolutions” being interpreted as the specific cases of the ruling elite change that showed their particular features in each of three countries. After conducting the analysis of these characteristics influence on the trajectories of the future transformations, A.Gilyev comes to the conclusion that the differences in the “colour revolutions” impact on the political regimes are due to the specific formats of the “winning coalition” and the outcome of the conflict between the ruling elite and the opposition that claimed to replace it. The coalition of the monolithic nature based on the negative consensus and its absolute victory encourage the maintenance of the monocentric regime, whereas the fragmentation of the elite and the equality of forces favour greater polycentricism.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-107-121

Scientific heritage

Gabriel A. Almond, Sidney Verba

THE CIVIC CULTURE An Approach to Political Culture (I)

Keywords: political culture (parochial, subject, participant), civic culture, democracy, political orientations

The last fifteen years have witnessed another “swing motion” in political science in the sphere of methodology. After the long-term passion with neo-institutionalism, political science seems to be coming back (no doubt at a new level) to the problematique of the cultural determinacy of political processes. Taking this tendency into account, the editorial board of the journal “Politeia” finds it reasonable to acquaint its readers with the translation of two methodological chapters from the classic work by G.A.Almond and S.Verba The Civic Culture that at its time was a starting point of the scientific revolution that at the turn of the century received the second wind. In Russia this work is known by more or less (usually less) intelligent retellings, presented in the so called “politology” textbooks. The translation will be published in the next three issues of the journal.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-122-144

Antithesis

Leonid Fishman

TOO MUCH ECLECTICISM

Keywords: ideology, eclecticism, monism, pluralism, right (left) political thinking

Stating that ideological eclecticism has turned into the predominant type of political thinking, L.Fishman interprets it as the main moral-political challenge of our times. One still can imagine politics being loaded with moral content when adherents of rather consistent, monistic political theories compete for political power, but when there is no monism in politics at all, the latter loses its moral side as well. According to the author, if the eclectic nature of these or those political programs and ideologies adds to people’s irritation, it is due to their moral feeling that does not stand pantophagy of worldviews and under certain conditions can serve as a basis for constructing new moral-political rationality.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-145-154

Cathedra

Guzel Garifullina

CONTEXT AND RESOURCES IN INFORMATION STRATEGIES OF INTEREST GROUPS WITHIN EU INSTITUTIONS

Keywords: European Union, interest groups, informational strategies, policymaking

The article carries out the research on the information strategy of the interest groups striving to exert influence on the decisions of the political structures. After hypothesizing that different strategies of the actors who form supply in the information market depend upon the context and characteristics of the actors themselves, G.Garifullina tests it through the comparative analysis of the largest interest groups behavior during the preparation and adoption of two important European laws – Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals and Waste Framework Directive.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-155-166

Book Review

Yury Korgunyuk

HOW DOMINANT PARTIES LOSE, OR WHAT ONE CAN LEARN FROM MEXICAN CASE (Greene K.F. Why Dominant Parties Lose: Mexico's Democratization in Comparative Perspective. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007)

Keywords: dominant party, dominant party authoritarian regime, resource conception

Having thoroughly analyzed the conception of party dominancy proposed by the author of the reviewed monograph, Yu.Korgunyuk considers opportunities of its usage within the realities of the modern Russia. He argues that despite the substantial differences between the situation in Russia and the one that took place in Mexico under the ruling of the Institutional Revolutionary Party, Russia could still draw some lessons from the Mexican experience. In the first place it regards behavior of the opposition that is today fragmented and pushed into reservations. The history of the Mexican party system demonstrates that the opposition can get rid of the stigma of being a built-in loser only if it refuses from the “niche” policy and moves towards mass electorate. However, approaching mass voters is impossible without different groups of opposition getting closer at the same time. The oppositionists, of course if they want to win sometimes in the future, should stop playing up to the government and switch to the elaboration of compromising approaches.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-167-179


Leonid Bliakher

REVOLUTION MANTRA, OR ABRUPT MODULATIONS OF REVOLUTIONARY METAPHORICS (Kapustin B.G. On Subject and Applications of Notion Revolution// Criticism of Political Philosophy. Selected Essays. Moscow: Territory of Future, 2010)

Keywords: concept, political discourse, metaphor, revolution, absolute event, everyday life

The article is written as a response to the polemic essay by B.Kapustin directed against the interpretation of revolution proposed by the authors of the collected book Concept “Revolution” in Modern Political Discourse (St. Petersburg, 2008). Focusing on the differences in their views with Kapustin, L.Blyakher supposes that the reason for such fierce criticism that resulted in the essay, which size is comparable to the book’ one, lies within the domain of politics rather than political science or political philosophy. The revolution as interpreted by Kapustin resembles atomic energy being daunted by science, but still able to cause “Chernobyl accidents”. While the main extra scientific intention of the collected book Concept “Revolution” in Modern Political Discourse was a feeling that the increasing application of the notion in very different spheres is a terrifying symptom that indicates the end of Modernity, Kapustin adjures the “revolutionary atom” not to blow up, but to continue Modernity.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-180-188


Yuri Krasin

INFRASTRUCTURE OF DEMOCRACY (Volodin A.G. Political Economy of Democracy. Moscow: Humanitarian, 2008)

Keywords: civil society, democracy, public sphere, diversity of social reality

Yu.Krasin argues that one of the main advantages of the reviewed monograph is its consistent and compelling argumentation of the idea of civil society and therefore democracy being of polyvariant nature and their dependence on the historical experience of the Western and Eastern countries. Although expressing some extent of disagreement with the author of the book, Krasin evaluates the latter as a fundamental work on the problems of civil society that elucidates difficulties of the development of democracy in the modern world. According to him, everyone who is interested in the acute issues of democracy and civil society should take a look at it.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-57-2-189-193

Содержание выпуска № 2, 2010

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 2, 2010

Российская полития

В.Я.Гельман

«Подрывные» институты и неформальное управление в современной России

Ключевые слова: политические институты, институциональные ловушки, Россия, государственное строительство

В статье предпринята попытка рассмотреть «неформальную институционализацию» в России в теоретической и сравнительной перспективе и критически проанализировать некоторые объяснения доминирования в стране «подрывных» институтов – норм и правил, внешне отчасти напоминающих современные институты демократии, но на деле препятствующих их становлению. Наглядно продемонстрировав комплексный характер причин данной патологии как одного из проявлений «институциональных ловушек», В.Гельман приходит к заключению, что ни длительная терапия в виде социокультурной эволюции, ни радикальное хирургическое вмешательство в форме смены политического режима сами по себе не только не гарантируют преодоления ее эффектов, но даже способны их усугубить.


А.Ю.Зудин

Политический режим России после 2008 г.: векторы управляемой трансформации (Развернутые тезисы доклада на заседании научно-практического семинара «Полития» 25 марта 2010 г.)

Ключевые слова: сценарный анализ, политический режим, доминирование, моноцентризм, деконцентрация, «сообщество элит», «картельные» партии

Развернутые тезисы доклада на заседании научно-практического семинара «Полития» 25 марта 2010 г.

В докладе, представленном на заседании научно-практического семинара «Полития» 25 марта 2010 г., анализируются институциональные и политические перемены, которые развертываются в России на протяжении последних нескольких лет. По оценке А.Зудина, главное содержание этих перемен состоит в переходе от консолидации к управляемой дифференциации политического режима. Зафиксировав изменение сценария политического развития страны, Зудин высказывает предположение, что в ближайшей перспективе осуществление этого сценария будет зависеть от решения трех основных проблем, связанных с местом социально активного меньшинства, новой моделью партийной системы и судьбой тандема В.Путина и Д.Медведева. Согласно его заключению, если серьезных сбоев в плановом политическом строительстве не произойдет, то заложенная в Конституции 1993 г. смешанная модель правления может со временем стать реальностью.


А.Ю.Мельвиль, И.Н.Тимофеев

2020: российские альтернативы revisited

Ключевые слова: Россия, будущее, прогнозирование, сценарии, фокус-группы, точки бифуркации, развитие, нелинейная динамика

В статье обобщаются результаты нового этапа реализации исследовательского проекта, предполагающего построение альтернативных сценариев будущего России и тестирование их с помощью метода фокус-групп. Рассматривались четыре сценария: «Кремлевский гамбит», «Новая мечта», «Крепость Россия» и «Российская мозаика». Фокус-группы, проведенные в конце 2009 г. в Москве, Екатеринбурге, Воронеже, Калининграде, Новгороде и Иркутске, в очередной раз подтвердив, что данные сценарии «читаются» респондентами как совершенно реальные, а не выдуманные или произвольно сконструированные траектории будущего развития России, вместе с тем позволили вскрыть целый ряд дополнительных важных обстоятельств. В частности, обнаружилось, что региональные отличия и электоральные предпочтения практически не влияют на восприятие альтернативных вариантов будущего. Исследование продемонстрировало нарастающую неудовлетворенность россиян текущей динамикой и четко выраженный запрос на перемены, в котором патриотизм и страх перед распадом страны сочетаются с однозначным выбором в пользу демократии.


С.А.Тулаева

Донское казачество в ХVI–ХVII вв. как автономная охранная организация

Ключевые слова: донское казачество, охранный контракт, силовой ресурс

На основе анализа донского казачьего сообщества с точки зрения политэкономии насилия С.Тулаева показывает, что трактовка казачества как антагонистического государственному начала не отражает сути данного феномена и его появление, развитие и трансформация, будучи тесно связаны с формированием централизованного государства, являются закономерной составляющей этого процесса. Рассматривая молодое российское государство и казачью автономию как особого рода «охранные предприятия», обладавшие силовым ресурсом, она интерпретирует отношения между ними как «охранный контракт», предполагавший привлечение государством силовых ресурсов казачества для более эффективного выполнения своих функций, и подробно описывает условия заключения этого контракта, его особенности и причины последующей трансформации.

Российские регионы

Ю.С.Медведев

Профессиональный статус как фактор успеха на региональных выборах

Ключевые слова: выборы в региональные законодательные собрания, одномандатные округа, профессиональный статус, факторы электорального успеха

На материале выборов в региональные законодательные собрания, проходивших по одномандатной части смешанной избирательной системы, Ю.Медведев анализирует зависимость электорального успеха кандидата от его профессионально-должностного статуса. В статье выявляются профессионально-должностные категории, принадлежность к которым обеспечивает кандидату электоральное преимущество, анализируются ресурсы, за счет которых оно достигается, и статистическими методами оценивается его величина. Автор приходит к выводу, что социально-профессиональная структура кандидатов на выборах в российские региональные ассамблеи сформировалась и едва ли претерпит серьезные изменения в ближайшем будущем.


Г.В.Калугина

Местная власть и трансформация дискурса «национальной политики» в постсоветскую эпоху (Случай Иркутска)

Ключевые слова: дискурс, национальная риторика, этнические сообщества, НКО, миграционная политика

Статья посвящена анализу изменений дискурса «национальной политики» в российских регионах. Исследовательская гипотеза автора состоит в том, что политические страхи на федеральном уровне, порожденные гипотетической возможностью распада страны под действием «национального фактора», трансформировались на региональном уровне в систему властных решений и институциональных новаций, связанных с местными конфликтами. Принятие транслируемого из центра дискурса оказывалось условием, при котором местная проблема могла быть услышана и воспринята. В то же время этот дискурс выступал основой для концептуализации реальности, существенным образом отличавшейся от той, что вызвала политический страх. Как следствие, на уровне регионального дискурса возникала специфическая двухслойная структура, которая была одновременно и проблемой (поскольку требовалось выделить ту часть реальности, которая могла быть концептуализирована в рамках «национального вопроса»), и ресурсом (поскольку процесс концептуализации избранной части реальности неизбежно приводит к ее переформатированию, что меняет «воронку возможностей»).

СНГ – Terra Incognita: политические процессы в бывших республиках СССР

А.В.Гилев

Политические трансформации на постсоветском пространстве: имеют ли значение «цветные революции»?

Ключевые слова: режимные трансформации, «цветные революции», посткоммунизм, политические элиты

Статья посвящена сравнительному анализу режимных трансформаций в Грузии, Украине и Кыргызстане под влиянием «цветных революций», которые трактуются как частные случаи смены правящей элиты, имевшие специфические характеристики в каждой из трех стран. Проанализировав влияние этих характеристик на траектории дальнейших трансформаций, А.Гилёв приходит к заключению, что различия в воздействии «цветных революций» на политические режимы обусловлены спецификой формата «коалиции победителей» и исхода конфликта между правящей элитой и замещающей оппозицией. Монолитность коалиции негативного консенсуса и абсолютный характер ее победы способствуют сохранению моноцентрического режима, тогда как фрагментация элит и равенство сил создают условия для большей полицентричности.

Научное наследие

Г.А.Алмонд, С.Верба

Гражданская культура (Подход к изучению политической культуры) (I)

Ключевые слова: политическая культура (парохиальная, подданическая, участническая), гражданская культура, демократия, политические ориентации

В последние полтора десятилетия в политической науке стало заметно очередное «маятниковое движение» в области метода. После долгого увлечения неоинституционализмом снова наметился возврат (конечно, на новом уровне) к проблематике культурной детерминированности политических процессов. Учитывая эту тенденцию, редакция журнала «Полития» сочла целесообразным познакомить своих читателей с переводом двух методологических глав из классической работы Г.А.Алмонда и С.Вербы «Гражданская культура», с которой в свое время начиналась научная революция, получившая на рубеже тысячелетий второе дыхание, и которая известна в России преимущественно в более или менее (часто – менее) грамотных пересказах, во множестве представленных в учебниках по так называемой «политологии». Перевод будет публиковаться в ближайших трех номерах журнала.

Антитеза

Л.Г.Фишман

Слишком много эклектики

Ключевые слова: идеология, эклектика, монизм, плюрализм, правое политическое мышление, левое политическое мышление

Констатировав, что идеологическая эклектика превратилась в доминирующий вид политического мышления, Л.Фишман трактует ее как главный морально-политический вызов нашего времени. Политику еще можно представить наполненной моральным содержанием, когда за политическую власть состязаются приверженцы достаточно последовательных, монистических политических учений, но когда монизм уходит из политики совсем, она лишается и морального содержания. По его мнению, если нам все еще доставляет беспокойство эклектичность тех или иных политических программ и идеологий, то в нас говорит моральное чувство, которому глубоко противна мировоззренческая всеядность и которое может при определенных условиях послужить основой для развертывания новой морально-политической рациональности.

Кафедра

Г.А.Гарифуллина

«Контекст» и «ресурсы» в информационных стратегиях групп интересов в институтах ЕС

Ключевые слова: Европейский союз, группы интересов, информационные стратегии, принятие политических решений

Статья посвящена исследованию информационной стратегии групп интересов, стремящихся оказать влияние на решения политических структур. Выдвинув гипотезу об обусловленности различий в стратегиях акторов, формирующих предложение на рынке информации, контекстом и характеристиками самих акторов, Г.Гарифуллина тестирует ее посредством сравнительного анализа поведения крупнейших групп интересов в ходе подготовки и принятия двух важных европейских законов – Директивы о регистрации, оценке, разрешении и ограничении использования химических веществ (Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals) и Рамочной директивы по обращению с отходами (Waste Framework Directive).

Размышляя над прочитанным

Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Как проигрывают доминирующие партии, или Чему учит мексиканский опыт Greene K.F. Why Dominant Parties Lose: Mexico's Democratization in Comparative Perspective. – Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007

Ключевые слова: доминирующая партия, авторитарный доминантный режим, «ресурсная» концепция

Тщательно проанализировав сформулированную автором рецензируемой монографии концепцию партийного доминирования, Ю.Коргунюк рассматривает возможности ее использования применительно к реалиям современной России. По его заключению, несмотря на существенные отличия российской ситуации от имевшей место в Мексике в период правления Институционально-революционной партии, некоторые уроки из мексиканского опыта Россия могла бы извлечь. Прежде всего это касается поведения оппозиции, которая в настоящий момент раздроблена и загнана в резервации. История мексиканской партийной системы показывает, что, лишь отказавшись от «нишевой» политики и двигаясь по направлению к массовому избирателю, оппозиция может избавиться от клейма вечного проигравшего. Но движение к массовому избирателю невозможно без одновременного сближения различных отрядов оппозиции. Оппозиционерам, если они, конечно, хотят когда-нибудь победить, пора перестать подыгрывать власти и перейти к выработке компромиссных подходов.


Л.Е.Бляхер

Заклинание революции, или Внезапные модуляции революционной метафорики Капустин Б.Г. О предмете и употреблениях понятия «революция» // Критика политической философии. Избранные эссе. – М.: Территория будущего, 2010

Ключевые слова: концепт, политический дискурс, метафора, революция, абсолютное событие, повседневность

Статья представляет собой ответ на полемическое эссе Б.Капустина, направленное против трактовки революции, предложенной авторами сборника «Концепт “революция” в современном политическом дискурсе» (СПб., 2008). Сосредоточив внимание на моментах расхождения с Капустиным, Л.Бляхер высказывает предположение, что причины его яростного полемического запала, вылившегося в эссе, по размерам сопоставимое с самим сборником, лежат скорее в области политики, нежели политологии или политической философии. Революция в интерпретации Капустина напоминает атомную энергию, укрощенную наукой, но по-прежнему способную порождать «Чернобыли». И если главной экстранаучной интенцией сборника «Концепт “революция”…» было ощущение, что возрастание частоты употребления понятия в самых разных сферах есть грозный симптом, указывающий на завершение Современности, то Капустин заклинает «революционный атом» «не взрываться», продолжать Современность.


Ю.А.Красин

Инфраструктура демократии (Володин А.Г. Политическая экономия демократии. – М., Гуманитарий, 2008)

Ключевые слова: гражданское общество, демократия, публичная сфера, многообразие социальной действительности

Одним из главных достоинств рецензируемой монографии Ю.Красин считает то, что в ней последовательно проводится и обстоятельно аргументируется идея поливариантности гражданского общества и, соответственно, демократии, их зависимости от исторического опыта стран Запада и Востока. Не во всем соглашаясь с автором книги, он оценивает ее как фундаментальную работу о проблемах гражданского общества, проливающих свет на трудности становления и развития демократии в современном мире, с которой стоит познакомиться каждому, кто всерьез интересуется современными проблемами демократии и гражданского общества.