Abstracts 2, 2011

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 2, 2011

Academia

Alexander Galkin, Yury Pivovarov, Boris Makarenko, Yury Senokosov, Tatiana Alekseeva, Svyatoslav Kaspe, Yuri Ryabykh

SALMIN: IN MEMORIAM Materials from Politeia special seminar meeting devoted to A.M.Salmins 60th Anniversary

Keywords: Salmin, political science, socio-humanitarian knowledge, scientific interests

February, 18th, 2011 the founder of our journal Aleksei Mikhailovich Salmin would have turned 60. The seminar Politeia named after him held a special meeting Salmin: In Memoriam arranged to coincide with his Anniversary (supported by the Institute of Scientific Information for Social Sciences, Russian Academy of Science, the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and the Public Political Studies Center). It was conducted in the traditional within the world science genre of homage: participants of the seminar delivered their reports that were related in this way or the other to Salmin’s scientific interests, elaborated on his ideas and hypotheses bringing them back into the active scientific vocabulary. In this issue we are publishing reports by Alexander Galkin, Yury Pivovarov, Boris Makarenko, Yury Senokosov, Tatyana Alekseeva, Svyatoslav Kaspe, and hegumen Philipp (Ryabykh).

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-5-37

Paradigms of social development

Ella Paneyakh

TRANSACTION EFFECTS OF DENSE REGULATION AT JUNCTURE OF ORGANIZATIONS By example of Russian law-enforcement system

Keywords: institutions, institutional theory, bureaucracy, transaction costs, criminal procedure; accusative inclination

The article analyzes paradoxes of regulation system that emerge at the juncture of bureaucratic structures. E.Paneyakh shows by the example of the Russian criminal procedure that once regulation density passes a certain threshold coordinating properties of institutions that regulate relations inside departments are at odds with their transaction properties. The more influence department rules exert over the system of an agent’s incentives (limiting the scope of his/her opportunities), the more transaction problems between agents from different departments functioning within the distinct institutional context they create. This problem results in the emergence of informal institutions that reconcile interests of these agents, while the density of interdepartmental regulations leads to the fact that the object of their activity becomes the most easily accessible source of resources that are necessary to satisfy sides.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-38-59

Russian polity

Irina Glebova

PALACE: HOW RUSSIAN STATE REORGANIZED (I)

Keywords: a “Palace state”, post-soviet transition, clan and group solidarity, the people

The article is devoted to proving a hypothesis that the specificity of the modern Russian state is best reflected in the metaphor of palace employed by V.O.Klyuchevsky for characterizing the Russian state that was formed after Peter I’s death. According to I.Glebova, a “Palace” represents a rather independent form of government that emerged as a response to new conditions and old state traditions rather than deviation from the “right” state (the soviet “nationwide” or western rule of law) or its perversion/ “worsening” that can be improved if someone is willing to do so. The first part of the article published in this issue describes key parameters of the post-soviet state that makes it resemble a “Palace” and analyzes reasons that lead to the restoration of a similar type of state in Russia.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-60-84


Yury Korgunyuk

ELECTORAL CLEAVAGES AND VOTING MOTIVES

Keywords: elections, electorate, motives, party, candidate, factor analysis, cleavage

The author demonstrates on the basis of the electoral cleavages during the 1995, 1999, 2003 and 2007 Russian Federation State Duma elections that deideologization of the Russian electoral process was a reason rather than an implication of the administrative expansion. His analysis indicates that as the ideological fervor in the society is fading, a voter’s role as a subject of choice is decreasing, whereas his/her role as an object of manipulation, from the side of the power holders, is increasing. Vast openings emerged in the electoral space where bureaucracy directed its expansion. Yu.Korgunyuk concludes that the modern pseudopartisanship of the Russian politics is largely a cost for the shortage of subjectness possessed by broad masses of population as well as by political elite.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-85-117

Laboratory

Konstantin Titov

Contrat Social á la STALIN Nomenclature and Supreme Authority: Reconstruction of contract 19241927

Keywords: political contract, nomenclature, supreme authority

The article is devoted to the proof of a thesis that during the intraparty struggle in 1923–1927 between nomenclature and the supreme authority a political contract was concluded. On the basis of the analysis of I.V.Stalin’s report at the Russian Communist Party (Bolsheviks) 13th Conference, K.Titov shows that the text formally presented as criticism against L.D.Trotsky’s position contained in fact a range of responsibilities (regarding nomenclature) that a pretender for the supreme authority assumed in the exchange for the political support from the nomenclature. According to the author, in 1930-s this contract was unilaterally torn by the supreme authority that refused to act on the overwhelming majority of its promises, but it was restored in 1956 and 1964 as a result of the “nomenclature’s revanche”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-118-127


Anna Sokolova

EVALUATION OF FACTIONAL DISCIPLINE IN RUSSIAN FEDERATION STATE DUMA: APPROACHES TOWARDS MEASURING

Keywords: split threshold, factional discipline index, State Duma, faction, deputies’ group

The article offers two approaches towards measuring factional discipline in the collective decision-making organs, one of which allows to evaluate the overall level of factional discipline within a deputies’ group or faction and the other allows to trace its dynamics. The article consists of three parts. The first one describes an approach towards measuring factional discipline based on calculating split thresholds within deputies’ groups and factions; the second one introduces an index of faction discipline; the third one presents results of applying these approaches to the analysis of factional discipline in the first, second and third Russian State Dumas.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-128-141


Gubernatorial readings

CULTURE MODERNIZATION AS A PREREQUISITE FOR STATE MODERNIZATION Third Gubernatorial Readings. Tumen, April 19, 2011

Keywords: modernization, culture, values, competitive environment, Tumen region

The material published here is a report on the Third Gubernatorial Readings held in Tumen, April 19, 2011, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tumen region with the topic of readings being culture modernization as a prerequisite for state modernization and a lecturer being D.B.Dondurey, a chief editor of the journal Art of Cinema, a member of Council on Civil Society Development and Human rights and a member of Council on Culture and Art under President of the Russian Federation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-142-161

Cathedra

Vladimir Volsky, Aleksandr Karpov

APPLICATION OF DIFFERENT versions of Single Transferable Vote System

Keywords: single transferable vote, system of proportional representation

The article analyzes actual practices of application of the single transferable vote electoral systems. The authors thoroughly describe various types of procedure: Gregory method used in Australian Capital Territory, Tasmania and Northern Ireland; inclusive Gregory method employed at the elections to the Australian Senate as well as in such states as Southern and Western Australia; weighted inclusive Gregory method introduced in Scotland; Meek’s method applied in New Zealand. The authors analyze advantages and disadvantages of each method and demonstrate how the improvement in theoretical models leads to the alteration of electoral systems functioning in practice.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-162-174


Yuly Nisnevich

TRANSFORMATIONS OF STATE INSTITUTION UNDER POSTINDUSTRIAL TRANSITION

Keywords: state, transformation, postindustrial transition, 20th century phenomena

In this article the author analyzes transformations that an institution of state is undergoing during the postindustrial transition and their reasons. Yu.Nisnevich presents five phenomena of the 20th century that according to him predetermined the postindustrial transition itself as well as its implications for a state change. The end of history (F.Fukuyama) turned democracy into the main form of organizing political and state order and led to the maintenance of human rights and freedoms as a fundamental value. Revolt of the masses (J.Ortega y Gasset) pushed a start button for the root transformation of the social basis of state. The third wave (A.Toffler) stipulated revolutionary changes in the technological, informational, social and political spheres. An increase in the migration mobility created conditions for mutual penetration of cultures and civilizations and human participation in life of the whole planet. Globalization has given an impetus to the gradual decay of the “solid” nation-state.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-175-185


Eugenia Bayandina

CONCEPTUALIZATION OF STATE BUDGETARY PROCESS AND RUSSIAN EXPERIENCE

Keywords: budgetary process, incrementalism, Aaron Wildavski, regional research

In Russia the issues of budgetary process have been traditionally developed in the framework of economic theory and judicial studies. However, there is a range of questions, the answers to which will require employing political science instruments. Comparing the Russian and US practices, E.Bayadina designs several directions of budgetary process analysis from the political science viewpoint. In the first two parts of the article the author reviews theory and practice of the US budgetary process, in the third one she evaluates budgetary process in the Russian Federation as a whole, in the fourth part she analyzes the experience of the Perm Krai (district) using a budgetary process model that is unique within the Russian Federation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2011-61-2-186-199

Содержание выпуска № 2, 2011

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 2, 2011

Academia

А.А.Галкин, Ю.С.Пивоваров, Б.И.Макаренко, Ю.П.Сенокосов, Т.А.Алексеева, С.И.Каспэ, Ю.А.Рябых

Салмин: in memoriam (Материалы специального заседания семинара «Полития», посвященного 60-летию со дня рождения А.М.Салмина)

Ключевые слова: Салмин, политическая наука, социально-гуманитарное знание, научные интересы

18 февраля 2011 г. основателю нашего журнала Алексею Михайловичу Салмину исполнилось бы 60 лет. Носящий его имя семинар «Полития» провел (при поддержке ИНИОН РАН, Фонда Розы Люксембург и Центра общественно-политических исследований) приуроченное к этой дате специальное заседание: «Салмин: in memoriam». Оно прошло в традиционном для мировой науки жанре оммажа: участники семинара представили доклады, так или иначе соотносящиеся с научными интересами Салмина, развивающие его идеи и гипотезы, возвращающие их в активный научный оборот. В этом номере мы публикуем доклады Александра Галкина, Юрия Пивоварова, Бориса Макаренко, Юрия Сенокосова, Татьяны Алексеевой, Святослава Каспэ и игумена Филиппа (Рябых).

Парадигмы общественного развития

Э.Л.Панеях

Трансакционные эффекты плотного регулирования на стыках организаций (На примере российской правоохранительной системы)

Ключевые слова: институт, институциональная теория, бюрократия, трансакционные издержки, уголовный процесс, обвинительный уклон

В статье рассматриваются парадоксы системы регулирования, возникающие на «стыках» бюрократических структур. На примере российского уголовного судопроизводства Э.Панеях показывает, что при превышении некоего порога плотности регулирования координирующие свойства институтов, регулирующих отношения внутри ведомств, вступают в противоречие с их трансакционными свойствами. Чем сильнее ведомственные правила влияют на систему стимулов агента, ограничивая пространство его возможностей, тем в большей степени они проблематизируют трансакции между агентами из разных ведомств, существующими в разной институциональной среде. Как ответ на эту проблематичность возникают неформальные институты, согласовывающие интересы этих агентов, причем плотность внутриведомственных регуляций приводит к тому, что самым доступным источником ресурсов, необходимых для удовлетворения сторон, становится объект их деятельности.

Российская полития

И.И.Глебова

«Дворец»: как «реорганизовалось» государство в России (I)

Ключевые слова: «дворцовое государство», постсоветский транзит, сословно-статусное сообщество, кланово-групповая солидарность, народонаселение

Статья посвящена обоснованию гипотезы, согласно которой специфику современного российского государства лучше всего «схватывает» метафора дворца, использованная В.О.Ключевским для характеристики государства, сложившегося в России после смерти Петра I. По оценке И.Глебовой, «Дворец» представляет собой не отклонение от «правильного» государства (советского «общенародного» или западного правового) и не его извращение/«ухудшение», которое при желании можно исправить, а вполне самостоятельную форму правления, вызванную к жизни новыми условиями и старыми государственными традициями. В первой части статьи, публикуемой в этом номере, описываются ключевые параметры постсоветского государства, сближающие его с «Дворцом», и анализируются причины, приведшие к возрождению в России государства подобного типа.


Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Электоральные размежевания и мотивы голосования

Ключевые слова: выборы, электорат, мотивы, партия, кандидат, факторный анализ, размежевание

На основе изучения электоральных размежеваний на выборах в Государственную Думу РФ 1995, 1999, 2003 и 2007 гг. автор показывает, что деидеологизация электорального процесса в России была скорее причиной, нежели следствием административной экспансии. Проведенный им анализ свидетельствует о том, что по мере угасания в обществе идеологического запала избиратель все в меньшей степени выступал в роли субъекта выбора и все в большей – в роли объекта воздействия, прежде всего со стороны власти. В электоральном пространстве образовывались обширные пустоты, в которые и устремила свою экспансию бюрократия. По заключению Ю.Коргунюка, сегодняшняя псевдопартийность российской политики – во многом расплата за недостаток субъектности как у широких масс населения, так и у политической элиты.

Лаборатория

К.В.Титов

«Contrat social» по-сталински (Номенклатура и верховная власть: реконструкция контракта 1924–1927 гг.)

Ключевые слова: политический контракт, номенклатура, верховная власть

Статья посвящена обоснованию тезиса о том, что в ходе внутрипартийной борьбы 1923–1927 гг. между номенклатурой и верховной властью был заключен политический контракт. На основе анализа доклада И.В.Сталина на XIII конференции РКП(б) К.Титов показывает, что текст, формально представляющий собой критику позиции Л.Д.Троцкого, на самом деле содержит перечень обязательств по отношению к номенклатуре, которые брал на себя претендент на верховную власть в обмен на политическую поддержку с ее стороны. По оценке автора, в 1930-е годы данный контракт был в одностороннем порядке разорван верховной властью, отказавшейся от подавляющей части своих обещаний, однако затем восстановлен в результате «номенклатурного реванша» 1956 и 1964 гг.


А.В.Соколова

Оценка фракционной дисциплины в Государственной Думе РФ: подходы к измерению

Ключевые слова: порог раскола, индекс фракционной дисциплины, Государственная Дума, фракция, депутатская группа

В статье предлагаются два подхода к измерению фракционной дисциплины в органах коллективного принятия решений, один из которых позволяет оценить общий уровень фракционной дисциплины в депутатской группе или фракции, а второй – проследить его динамику. Статья состоит из трех разделов. В первом разделе описывается подход к измерению фракционной дисциплины, основанный на вычислении порогов раскола депутатских групп и фракций; во втором вводится индекс фракционной дисциплины; в третьем представлены результаты использования данных подходов при анализе фракционной дисциплины в Государственной Думе РФ первого, второго и третьего созывов.


Губернаторские чтения

Модернизация культуры – условие модернизации страны (Третьи Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 19 апреля 2011 г.)

Ключевые слова: модернизация, культура, ценности, конкурентная среда, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Третьих Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 19 апреля 2011 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема чтений – модернизация культуры как условие модернизации страны, лектор – главный редактор журнала «Искусство кино», член Совета по развитию гражданского общества и правам человека и Совета по культуре и искусству при президенте РФ Д.Б.Дондурей.

Кафедра

В.И.Вольский, А.В.Карпов

Применение различных вариантов правила передачи голосов

Ключевые слова: правило передачи голосов, система пропорционального представительства

Статья посвящена исследованию реальных практик применения электоральных систем, основанных на правиле передачи голосов. Авторы подробно описывают различные варианты процедуры: метод Грегори, используемый в Австралийской столичной территории, Тасмании и Северной Ирландии, включающий метод Грегори, применяемый на выборах в австралийский сенат, а также в штатах Южная и Западная Австралия, взвешенный включающий метод Грегори, внедренный в Шотландии, метод Мика, взятый на вооружение в Новой Зеландии. В работе проанализированы достоинства и недостатки каждого метода и показано, как совершенствование теоретических моделей приводит к изменению реально функционирующих избирательных систем.


Ю.А.Нисневич

Трансформации института государства в условиях постиндустриального транзита

Ключевые слова: государство, трансформация, постиндустриальный транзит, феномены ХХ в.

В статье исследуются трансформации, которые претерпевает институт государства в ходе постиндустриального транзита, и анализируются их причины. Автор выделяет пять феноменов ХХ в., предопределивших, по его мнению, как сам постиндустриальный транзит, так и вызванные им изменения государства. «Конец истории» (Ф.Фукуяма) превратил демократию в основную форму организации политического и государственного порядка и привел к утверждению прав и свобод человека в качестве фундаментальной ценности. «Восстание масс» (Х.Ортега-и-Гассет) положило начало коренной трансформации социальной основы государства. «Третья волна» (Э.Тоффлер) обусловила революционные изменения в техно-, инфо-, социо- и властной сферах. Повышение миграционной мобильности создало условия для взаимопроникновения культур и цивилизаций и участия человека в жизни всей планеты. Глобализация дала толчок постепенному отмиранию «твердого» национального государства.


Е.Д.Баяндина

Политическая концептуализация государственного бюджетного процесса и российский опыт

Ключевые слова: бюджетный процесс, инкрементализм, Аарон Вильдавски, региональные исследования

В России тематика бюджетного процесса традиционно разрабатывается в рамках экономической теории или юриспруденции. Однако существует ряд вопросов, поиск ответов на которые требует привлечения инструментария политической науки. Путем сравнения российской и американской практики Е.Баяндина намечает некоторые направления политологического анализа процесса бюджетирования. Статья состоит из четырех разделов. В первых двух разделах рассмотрены теория и практика бюджетного процесса в США, в третьем дана оценка бюджетного процесса в Российской Федерации в целом, в четвертом проанализирован опыт Пермского края, где используется уникальная для РФ модель бюджетирования.