Abstracts 2, 2015

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 2, 2015

Download 2 (77).

Russian Polity

Leonid Polyakov

Electoral Authoritarianism and Russian Case

Keywords: democracy, authoritarianism, electoral authoritarianism, crucial case, Russia

The article is devoted to the analysis of the hypothesis proposed by V.Gel'man, according to which the post-Soviet Russia should be viewed as an “crucial case” of electoral authoritarianism that sheds light on the origins of the strength and weakness of this model in a comparative perspective. Having thoroughly analyzed Gel'man’s arguments in the context of the Russian political history of the last two and a half decades, L.Polyakov failed to find convincing evidence of either this hypothesis or even justification of classifying the country's political regime into the category of “electoral authoritarianism” per se. The research conducted by the author rather demonstrates the uniqueness of the Russian “authoritarianism” and that the conventional methods of description within the modern Western comparative politics fail to capture its specificity.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-6-20

Russian Regions

Yury Gaivoronsky

Regional Political Regimes in Russia: Conceptual Innovations and Measurement Possibilities

Keywords: regional political regimes, authoritarianism, patrimonialism, dependence, conceptualization, measurement

The article attempts to construct an operational model of regional political regimes based on the synthesis of a number of new approaches in comparative politics and political regionalism. On the basis of the multidimensional models of subnational regimes elaborated by R.Turovsky and S.Mazzuca, Yu.Gaivoronsky suggests that the transformation of regional polities should be measured along three vectors: “dependence”, “authoritarianism”, and “patrimonialism”. The multidimensionality of the model allows us to analyze regional regimes in greater detail. Moreover, in contrast to most of the existing indexes, the model makes use of verifiable data rather than expert evaluations. The empirical testing of the model on the data from the Russian regions reveals its validity and the possibility of its application for political studies.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-21-37


Mikhail Turchenko

Factors of Party Systems Fragmentation in Russian Regions (20032013)

Keywords: party fragmentation, regional elections, effective number of parties, political machines

The Western scholarship devoted to unraveling causes of party fragmentation mainly focuses on institutional and sociological factors. The parameters of electoral systems, the existing social cleavages or their combined effect are expected to influence the number of parties. These explanations, however, do not suffice to comprehend causes of party fragmentation in the Russian regions. The research study prepared by M.Turchenko shows that the effective number of electoral parties in the regional elections of 2003–2013 is largely determined by the factors related to the activity of the federal center and senior officials at the subnational level. The author concludes that in spite of the presence of the favorable conditions for the development of regional party systems in the first half of the 2000s, the executive branch that prevented the emergence of parties that were capable of competing with the “United Russia” played a decisive role in the formation of the regional party systems.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-38-53

Political Theories

Svyatoslav Kaspe

More on the Notion of Political Form: Form and Subject Reply to Mikhail Ilyin

Keywords: political form, metaphor, center, political subject, political actor

The article by S.Kaspe represents another round of his polemic with M.Ilyin about the notion of political form unfolded on the pages of the journal Politeia. Responding to the criticism and suggestions made by Ilyin, the author a) protests against the broad interpretation of this concept insisting that it should be limited by spatial, primarily center-periphery, connotations; b) indicates the prospective and pragmatic orientation of his research, in contrast to more retrospective and theoretical studies by the opponent; c) considers that clarifying the relationship between the concepts of political form and political subjectivity is the most promising venue for further research in this field of knowledge. Who determines where the center is and draws borders? Who determines contours of the political form? And who is able to destroy them?

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-54-65


Kirill Telin

Denomination of Class

Keywords:  class, political process, capitalism, Marxism, society, pressure groups

The article examines possibilities of using the concept of class in the contemporary political studies as well as theoretical and methodological difficulties potentially associated with its usage. According to the conclusion by K.Telin, under the modern conditions the notion of class is used not only with scientific, but also with manipulative purposes, with a blind eye towards the recent debates in the research community and benchmark political trends. In this situation heightened attention to the problematique of “class” results in degradation of public discourse and denomination of the very concept of class.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-66-79

Antithesis

Yuri Rudnev

Niccolo Machiavelli and Secret Renaissance Knowledge In What Way Prince Is to Be Lion and Fox Alike?

Keywords: Niccolo Machiavelli, “The Prince”, the Renaissance episteme, “techniques of the self”

Niccolo Machiavelli is considered to be one of the first thinkers who laid foundations of the “realist” approach inherent in the political theory of Modernity. The study conducted by Rudnev that is based on the achievements of the modern intellectual history presents and justifies an alternative to this view. Analyzing some of the concepts of the language of “The Prince” that allude to the traditions of humoral medicine, astrology, sympathetic magic and alchemy, the author argues that in concern to “fox” and “lion” Machiavelli presumes not the imitation of their qualities, but rather elaborate “secret” doctrine or even “techniques of the self” in Michel Foucault’s interpretation. According to Rudnev’s conclusion, “lion” and “fox” are images that a potential reader of the tractate should have grasped exactly through the interplay of contexts (more open and “secret”) that he belonged to as a man of the Renaissance epoch.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-80-97

Political Cultures

Gleb Musikhin

The Splendors and Miseries of Political Rituals

Keywords: ritual, political ritual, religious ritual, symbolization, myth, political action

The article attempts to analyze political rituals in the light of distinguishing between conventional-indicative and unconventional-symbolic meaning of politics. The author documents ontological difference and communicative similarity between religious and political rituals, shows that the mechanism of everyday ritualization contributes to the increasing importance of less substantive components of political action, reveals the role of rituals in transition moments of political life and considers specific features of such political rituals as sacrifice, holidays and anniversary celebrations. His research shows that, although the direct inspiring impact of rituals is nothing more than a “contract illusion” of a symbolic effect, which can be destroyed by unconventional and perlocutionary “Theking is naked!”, the importance of rituals for modern communities should not be underestimated because due to their complex nature they perform the function of stabilizing the social order.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-98-109

Political Parties

Alexander Kynev

Inner-Party Democracy and State Interference into Party Activity Russian Case

Keywords: political party, inner-party democracy, primaries

On the basis of the analysis of a wide range of research questions related to the internal structure of the Russian parties and their electoral activity, A.Kynev comes to the conclusion that, of the accepted in modern democracies mechanisms aimed at the development of inner-party democracy, Russia, in fact, makes use only of a variation in primaries. According to his conclusion, the country finds itself in a paradoxical situation: parties formally exist, but even in case of successful elections, under the conditions of the complete domination of the executive branch their impact on the decision-making process is extremely weak. This also results in the initial inability of parties to fulfill their pre-election programs, voters’ frustration with all parties, and little interest in the inner life of parties from both ordinary citizens and elites. In general, by their internal structure Russian parties resemble other Russian political institutions that are characterized by exaggerated authority of the executive bodies and weakness of control mechanisms as such.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-110-127


Yury Kabanov

Pirate Parties: Development Trends Worldwide

Keywords: copyright, digital piracy, political parties, political process

The article analyzes several development trends of pirate parties in cross-national perspective. The author studies dynamics of pirates’ political program and conducts a correlation analysis of factors that determine the degree of institutionalization of their organizations. According to Yu.Kabanov’s conclusion, in most cases pirate parties lack sufficient resources and often a desire to actively participate in the established party system. Neither popularity of their ideas nor their electoral results enjoy stability. However, one can already spot some potential growing points of pirate parties, especially in Europe. According to the author’s forecast, transformations of the pirate movement will continue to take place and will become decisive for its future development. The latter will largely hinge upon the final choice of pirate parties: whether to retain their radical, anti-elite positions or move toward the median voter and common policy.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-128-142

Manuscripts Dont Burn

Nikolai Rozov

Research Methodology and Ontology of Historical Dynamics of Crises and Transformations

Keywords: methodology of social cognition, model, scope, field of interaction, conceptual synthesis

The article develops methodological and ontological ideas aimed at integrating the until now separated approaches of social cognition. The author focuses on identifying causes of crises and major historical transformations in different social and temporal scopes and within different fields of interaction. By means of several system models (the universal model of historical dynamics, A.Stinchcombe’s functional model etc.) and synthesis of the basic concepts of human behavior (theory of rituals byE.Durkheim, E.Goffmann, and R.Collins; conception of attitudes and habitus; the operant conditioning model by B.F.Skinner), N.Rozov shows ways of combining statistical macro-indicators (structure) and dynamics of interaction between actors (agency). In this context, the author considers the possibilities of including the factor of randomness into the strict logic of scientific explanation in C.Hempel’s interpretation; conceptualizes connection between headline-making “trigger” events, turning points and the preceding and subsequent quantitative and structural changes.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-143-168


Gubernatorial Readings

Economy of State, Economy of Region and Economy of Enterprise: Problems of Systemic Stability (Twentieth Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, February 11th, 2015)

Keywords: economy, crisis, competition, cooperation, Tyumen region

The material published here is a report on the Twentieth Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, February 11th, 2015, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the Readings being stability of economy at macro-, meso- and micro-level and a lecturer being Professor G.B.Kleiner, Corresponding Member of Russian Academy of Sciences, Deputy Director at the Russian Academy of Sciences Central Economics and Mathematics Institute.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-77-2-169-188

Содержание выпуска № 2, 2015

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 2, 2015

Скачать № 2 (77) целиком.

Российская полития

Л.В.Поляков

Электоральный авторитаризм и российский случай

Ключевые слова: демократия, авторитаризм, электоральный авторитаризм, критический случай, Россия

Статья посвящена тестированию гипотезы В.Гельмана, согласно которой постсоветскую Россию следует рассматривать в качестве «критического случая» электорального авторитаризма, проливающего свет на истоки силы и слабости этой модели в сравнительной перспективе. Внимательно проанализировав аргументацию Гельмана в контексте российской политической истории последних двух с половиной десятилетий, Л.Поляков не обнаружил убедительных подтверждений не только данной гипотезы, но даже принадлежности сложившегося в стране политического режима к категории «электоральный авторитаризм» per se. Проведенное им исследование свидетельствует скорее об уникальности российского «авторитаризма», специфику которого не улавливают принятые в современной западной политической компаративистике способы описания.

Российские регионы

Ю.О.Гайворонский

Региональные политические режимы в России: концептуальные новации и возможности измерения

Ключевые слова: региональные политические режимы, авторитаризм, патримониализм, зависимость, концептуализация, измерение

В статье предпринята попытка сконструировать операциональную модель региональных политических режимов на основе синтеза ряда новых подходов в сравнительной политологии и политической регионалистике. Отталкиваясь от многомерных моделей субнациональных режимов, разработанных Р.Туровским и С. Маззука, Ю.Гайворонский предлагает измерять трансформацию региональных политий по трем векторам: «зависимость», «авторитаризм» и «патримониализм». Многомерность представленной модели позволяет анализировать региональные режимы более детально; к тому же, в отличие от большинства существующих сегодня индексов, в ней используются преимущественно не экспертные оценки, а верифицируемые данные. Проведенное автором эмпирическое тестирование модели на материале российских регионов свидетельствует о ее валидности и возможности применения в политических исследованиях.


М.С.Турченко

Факторы фрагментации партийных систем российских регионов (2003–2013)

Ключевые слова: региональные политические режимы, авторитаризм, патримониализм, зависимость, концептуализация, измерение

В статье предпринята попытка сконструировать операциональную модель региональных политических режимов на основе синтеза ряда новых подходов в сравнительной политологии и политической регионалистике. Отталкиваясь от многомерных моделей субнациональных режимов, разработанных Р.Туровским и С. Маззука, Ю.Гайворонский предлагает измерять трансформацию региональных политий по трем векторам: «зависимость», «авторитаризм» и «патримониализм». Многомерность представленной модели позволяет анализировать региональные режимы более детально; к тому же, в отличие от большинства существующих сегодня индексов, в ней используются преимущественно не экспертные оценки, а верифицируемые данные. Проведенное автором эмпирическое тестирование модели на материале российских регионов свидетельствует о ее валидности и возможности применения в политических исследованиях.

Политические теории

С.И.Каспэ

Еще о понятии политической формы: форма и субъект (Ответ Михаилу Ильину)

Ключевые слова: политическая форма, метафора, центр, политический субъект, политический актор

Статья С.Каспэ – очередной тур его полемики с М.Ильиным о понятии политической формы, ведущейся на страницах журнала «Полития». Отвечая на высказанные Ильиным критические замечания и предложения, автор: а) протестует против расширительной трактовки этого концепта, настаивая на ограничении его пространственными, в первую очередь центр-периферийными коннотациями; б) указывает на проспективную и прагматическую ориентированность своих изысканий, в отличие от более ретроспективных и теоретических штудий оппонента; в) считает самым многообещающим направлением дальнейших исследований в этой области знания прояснение взаимосвязи между понятиями политической формы и политической субъектности. Кто устанавливает место центра и проводит границы? Кто определяет контуры политической формы? И кто способен их разрушить?


К.О.Телин

Деноминация класса

Ключевые слова: класс, политический процесс, капитализм, марксизм, общество, группы давления

В статье рассматриваются возможности использования понятия «класс» в современных политических исследованиях, а также потенциально связанные с этим теоретико-методологические затруднения. По заключению К.Телина, в нынешних условиях к понятию класса прибегают не только с научными, но и с манипулятивными целями, не учитывая к тому же последние дискуссии в исследовательских кругах и знаковые политические тренды. В этой ситуации повышенное внимание к проблематике класса оборачивается деградацией общественного дискурса и деноминацией самого понятия «класс».

Антитеза

Ю.В.Руднев

Никколо Макиавелли и «тайное» знание эпохи Возрождения (Как государь может «уподобиться» льву и лисе?)

Ключевые слова: Никколо Макиавелли, «Государь», ренессансная эпистема, «техника себя»

Принято считать, что Никколо Макиавелли был одним из тех мыслителей, которые заложили основы «реалистического» подхода, свойственного политической теории Модерна. В исследовании Ю.Руднева, опирающегося на достижения современной интеллектуальной истории, представлена и обоснована альтернатива такой точке зрения. Анализируя некоторые концепты языка «Государя», отсылающие к традициям гуморальной медицины, астрологии, симпатической магии и алхимии, автор приводит аргументы в пользу того, что, говоря об уподоблении лисе и льву, Макиавелли имел в виду не просто подражание их качествам, но определенную «тайную науку» или же «технику себя», как ее понимал Мишель Фуко. По его заключению, «лев» и «лиса» – это образы, которые должны были раскрываться потенциальному читателю трактата именно за счет игры контекстов (более явных и «тайных»), к которым он был причастен как человек эпохи Возрождения.

Политические культуры

Г.И.Мусихин

«Блеск и нищета» политических ритуалов

Ключевые слова: ритуал, политический ритуал, религиозный ритуал, символизация, миф, политическое действие

В статье предпринята попытка проанализировать политические ритуалы сквозь призму различения конвенционально-знакового и неконвенционально-символического смысла политики. Автор фиксирует онтологическое различие и коммуникативное сходство религиозных и политических ритуалов, показывает, что механизм повседневной ритуализации способствует повышению значимости менее содержательных компонентов политического действия, раскрывает роль ритуалов в переходные моменты политической жизни и рассматривает особенности таких политических ритуалов, как жертвоприношение, праздники и юбилейные торжества. Проведенное им исследование свидетельствует о том, что, хотя непосредственное побуждающее воздействие ритуалов есть не более чем «договорная иллюзия» символического воздействия, которая может быть разрушена неконвенциональным и перлокутивным: «А король-то голый!», значение ритуалов для современных сообществ не стоит недооценивать, ибо благодаря своему комплексному характеру они выполняют функцию стабилизации социального порядка.

Политические партии

А.В.Кынев

Внутрипартийная демократия и вмешательство государства в партийную деятельность (Российский случай)

Ключевые слова: политическая партия, внутрипартийная демократия, праймериз

На основе анализа широкого круга вопросов, связанных с внутренним устройством российских партий и их электоральной активностью, А.Кынев приходит к выводу, что из принятых в современных демократиях механизмов, направленных на развитие внутрипартийной демократии, в России фактически используются только вариации на тему праймериз. По его заключению, в стране сложилась парадоксальная ситуация: партии формально существуют, но, даже добившись успеха на выборах, крайне слабо влияют на процесс управления в условиях полного доминирования исполнительной власти. Отсюда и изначальная неспособность партий выполнить свою предвыборную программу, и разочарование избирателей во всех партиях, и слабый интерес к внутренней жизни партий со стороны как рядовых граждан, так и элит. В целом по своему внутреннему устройству российские партии напоминают другие отечественные политические институты, для которых характерны гипертрофированные полномочия исполнительных органов и слабость контрольных механизмов как таковых.


Ю.А.Кабанов

Пиратские партии: мировые тенденции развития

Ключевые слова: копирайт, цифровое пиратство, политическиепартии,политический процесс

В статье анализируются некоторые тенденции развития пиратских партий в кросс-национальной перспективе. Исследуется динамика политической программы пиратов, проводится корреляционный анализ факторов, обусловливающих степень институционализации их организаций. По заключению Ю.Кабанова, в большинстве случаев пиратские партии не имеют достаточных ресурсов, а зачастую и желания активно включаться в сложившуюся партийную систему. Не отличается устойчивостью популярность их идей, равно как и электоральный результат. Вместе с тем уже наметились некоторые точки роста пиратских партий, особенно в Европе. Согласно прогнозу автора, трансформации пиратского движения продолжатся и станут определяющими для его будущего развития. Не последнюю роль в этом сыграет окончательный выбор пиратов: оставаться ли на радикальных, антиэлитистских позициях или двигаться в сторону медианного избирателя и общей политики.

Рукописи не горят

Н.С.Розов

Методология исследования и онтология исторической динамики кризисов и трансформаций

Ключевые слова: методология социального познания, модель, масштаб, поле взаимодействия, концептуальный синтез

В статье развернуты методологические и онтологические идеи, направленные на интеграцию разделенных до сих пор подходов в социальном познании. Главное внимание уделено выявлению причин кризисов и крупных исторических трансформаций в разных социальных и временны́х масштабах и в разных полях взаимодействия. С помощью нескольких системных моделей (универсальная модель исторической динамики, функциональная модель А.Стинчкомба и др.) и объединения базовых концепций человеческого поведения (теория ритуалов Дюркгейма-Гофмана-Коллинза, концепция установок и габитусов, модель оперантного обусловливания Б.Ф.Скиннера) показаны способы совмещения статистических макропоказателей (structure) и динамики взаимодействия акторов (agency). В этом контексте рассмотрены возможности включения фактора случайности в строгую логику научного объяснения по К.Гемпелю, концептуализирована связь громких «спусковых» событий, переломных моментов с предшествующими и последующими количественными и структурными изменениями.


Губернаторские чтения

Экономика государства, экономика региона, экономика предприятия: проблемы системной устойчивости (Двадцатые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 11 февраля 2015 г.)

Ключевые слова: экономика, кризис, конкуренция, кооперация, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Двадцатых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 11 февраля 2015 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – устойчивость экономики на макро-, мезо- и микроуровне, лектор – член-корреспондент РАН, зам. директора Центрального экономико-математического института РАН профессор Г.Б.Клейнер.