Abstracts 3, 2012

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 3, 2012

TO 90th ANNIVERSARY OF A.A.GALKIN

Boris Koval, Anatoly Chernyaev, Tatiana Alekseeva, Kirill Kholodkovsky, Sergei Mikhailov, Aleksey Shestopal, Oksana Gaman-Golutvina, Olga Zdravomyslova, Leonid Bliakher, Svyatoslav Kaspe

PHENOMENON OF GALKIN

Keywords: Alexander Abramovich Galkin

Alexander Abramovich Galkin, Patriarch of the Russian Political Science, Deputy Chair of the Editorial Board of the Journal Politeia, celebrated his 90th anniversary on the 24th of July. The material that is offered to the attention of the readers is composed in the form of the “homage” and presents the collection of texts written by friends, colleagues and students of Alexander Abramovich that tells us about the hero of an anniversary as well as his contribution to the development of the social science knowledge in our country and the emergence of the Russian political science community. The collection contains works by Boris Koval, Anatoly Chernyaev, Tatyana Alekseeva, Kirill Kholodkovsky, Sergey Mikhailov, Aleksey Shestopal, Oksana Gaman-Golutvina, Olga Zdravomyslova and Leonid Blyakher.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-6-31


Sergey Allenov

ABOUT A.A.GALKINS BOOK GERMAN FASCISM AND ITS EPOCH

Keywords: Alexander Abramovich Galkin, fascism, national socialism, Soviet historiography

The article is devoted to the contribution by Alexander Abramovich Galkin into the studies on fascism and foremost to the analysis of his fundamental monograph about the German type of this phenomenon. Demonstrating the continuity of the best traditions of the Marxist school of thought within Galkin’s works, S.Allenov also emphasizes their innovative character that allowed broadening in many ways the strict frames of fascism “class” interpretation that dominated the Soviet social science. Tracing the evolution of the researcher’s views Allenov focuses the attention on the gradual deepening of his thoughts on the relations between fascism and different strata of society as well as the role of the economic elite in setting and implementing fascist prevalence. The article convincingly shows that a lot of observations and conclusions made by the coryphaeus of the Soviet school of thought on fascism did not lose their scientific relevance, and the conception that they gave birth to is still one of the most successful attempts of the theoretical comprehension of this issue.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-32-45

Antithesis

Anatoly Chernyaev

DOUBLE PORTRAIT: BREZHNEVGORBACHEV (II)

Keywords: Brezhnev, Gorbachev, epoch, economy, ideology, perestroika

Is it an accident that at certain time periods cut by the history it was L.I.Brezhnev and M.S.Gorbachev that became heads of the country? Of course, no. The very fact that both personalities significantly impacted the life of the state and society shows that they were in demand from inside as well as from outside and they were integrated with the nation under those conditions. Without knowing, at least at the approximate level, what kind of people they were it is impossible to imagine the more or less real picture of those times. In the essay by A.Chernyaev written on the basis of his personal memories, the author, who worked within Brezhnev’s group of speechwriters and consultants for more than 10 years and who, after Gorbachev came to power, became his assistant on international affairs, touches upon the whole number of topics that allow to better understand these people as individuals and politicians and to look into their “nitty-gritty of politics”. In the second part of the essay published in this issue (for the beginning see Politeia, 2012, 2) the author talks about the approaches of two leaders to solving economic problems of our country, analyzes their attitudes in the sphere of ideology and provides overall assessment of the results of their activity.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-46-66


Gennady Osipov

THIRD FUNCTION OF BUSINESS

Keywords: macroeconomic proportions, target function, good organization, efficiency, behavioral practices

The article is devoted to substantiating the argument about business being responsible for prosperity of economy and society at large. According to the author’s conclusion, such prosperity is consistent with rather specific macroeconomic parameters and ratios that were realized within the economies of “the golden billion”. Having analyzed in details the impact of the macroeconomic proportions on such aspects of social life as goal setting, relations between classes, economic efficiency, production modernization, stability, social morality, G.Osipov proposes the hypothesis that it is these characteristics that are the “rigorous” indicator that determines the set of political and socio-humanitarian features of the society.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-67-83

Russian Polity

Yury Korgunyuk

STRUCTURE OF ELECTORAL CLEAVAGES IN 20112012 ELECTORAL CYCLE AND POSSIBLE SCENARIOS OF SITUATION DEVELOPMENT

Keywords: elections, electoral cleavages, factor analysis, regression analysis

On the basis of the analysis of the 2011–2012 parliamentary and presidential elections conducted with the help of mathematical instruments with some of them being known for a long time and others relatively new, Yu.Korgunyuk comes to the conclusion that in the nearest future the political situation in Russia will be determined by the aggravation of tensions along the line “those in power – those not in power”, “the power – the public”. One could have avoided it if V.Putin had not taken the decision to occupy the presidential chair again. Now the tension will be growing until the change of the regime or at least the head of state. Throughout the history of the country similar situations took place at least twice – in the beginning and at the end of the 20th century – and ended up with the regime change and after a while reproduction of the strict authoritarian power to this or that extent. Whether this time Russia will be able to break through the vicious circle or not will depend, according to the author’s opinion, on many circumstances, in particular, on the exact nature of the regime change – whether it is evolutionary or revolutionary.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-84-99


Rostislav Turovsky

ELECTORAL SPACE OF RUSSIA: FROM IMPOSED NATIONALIZATION TOWARDS NEW REGIONALIZATION?

Keywords: party system, electoral space, nationalization, regionalization, elections

The article prepared in the framework of the program “Structural analysis of regional political regimes and electoral spaces” attempts to test the methods that are used in the explorations conducted by the Laboratory of Regional Political Research within the National Research University Higher School of Economics. The author sets his goal as substantiatingthese methods as well as demonstrating their usage by the Russian example, which in its turn allows him to draw conclusions about the structure and dynamics of the electoral space in the modern Russia. The paper employs the official statistical data from the Central Electoral Commission, the Russian Statistics Committee and the Ministry of Regional Development of the Russian Federation. All the calculations are carried out by the author.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-100-120


Margarita Zavadskaya

DUMA INCUMBENTS AND PARTY OF POWER Cross-temporal analysis

Keywords: incumbent, incumbency advantage, State Duma, “party of power”

The phenomenon of the incumbency advantage at the parliamentary elections was observed rather long time ago in the US and many Western European states. Some researchers view an increase in the number of parliamentary long-livers as an indicator of the party system weakening and politics “clientalization”, whereas others, in contrast, regard the presence of the experienced parliamentarians as an important prerequisite for maintaining continuity and stability of legislature. What are the nature and the role of incumbency in the modern Russia? In order to answer this question the author traces the dynamics of the incumbents’ share at the Russian parliament and tries to discover its determinants. She studies changes in the quantity and “quality” of the reelected deputies on the material about the 1995–2007 elections to the Russian State Duma emphasizing the process of institutionalization of the incumbency advantage and its dependency on the institutionalization of the “party of power”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-121-131

Historical Retrospective: Reflections and Hypotheses

Victor Sergeev, Sevak Sarukhanyan

WHITE REVOLUTION: FAILURE OF MODERNIZATION FROM ABOVE

Keywords: Iran, “White revolution”, Islamic society, modernization, democratic institutions

The article is devoted to exploring reasons for the failure of the “White revolution” – the modernization policy conducted since the 1960-s by Mohammad Reza Pahlavi,Shah of Iran. Having thoroughly analyzed economic, political and social components of the “White revolution”, V.Sergeev and S.Sarukhanyan come to the conclusion about the total inadequacy of the approach that connects the failure of the Iranian modernization to the reactionary and conservative character of its society. The research carried out by the authors persuasively proves that the essential role in the destiny of the modernization project was played by the Shah’s inability (or unwillingness) to modernize the state government system and the model of the relationships with the society. The origins of the collapse of the Iranian monarchy and its political course, according to the authors, are hidden in the reactionary character of this monarchy which assumed monopoly over the expression of the “common wealth” denying the society the right to determine and represent its interests by itself.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-132-145

Cathedra

Nikolai Rabotyazhev

EUROPEAN SOCIAL DEMOCRACY IN SEARCH FOR ADAPTATION TO CHANGING WORLD

Keywords: social democracy, ideas evolution, modernism, left traditionalism, renewal

The article considers the European social democracy ideas evolution from the moment of its emergence until today. On the basis of the analysis of the fundamental attitudes within the leading European social democratic parties N.Rabotyazhev demonstrates that until very recently the development of the social democratic movement in essence had only one vector – social democracy has been gradually losing its radicalism transforming from the anti-capitalist class force into the part of the political establishment of the Western countries, and only the world financial-economic crisis interrupted its “driftage to the right”. At the same time the author describes history of the social democratic movement as a story of escaping illusions and dogmas. According to the author’s opinion, the distinguishing features of this movement are permanent “revisionism”, timely abandonment of obsolete or erroneous views, constant aspiration towards bringing ideas into accordance with reality. It is these qualities that allow social democrats to overcome the difficulties that they faced in the epoch of globalization.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-146-167


Vladimir Volsky

WORKS BY CHARLES LUTWIDGE DODGSON IN SPHERE OF VOTING THEORY

Keywords: Dodgson, voting procedure, candidates, voters, preferences, pairwise comparisons

In the article the author explores the contribution into the voting theory made by the English mathematician who became widely known as the author of the fairy tales Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass as well as a number of other literature works published under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. According to V.Volsky, the works by Dodgson in the sphere of the voting theory are interesting along several lines. First, the author critically analyzed a number of widespread voting procedures having clearly demonstrated that their usage might result in paradoxical situations such that a candidate is elected whom the common sense would never have acknowledged as the best one. Second, knowing nothing about the works by his predecessors he elaborated voting procedures that are based on the sum of ranks and pairwise comparison of candidates and determined the possibility of the emergence of cycles. Third, he offered a totally new approach towards deciding on a winner in pairwise comparison of candidates introducing the notion of the level of superiority of one candidate over the other. This notion is the core of the voting procedure that is named after Dodgson.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-168-179

Book Review

Pavel Kandel

withinreasonablelimits (Plevako N.S., Chernysheva O.V. Is it possible to become a Swede? immigrant Adaptation and integration policy in Sweden after World War II. M.: KRASAND, 2012)

Keywords: Sweden, immigration policy, integration, national culture

According to P.Kandel’s assessment, the book under review provides the extensive and versatile view on the change in scopes and nature of immigration in Sweden, the evolution of immigration policy and policy of integration of immigrants into the Swedish society. To his mind, what is essential and novel is that these processes are viewed not only at the theoretical, normative and legal levels, but also from the point of their reflection in the everyday life. In contrast to the authors of many other works on the similar topic, N.Plevako and O.Chernysheva refuse to regard immigrants as a passive object of policy with its subject being state. The structure and content of their monograph are dictated by the solution to a more fruitful task – assessing successes and failures of the immigration policy from the positions of both accepting and immigrating communities.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-66-3-180-182

Содержание выпуска № 3, 2012

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 3, 2012

К 90-летию А.А.Галкина

Б.И.Коваль, А.С.Черняев, Т.А.Алексеева, К.Г.Холодковский, С.В.Михайлов, А.В.Шестопал, О.В.Гаман-Голутвина, О.М.Здравомыслова, Л.Е.Бляхер, С.И.Каспэ

Феномен Галкина

Ключевые слова: Александр Абрамович Галкин

24 июля исполнилось 90 лет патриарху отечественной политической науки, заместителю председателя Редакционного совета «Политии» Александру Абрамовичу Галкину. В предлагаемом вниманию читателей материале, составленном в форме оммажа, представлена подборка текстов, в которых рассказывается как о самом юбиляре, так и о его вкладе в развитие в нашей стране обществоведческого знания и становление российского политологического сообщества. В подборку вошли тексты Бориса Коваля, Анатолия Черняева, Татьяны Алексеевой, Кирилла Холодковского, Сергея Михайлова, Алексея Шестопала, Оксаны Гаман-Голутвиной, Ольги Здравомысловой и Леонида Бляхера.


С.Г.Алленов

О книге А.А.Галкина «Германский фашизм» и ее эпохе

Ключевые слова: Александр Абрамович Галкин, фашизм, национал-социализм, советская историография

Статья посвящена вкладу Александра Абрамовича Галкина в изучение фашизма и прежде всего анализу его фундаментальной монографии о немецкой разновидности данного феномена. Демонстрируя преемственность трудов Галкина по отношению к лучшим традициям марксистской школы, С.Алленов вместе с тем подчеркивает их новаторский характер, позволивший во многом расширить жесткие рамки господствовавшей в советском обществознании «классовой» трактовки фашизма. Прослеживая эволюцию взглядов исследователя, Алленов заостряет внимание на постепенном углублении его представлений о взаимоотношениях фашизма и различных слоев общества, а также о роли экономических элит в установлении и осуществлении фашистского господства. В статье убедительно показано, что многие наблюдения и выводы корифея советской школы исследований фашизма не утратили своей научной ценности, а выросшая из них концепция по-прежнему остается одной из самых удачных попыток теоретического осмысления этой проблемы.

Антитеза

А.С.Черняев

Двойной портрет: Брежнев – Горбачев (II)

Ключевые слова: Брежнев, Горбачев, эпоха, экономика, идеология, перестройка

Случайно ли в нарезанные историей периоды в руководителях страны оказались именно Л.И.Брежнев и М.С.Горбачев? Конечно, нет. Сам тот факт, что личность каждого из них столь заметно запечатлелась в жизни государства и общества, свидетельствует о том, что они были востребованы внутри и вовне, что они органичны для нашей нации в тех ее состояниях. Не зная хотя бы приблизительно, какими они были, невозможно представить себе более или менее реальную картину тогдашнего нашего времени. В очерке А.Черняева, написанном на основе личных воспоминаний автора, свыше 10 лет входившего в группу спичрайтеров и консультантов Брежнева, а после прихода к власти Горбачева ставшего его помощником по международным делам, затрагивается целый ряд сюжетов, позволяющих лучше понять этих людей как индивидов и политиков, заглянуть в их «политическую кухню». Во второй части очерка, публикуемой в этом номере (начало см. «Полития», 2012, № 2), рассказывается о подходах двух лидеров к решению экономических проблем страны, анализируются их установки в сфере идеологии и дается общая оценка итогов их деятельности.


Г.А.Осипов

Третья функция бизнеса

Ключевые слова: макроэкономические пропорции, целевая функция, организованность, эффективность, поведенческие практики

Статья посвящена обоснованию тезиса об ответственности бизнеса за процветание экономики и общества в целом. Согласно заключению автора, такому процветанию соответствуют вполне конкретные значения макроэкономических параметров и соотношений, которые реализованы в экономиках «золотого миллиарда». Детально проанализировав влияние макроэкономических пропорций на такие аспекты социальной жизни, как целеполагание, межклассовые отношения, экономическая эффективность, модернизация производства, стабильность, общественная нравственность, Г.Осипов высказывает гипотезу, что именно они являются тем «жестоким» показателем, который задает набор политических и социогуманитарных характеристик общества.

Российская полития

Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Структура электоральных размежеваний в избирательном цикле 2011–2012 годов и возможные сценарии развития ситуации

Ключевые слова: выборы, электоральные размежевания, факторный анализ, регрессионный анализ

На основе анализа результатов парламентских и президентских выборов 2011–2012 гг. с использованием как давно известных, так и относительно новых математических инструментов Ю.Коргунюк приходит к заключению, что в ближайшей перспективе политическая ситуация в России будет определяться нарастанием напряжения по линии «власть–невласть», «власть–общественность». Этого можно было избежать, если бы В.Путин не принял решения вновь занять президентское кресло. Теперь напряжение будет нарастать вплоть до смены режима – или, по меньшей мере, первого лица государства. В истории страны подобные ситуации имели место как минимум дважды – в начале и конце ХХ в. – и заканчивались сменой режима, а затем, через некоторое время, воспроизводством в той или иной степени жесткой авторитарной власти. Удастся ли России на этот раз вырваться из заколдованного круга, будет, по мнению автора, зависеть от многих обстоятельств, в частности от того, как именно произойдет смена власти – эволюционным или революционным путем.


Р.Ф.Туровский

Электоральное пространство России: от навязанной национализации к новой регионализации?

Ключевые слова: партийная система, электоральное пространство, национализация, регионализация, выборы

В статье, подготовленной в рамках программы «Структурный анализ региональных политических режимов и электоральных пространств» апробируются методики, которые применяются в изысканиях, проводимых Лабораторией региональных политических исследований НИУ ВШЭ. Автор ставит своей задачей как обоснование этих методик, так и демонстрацию их работы на российском примере, что, в свою очередь, позволяет ему делать выводы о структуре и динамике электорального пространства современной России. В работе использованы официальные статистические данные Центральной избирательной комиссии, Росстата и Министерства регионального развития РФ. Все расчеты произведены автором.


М.А.Завадская

Думские инкумбенты и «партия власти» (Кросстемпоральный анализ)

Ключевые слова: инкумбент, преимущество инкумбентства, Государственная Дума, «партия власти»

Феномен преимущества инкумбентства на парламентских выборах был достаточно давно зафиксирован в США и многих западноевропейских странах. Одни исследователи видят в увеличении числа парламентских долгожителей признак ослабления партийной системы и «клиентелизации» политики, другие, напротив, считают присутствие опытных парламентариев важным условием обеспечения преемственности и стабильности легислатуры. Каковы же природа и роль инкумбентства в современной России? Для того чтобы ответить на этот вопрос, автор прослеживает динамику доли инкумбентов в российском парламенте и пытается выявить ее детерминанты. На материале выборов в Государственную Думу РФ в период с 1995 по 2007 г. она исследует изменения в количестве и «качестве» переизбравшихся депутатов, обращая особое внимание на процесс институционализации преимущества инкумбентства и его зависимость от институционализации «партии власти».

Историческая ретроспектива: размышления и гипотезы

В.М.Сергеев, С.Н.Саруханян

«Белая революция»: провал модернизации сверху

Ключевые слова: Иран, «Белая революция», исламское общество, модернизация, демократические институты

Статья посвящена изучению причин провала «Белой революции» – политики модернизации, осуществлявшейся шахом ИранаМохаммедом Реза Пехлеви начиная с 60-х годов XXв. Тщательно проанализировав экономические, политические и социальные составляющие «Белой революции», В.Сергеев и С.Саруханян приходят к выводу о полной несостоятельности подхода, согласно которому иранская модернизация потерпела неудачу из-за реакционности и консервативности общества. Проведенное ими исследование убедительно доказывает, что роковую роль в судьбе модернизационного проекта сыграла неспособность (или нежелание) шаха модернизировать систему управления государством и модель взаимоотношений с обществом. Истоки крушения иранской монархии и проводимого ею курса, считают авторы, кроются в реакционности самой этой монархии, которая присвоила себе монополию на выражение «общественного блага», отказывая обществу в праве самому формулировать и представлять свои интересы.

Кафедра

Н.В.Работяжев

Европейская социал-демократия в поисках адаптации к меняющемуся миру

Ключевые слова: социал-демократия, идейная эволюция, модернизм, левый традиционализм, обновление

В статье рассматривается идейная эволюция европейской социал-демократии с момента ее возникновения и до наших дней. На основе анализа базовых установок ведущих европейских социал-демократических партий Н.Работяжев показывает, что вплоть до самого последнего времени развитие социал-демократического движения, по сути, имело один вектор – социал-демократия постепенно теряла радикальность, превращаясь из антикапиталистической классовой силы в часть политического истеблишмента стран Запада, и толькомировой финансово-экономический кризис прервал ее «правый дрейф». Вместе с тем история социал-демократического движения описывается им как история избавления от иллюзий и догм. По мнению автора, отличительными чертами этого движения являются перманентный «ревизионизм», своевременное отбрасывание устаревших или ошибочных представлений, постоянное стремление привести идеи в соответствие с реальностью, и именно эти качества позволят социал-демократам справиться с теми трудностями, с которыми они столкнулись в эпоху глобализации.


В.И.Вольский

Работы Чарльза Лютвиджа Доджсона в области теории голосования

Ключевые слова: Доджсон, процедура голосования, кандидаты, избиратели, предпочтения, попарные сравнения

В статье исследуется вклад в теорию голосования английского математика Ч.Л.Доджсона, получившего широкую известность как автор сказок «Алиса в стране чудес» и «Алиса в Зазеркалье», а также ряда других литературных произведений, опубликованных под псевдонимом Льюис Кэрролл. По мнению В.Вольского, работы Доджсона в области теории голосования интересны в нескольких отношениях. Во-первых, их автор критически проанализировал ряд распространенных процедур голосования, наглядно продемонстрировав, что их использование способно порождать парадоксальные ситуации, когда избирается кандидат, которого здравый смысл отказывается признавать лучшим. Во-вторых, ничего не зная о трудах предшественников, он разработал процедуры голосования, основанные на сумме рангов и попарном сравнении кандидатов, и установил возможность возникновения циклов. В-третьих, он предложил принципиально новый подход к определению победителя в попарном сравнении кандидатов, введя понятие степени превосходства одного кандидата над другим. На этом понятии базируется процедура голосования, которая носит имя Доджсона.

Размышляя над прочитанным

П.Е.Кандель

«В меру» (Плевако Н.С., Чернышева О.В. Можно ли стать шведом? Политика адаптации и интеграции иммигрантов в Швеции после второй мировой войны. – М.: КРАСАНД, 2012)

Ключевые слова: Швеция, иммиграционная политика, интеграция, национальная культура

По оценке П.Канделя, рецензируемая книга дает исчерпывающее и разностороннее представление об изменении масштабов и характера иммиграции в Швецию, об эволюции иммиграционной политики и политики интеграции иммигрантов в шведское общество. Существенным и новым он считает то, что эти процессы рассматриваются не только на теоретическом и нормативно-правовом уровне, но и с точки зрения их отражения в повседневной жизни. В отличие от авторов многих других работ на аналогичную тему, Н.Плевако и О.Чернышева отказываются видеть в иммигрантах пассивный объект политики, субъектом которой выступает государство. Структура и содержание их монографии подчинены решению более плодотворной задачи – оценке успехов и неудач иммиграционной политики с позиций как принимающего, так и иммигрантского сообщества.