Abstracts 3, 2013

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 3, 2013

Method

Ulrich Beck, Natan Sznaider

Unpacking Cosmopolitanism for the Social Sciences: a Research Agenda

Keywords: cosmopolitanism, methodological cosmopolitanism, methodological nationalism, social theory

The article by U.Beck and N.Sznaider, the Russian version of which we introduce to the reader, justifies the necessity of re-conceptualization of the social sciences through the cosmopolitan turn. The authors show that the methodological nationalism that equates societies with nation-state societies and views states and their governments as the primary focus of analysis deprives researchers of the opportunity to see the multidimensional process of changes that irreversibly transforms the very nature of the social world and the place of states in this world. According to their conclusion, the humanities and social sciences need to get ready for a transformation of their own positions – that is, to accept cosmopolitanism as a research agenda and raise some of the key conceptual, methodological, empirical and normative issues that cosmopolitanization of reality poses before the social sciences.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-6-30


Yury Korgunyuk

Concept of Cleavages and Factor Analysis

Keywords: electoral cleavage, political cleavage, social stratification, factor analysis

The article presents and describes in detail the technique of factor analysis application for identifying ties between electoral and political cleavages as well as factors of social stratification of society. The use of this technique within the study of political and social content of the electoral cleavages in the post-Soviet Russia (1993–2011) allowed the author to obtain several nontrivial results concerning the structure of political space cleavages in the country. In contrast to the theory of problem dimensions, the proposed method provides an opportunity to study these cleavages in their natural unity, in which they exist within the political reality, rather than in the artificially “decomposed” form.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-31-61

Ideologies

Nikolai Rabotyazhev

Russian National Identity in Mirror of Modern Domestic Conservatism

Keywords: national state identity, conservatism

On the basis of the detailed analysis of the major currents in the domestic conservatism, N.Rabotyazhev comes to the conclusion that, despite the popularity of the conservative attitudes in the Russian society, none of these currents are capable of offering an image of the Russian identity that is convincing and acceptable to the majority. Having clearly demonstrated that all versions of the conservative ideology (left, national-patriotic, and “bureaucratic” conservatism) that obtained relatively broad spread in the country, suffer from noticeable one-sidedness, the author suggests that “Vekhi” – “Novograd” direction of the conservative thought that views human personality as an absolute value could serve as a foundation of the modern Russian conservatism that is really able to provide an impulse for the formation of a new national identity.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-62-84


Sergey Allenov

Image of Russia and Formation of Political Worldview of Young Joseph Goebbels Russia is alpha and omega of any deliberate policy... (19241926)

Keywords: Goebbels, Russia, Dostoyevsky, German-Russian relations, Nazism

The third article in the series Image of Russia and Formation of Political Worldview of Young Joseph Goebbels analyzes the last (1924–1925) stages of the future Nazi Minister's Russophile views evolution. The paper shows that Goebbels continued to view Russia as a “natural ally” of Germany even after he stopped studying literature and turned to political activity. The diary and early journalist publications of the novice Nazi suggest that Lenin's Russia preserved its attractiveness for him primarily because it continued to act as the same antipode to the liberal West as Dostoevsky's Russia used to be earlier. However, now Goebbels' hopes were no longer tied to the literary myth of the “holy country” carrying the religious and moral expurgation to the world, but to the practice of the Bolshevik “state socialism”. Explaining Goebbels' sudden turn to the anti-Soviet positions at the beginning of 1926, S.Allenov notes that the disagreements on the “Russian” question were the last obstacle in the way of his final rapprochement with Hitler, and his kind attitude towards Russia was the price he paid for the right of entry into the top of the NSDAP.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-85-105

Antithesis

Kirill Petrov

Land and Oil: On Legitimacy of Russian State

Keywords: natural state, legitimacy, power, elite, population

The paper presents an experience of the analysis of the Russian political system using the methodological approach proposed in the book by D.C.North, J.J.Wallis, and B.R.Weingast Violence and Social Orders. After considering the specifics of the Russian model of the organization of power, K.Petrov comes to the conclusion that Russia should be treated as natural state reproducing institutions inherent in any closed access order. According to his assessment, today Russia lacks even doorstep conditions for the transition to an open access system, and moreover, the trajectory of its current development casts doubt on the possibility of achieving them in the near future.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-106-118


Alexander Shvyrkov

Why Societies are Ruled by Immoral People

Keywords: immorality, politics, morality, psychological defect, power, control

The article is devoted to the discussion of the problem, the essence of which in the first approximation is reduced to the question of why societies are ruled by people whose moral qualities are of significantly lower level than “average” for a given society. In search for an answer to this question A.Shvyrkov examines mechanisms of formation of power pyramid and lays out a number of hypotheses linking the immorality and aspiration for power as an end in itself with the presence of certain human psychological “defects”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-119-130

Cathedra

Alla Samoletova

European Parliament Elections in Post-Communist EU Countries: What They Tell Us about Party Systems in These Countries?

Keywords: European Parliament, second-order elections, post-communist countries, electoral behavior, party systems

The article considers the voting results in the elections to the European Parliament in the post-communist EU countries in 2004, 2007 and 2009. On the basis of the descriptive analysis of the electoral statistics, A.Samoletova concludes that these results are adequately described by the theory of second-order elections. At the same time, her study shows that during the European elections one can clearly trace the specifics of the post-communist countries, where party systems are still in the process of transformation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-131-146


Vladimir Volsky

J.C. de Borda and Marquis de Condorcet Pioneers of Voting Theory

Keywords: Borda, Condorcet, voting procedure, candidates, voters, preferences, pairwise comparisons

The article describes the contribution to the voting theory made by the French scientists J.C. de Borda (1733–1799) and Marquis de Condorcet (1743–1794), who for the first time in the world history started to address voting as a scientific problem employing mathematical apparatus and method of model situations analysis for its solution. Having examined in details the works by Borda and Condorcet in this area, V.Volsky draws attention to the fact that it is these works that led to realization that the notion of the «majority of votes» is far from being unambiguous and its use for determining a winner during elections might lead to paradoxical results.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-147-159

Book Review

Andrey Medushevsky

Constitution as Mirror of Russian Politics (Polyakov L.V. Russian Policy in Light of Constitution // Politeia. 2013. 2)

Keywords: Constitution, form of government, political practice, constitutional reform

The previous issue of the journal Politeia presented the review of the book edited by A.Medushevsky Fundamentals of Constitutional Order in Russia: Twenty Years of Development, the author of which, having on the whole positively assessed the work, revealed a set of controversial issues and proposed a number of critical objections. Responding to these comments, Medushevsky analyzes the arguments presented by the reviewer and offers his answers to the questions that were posed.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-160-178


Gubernatorial Readings

Actual Practices of Regional Governance: Communication Between Power, Society, and Business Thirteenth Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, June 2nd, 2013

Keywords: regional governance, communication, political dialogue, Tyumen region

The material published here is a report on the thirteenth Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, June 2nd, 2013, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the readings being role and specifics of communicational practices in regional governance and a lecturer – E.N.Minchenko, President of the communication group “Minchenko Consulting”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-179-201


Academia

Fourteenth International Scientific Conference Modernization of Economy and Society Overview of Panel Political Power

Keywords: International Scientific Conference, NRU HSE, political processes

The Fourteenth International Scientific Conference “Modernization of Economy and Society” took place in Moscow, April 2nd–5th, 2013, held by National Research University – Higher School of Economics with the participation of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund. Within the section “Political Processes” the panel “Political Power” was organized, which included four sessions: “Concept of Power and Democracy”, “Power in Local Communities”, “Soft Law and Political Power”, “Power, Violence and Human Rights”. The published material provides an overview of the reports made at the sessions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2013-70-3-202-208

Содержание выпуска № 3, 2013

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 3, 2013

Метод

У.Бек, Н.Шнайдер

Открывая космополитизм для общественных наук: исследовательская повестка дня

Ключевые слова: космополитизм, методологический космополитизм, методологический национализм, социальная теория

В статье У.Бека и Н.Шнайдера, с русской версией которой мы знакомим читателя, обосновывается необходимость реконцептуализации общественных наук посредством космополитического поворота. Авторы показывают, что методологический национализм, отождествляющий общества как таковые с обществами наций-государств и рассматривающий государства и их правительства как главное направление анализа, лишает исследователей возможности зафиксировать многомерный процесс изменений, который необратимо трансформирует саму природу социального мира и место государств в этом мире. По их заключению, гуманитарным и общественным наукам следует подготовиться к трансформации собственных позиций, то есть принять космополитизм в качестве исследовательской повестки дня и обратить внимание на ряд ключевых концептуальных, методологических, эмпирических и нормативных вопросов, которые космополитизация реальности ставит перед общественными науками.


Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Концепция размежеваний и факторный анализ

Ключевые слова: электоральное размежевание, политическое размежевание, социальная стратификация, факторный анализ

В статье представлена и подробно описана методика применения факторного анализа для выявления связей электоральных размежеваний как с политическими размежеваниями, так и с факторами социальной стратификации общества. Использование данной методики при исследовании политического и социального содержания электоральных размежеваний в постсоветской России (1993–2011) позволило автору получить ряд нетривиальных результатов, касающихся структуры размежеваний политического пространства страны. В отличие от теории проблемных измерений, предложенная методика дает возможность изучать эти размежевания не в искусственно «расщепленном» виде, а в том естественном единстве, в каком они существуют в политической действительности.

Идеологии

Н.В.Работяжев

Российская национальная идентичность в зеркале современного отечественного консерватизма

Ключевые слова: национально-государственная идентичность, консерватизм

На основе детального анализа основных течений отечественного консерватизма Н.Работяжев приходит к заключению, что, несмотря на популярность консервативных установок в российском обществе, ни одно из этих течений не в состоянии предложить убедительный и приемлемый для большинства образ российской идентичности. Наглядно продемонстрировав, что все получившие относительно широкое распространение в стране версии консервативной идеологии (левый, национал-патриотический и «властный» консерватизм) страдают заметной односторонностью, автор высказывает предположение, что фундаментом современного российского консерватизма, действительно способного дать толчок формированию новой национальной идентичности, базирующейся на российской культуре, могло бы послужить «веховско»-«новоградское» направление консервативной мысли, для которого абсолютной ценностью является человеческая личность.


С.Г.Алленов

Образ России и формирование политического мировоззрения молодого Йозефа Геббельса («Россия есть альфа и омега всякой целенаправленной политики…» (1924–1926 гг.))

Ключевые слова: Геббельс, Россия, Достоевский, германо-российские отношения, нацизм

В третьей статье цикла «Образ России и формирование политического мировоззрения молодого Йозефа Геббельса» анализируются последние этапы эволюции русофильских взглядов будущего нацистского министра, пришедшиеся на 1924–1925 гг. В статье показано, что Геббельс рассматривал Россию в качестве «естественной союзницы» Германии и после того, как оставил занятия литературой и перешел к политической деятельности. Дневник и ранняя публицистика начинающего нациста свидетельствуют о том, что Россия Ленина сохраняла для него свою притягательность прежде всего потому, что продолжала выступать таким же антиподом либерального Запада, каким раньше была Россия Достоевского. Однако теперь надежды Геббельса были связаны уже не с литературным мифом о несущей миру религиозно-нравственное очищение «святой стране», а с практикой большевистского «государственного социализма». Объясняя резкий переход Геббельса на антисоветские позиции в начале 1926 г., С.Алленов замечает, что разногласия в «русском» вопросе были последней преградой на пути его окончательного сближения с Гитлером и доброе отношение к России стало той ценой, которую он заплатил за право вхождения в верхушку НСДАП.

Антитеза

К.Е.Петров

Территория и нефть: к вопросу о легитимности российского государства

Ключевые слова: естественное государство, легитимность, власть, элита, население

В статье представлен опыт анализа российской политической системы с использованием методологического подхода, предложенного в книге Д.Норта, Д.Уоллиса и Б.Вайнгаста «Насилие и социальные порядки». Рассмотрев специфику российской модели организации власти, К.Петров приходит к выводу, что Россию следует трактовать как естественное государство, воспроизводящее институты, свойственные любому порядку закрытого доступа. По его оценке, в настоящее время в России отсутствуют даже пороговые условия перехода к системе отрытого доступа; более того, траектория ее нынешнего развития заставляет усомниться в возможности их достижения в ближайшем будущем.


А.И.Швырков

Почему обществами управляют аморальные люди

Ключевые слова: аморальность, политика, мораль, психологический дефект, власть, управление

Статья посвящена обсуждению проблемы, суть которой в первом приближении сводится к вопросу: почему обществами управляют люди, чьи моральные качества заметно ниже некоего «среднего» для данного общества уровня? В поисках ответа на этот вопрос А.Швырков рассматривает механизмы формирования властной пирамиды и формулирует ряд гипотез, связывающих аморальность и стремление к власти как самоцели с наличием у человека определенных психологических «дефектов».

Кафедра

А.М.Самолетова

Выборы в Европейский парламент в посткоммунистических странах Европейского союза: что они говорят о партийных системах этих стран?

Ключевые слова: Европейский парламент, выборы второго порядка, посткоммунистические страны, электоральное поведение, партийные системы

В статье рассматриваются результаты голосования на выборах в Европейский парламент в посткоммунистических странах ЕС в 2004, 2007 и 2009 гг. На основе дескриптивного анализа электоральной статистики А.Самолетова приходит к заключению, что эти результаты достаточно адекватно описываются теорией выборов второго порядка. Вместе с тем проведенное ею исследование показывает, что на общеевропейских выборах отчетливо проявляется и специфика посткоммунистических стран, партийные системы которых все еще находятся в процессе трансформации.


В.И.Вольский

Ж.-Ш. де Борда и маркиз де Кондорсе – родоначальники теории голосования

Ключевые слова: Борда, Кондорсе, процедура голосования, кандидаты, избиратели, предпочтения, попарные сравнения

В статье описывается вклад в теорию голосования французских ученых Ж.-Ш. де Борда (1733–1799) и маркиза де Кондорсе (1743–1794), которые впервые в мировой истории начали заниматься вопросами голосования как научной проблемой, привлекая для ее решения математический аппарат и метод анализа модельных ситуаций. Подробно рассмотрев работы Борда и Кондорсе в этой области, В.Вольский обращает внимание на то, что именно благодаря этим работам возникло осознание того, что понятие «большинство голосов» далеко не однозначно и использование его для определения победителя на выборах может приводить к парадоксальным результатам.

Размышляя над прочитанным

А.Н.Медушевский

Конституция как зеркало российской политики Поляков Л.В. Российская политика сквозь призму Конституции // Полития. 2013. №2

Ключевые слова: Конституция, форма правления, политическая практика, конституционная реформа

В прошлом номере журнала «Полития» была опубликована рецензия на книгу под редакцией А.Медушевского «Основы конституционного права: двадцать лет развития», автор которой, в целом позитивно оценив этот труд, выявил совокупность дискуссионных проблем и сформулировал ряд критических замечаний. Отвечая на эти замечания, Медушевский анализирует приведенные рецензентом аргументы и предлагает свои ответы на поставленные им вопросы.


Губернаторские чтения

Актуальные практики регионального управления: коммуникация власти, общества и бизнеса (Тринадцатые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 2 июля 2013 г.)

Ключевые слова: региональное управление, коммуникация, политический диалог, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Тринадцатых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 2 июля 2013 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема чтений – роль и специфика коммуникативных практик в региональном управлении, лектор – президент коммуникационного холдинга «Минченко консалтинг» Е.Н.Минченко.


Academia

XIV Международная научная конференция «Модернизация экономики и общества» (Обзор панели «Политическая власть»)

Ключевые слова: международная научная конференция, НИУ ВШЭ, политические процессы

2–5 апреля 2013 г. в Москве состоялась XIV Международная научная конференция «Модернизация экономики и общества», проведенная Национальным исследовательским университетом «Высшая школа экономики» при участии Всемирного банка и Международного валютного фонда. В рамках секции «Политические процессы» была организована панель «Политическая власть», включавшая в себя четыре сессии: «Концепция власти и демократия», «Власть в локальных сообществах», «Мягкое право и политическая власть», «Власть, насилие и права человека». В публикуемом материале дан обзор прозвучавших на них докладов.