Abstracts 3, 2015

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 3, 2015

Download 3 (78).

Political Theories

Svyatoslav Kaspe

Against Autonomous Subject: How it is Possible and not Possible to Correct Political Form

Keywords: autonomy, subject, the political, political form, political evil, Russian politics

Elaborating on the problematicsof the political form that the author started in the series of his previous research papers, S.Kaspe addresses the topic of an autonomous subject i.e., the one who produces and establishes this form. Revealing the internal contingency of both notions that are firmly entrenched in the language of political philosophy and political science, the author shows that the widely spread hopes in Russia for the autonomy of a subject as the best means of correcting political form are poorly justified. According to Kaspe’s opinion, non-autonomous subjects within the autonomous political is the state that the Russian society should aspire to.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-6-36


Alexander Shvyrkov

Theory of Democracy as Analogue of Scientific Research Programme

Keywords: theory of democracy, scientificresearch programme, hard core of program, belt of auxiliary hypotheses

The article justifies the possibility of applying I.Lakatos’ theory of the scientificresearch programmeto the array of theories referred to as the theory of democracy. Having convincingly demonstrated that, despite all the differences between the humanities and the natural sciences, the corresponding array of democratic theories can be viewed as analogous to what Lakatos refers to as thescientificresearch programme, A.Shvyrkov identifies and describes the hard core of this array, its positive and negative heuristics, and a belt of auxiliary hypotheses. The author's analysis leads him to conclude that the theory of democracy as an analogue of the scientificresearch programmehas passed the peak of its development and entered a phase of stagnation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-37-49

Paradigms of Social Development

Andrey Akhremenko, Ilya Lokshin, Yegor Yureskul

Economic Growth and Policy Choice in Authoritarian Regimes: The Missing Link

Keywords: total factor productivity, policy, economic growth

The paper analyzes the prerequisites of economic growth in an authoritarian context. On the basis of the analysis of the formal dynamic model, the authors show that the total factor productivity (TFP) is even more important for the perspectives of economic growth in non-democratic regimes than the long time planning horizon of the key economic agents. According to their conclusion, it is TFP that constitutes a key factor in determining sustainability of an economy under shocks caused by bad policies. In addition, when TFP is high it is easier to align economic preferences of different social groups. The theoretical approach utilized in the paper allows taking into account the three layers of explaining economic successes and failures simultaneously: the layer of the policy choice made by power elites, the layer of political institutions, and the layer of the fundamental economic factors that define the prospects for the economic development.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-50-74

Post-Soviet Space

Leonid Bliakher

Ethnicization and Secondary Russification of Imperial Cities Space Case of Dushanbe

Keywords: empire, imperial city, local community, Tajikistan, Dushanbe

The article describes the role of Dushanbe as an imperial city in the social space of Tajikistan. Having carefully analyzed the functions performed by Dushanbe and its Russian-speaking residents in the internal structure of the Tajik community in the Soviet era, L.Blyakher shows that these functions are still relevant after the collapse of the Soviet Union. According to his conclusion, today the identification within the “Russian” town of Dushanbe, originally isolated from the local territorial communities, appeared to be one of the few options of the Tajik political identification that can serve as a basis for the formation of the political nation. And since the Russians as such left, a layer of the “Tajik Russians” (ethnic Tajiks who accepted Russian language and culture) is emerging to form the main population of Dushanbe. Thanks to their “Russianness” they can rise above the local identity and thereby preserve the overall balance of power in the republic.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-75-90


Andrey Korotayev, Leonid Isaev

Ukrainian Mosaic An Attempt at Quantitative Analysis of Ukrainian Electoral Statistics

Keywords: Ukraine, elections, Yanukovych, Party of Regions, quantitative analysis

On the basis of the mathematical analysis of the electoral statistics A.Korotaev and L.Isaev come to the conclusion that V.Yanukovych lost Ukraine long before the events of 2013–2014. The research conducted by the authors shows that before the start of these events most of the country’s south-east regions that supported the Party of Regions were characterized by a very high level of political passivity, which contrasted with the Central and especially Western Ukraine, as well as Kiev, where high political activity of the population was combined with pro-orange sentiments. Thus, in November 2013 Yanukovych found himself in a very disadvantageous position, which largely led to his downfall.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-91-110

Antithesis

Leonid Fishman

Ideology and Victory

Keywords: ideology, Victory Day, national reconciliation

This paper proposes an alternative approach to understanding the Victory Day as a holiday, the ideological component of which can not be reduced to either its officially declared side or to the side that is denounced by the opposition. According to L.Fishman, Victory Day is to a certain extent archetypal, and this “archetypality” is not limited to its opportunistic political-symbolic load. The real background of this holiday in the modern Russia is that it largely exposes the very nature of ideology. Therefore, it makes sense to analyze the role of the 9 May Holiday as a Victory in war in terms of the nature of ideology. Considering that it is “victory” that constitutes the key concept here, rather than the date tied to it, Fishman reveals the content that the ruling elites, although not always intentionally, embed into the celebration of Victory.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-111-119


Dmitry Davydov

Russia: From Society with Rentier Economy to Rentier Society

Keywords: rentiersociety, rent, capitalism, socialism

Developing the idea of the gradual transformation of capitalism into a rentier society expressed in the article that was written in collaboration with L.Fishman (see Politeia, 2015, 1), D.Davydov analyzes the specifics of Russia as an emerging rentier society. According to the author’s assessment, rent problems in our country are not limited to the “oil curse”, and involve a wide range of rental by their nature relations. In justifying this argument, the author considers a set of factors conducive to the emergence of a rentier society in Russia, showing that, in contrast to the Western countries where such a society can theoretically be a stable formation, in the Russian conditions sliding into the rentier state is fraught with economic disaster.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-120-130

Foreign Policy Perspective

Alexei Smirnov

Test by Ukraine Polish Conservatives Seeking Foreign Policy Strategy

Keywords: right-wing conservatives, liberal conservatives, foreign policy strategy, European integration, European Union, geopolitics

The dramatic events in Ukraine related to the “Euromaidan revolution” in 2014 had huge foreign policy repercussions. For several reasons, including the historical ones, Poland appeared to be involved into the Ukrainian affairs more than any other European country. So how does the Polish strategy in relation to Ukraine look, and how is it being implemented? In search of an answer to this complex question A.Smirnov considers the position of the Polish right-wing conservatives that represents a curious synthesis of the overall Western, European and national-patriotic dominants of political consciousness.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-131-149

Historical Retrospective: Reflections and Hypotheses

Andrei Maryin-Ostrovsky

Disintegration of Property Rights System in USSR: 19851991

Keywords: property institution, informal economic activity, management control, late USSR

The article continues the series of works by the author devoted to the study of processes of formation of the institution of property in Russia (see Politeia, 2009, 4; Politeia, 2013, 4) and attempts to analyze the transformation of the system of property rights in the late Soviet Union from 1985 to 1991. It is those years that witnessed the disintegration of the property institution formed in the USSR and birth of the system of property rights that was established in the post-Soviet Russia.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-150-161


Yana Guzei

Ethnicity and War Japanese Migrants in Socio-Political Discourse of Russian Empire on the Eve of and During the Russian-Japanese War of 19041905

Keywords: ethnicity, Russian Empire, Japanese migrants, socio-political discourse, Russian-Japanese War

The article that is based on the material of the Russian Empire on the eve of and during the Russian-Japanese war of 1904–1905 analyzes mechanisms of actualization and politicization of ethnicity under the influence of processes that occur in the international arena. Having considered the transformation of the Russian socio-political discourse about the Japanese who lived in Russia at the turn of the 19th–20th century Ya.Guzei shows how, as the dispute with Japan escalated into the armed conflict, ethnicity turned into the distinguishing feature of the Japanese in the symbolic field of the Russian Empire, transforming the previously unnoticed migrants into the nation hostile towards the Russian national interests.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-162-174


Gubernatorial Readings

Russian Literature and Russian Way Twenty-First Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, April 27th, 2015

Keywords: culture, education, Russian literature, Russian way, Russian society

The material published here is a report on the Twenty-First Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, April 27th, 2015, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the Readings being interdependence and mutual influence of the Russian literature and the Russian society and a lecturer – A.N.Varlamov, Professor, Doctor of Philological Sciences, Acting Rector of the Maxim Gorky Literature Institute, Editor-in-Chief of the journal Literary Studies.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-78-3-175-193

Содержание выпуска № 3, 2015

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 3, 2015

Скачать № 3 (78) целиком.

Политические теории

С.И.Каспэ

Против автономного субъекта: как нельзя и как можно исправить политическую форму

Ключевые слова: автономия, субъект, политическое, политическая форма, политическое зло, российская политика

Продолжая разработку проблематики политической формы, начатую в серии своих предыдущих исследований, С.Каспэ обращается к теме автономного субъекта – то есть того, кто эту форму производит и устанавливает. Вскрывая внутреннюю контингентность обоих понятий, прочно вошедших в язык политической философии и политической науки, автор показывает, что распространенные в России упования на автономию субъекта как на лучшее средство исправления политической формы безосновательны. Неавтономные субъекты в автономном политическом – таково то состояние, к которому, по мнению Каспэ, следует двигаться российскому обществу.


А.И.Швырков

Теория демократии как аналог научно-исследовательской программы

Ключевые слова: теория демократии, научно-исследовательская программа, ядро программы, пояс защитных гипотез

В статье обосновывается возможность применения теории научно-исследовательских программ И.Лакатоса к массиву теорий, именуемому теорией демократии. Убедительно продемонстрировав, что при всех отличиях гуманитарных наук от наук естественных соответствующий массив может рассматриваться как аналог того, что Лакатос обозначает в качестве научно-исследовательской программы, А.Швырков выделяет и описывает ядро данного массива, его положительную и отрицательную эвристики, пояс защитных гипотез. Проведенный автором анализ приводит его к заключению, что теория демократии как аналог научно-исследовательской программы прошла пик своего развития и вступила в фазу стагнации.

Парадигмы общественного развития

А.С.Ахременко, И.М.Локшин, Е.А.Юрескул

Экономический рост и выбор политического курса в авторитарных режимах: «недостающее звено»

Ключевые слова: продуктивность факторов производства, политический курс, экономический рост

Статья посвящена вопросу о том, каковы условия, создающие возможности для экономического роста в авторитарном контексте. На основе анализа динамической математической модели авторы демонстрируют, что с точки зрения перспектив экономического роста в недемократических режимах совокупная продуктивность факторов производства (TFP) имеет даже большее значение, чем длинный горизонт планирования у вовлеченных сторон. Согласно их заключению, именно TFP является ключевым фактором, определяющим устойчивость экономики по отношению к неудачным политическим решениям. Кроме того, при высоких значениях TFP легче согласовывать экономические интересы разных групп общества. Использованный в статье подход к моделированию экономической политики позволяет учитывать сразу три уровня объяснения экономических успехов и неудач: уровень конкретных решений по поводу экономического курса, уровень институтов и уровень фундаментальных характеристик экономики, определяющих перспективы экономического развития.

Постсоветское пространство

Л.Е.Бляхер

Этнизация и вторичная русификация пространства «имперских» городов (Случай Душанбе)

Ключевые слова: империя, имперский город, местное сообщество, Таджикистан, Душанбе

В статье раскрывается роль Душанбе как имперского города в социальном пространстве Таджикистана. Внимательно проанализировав те функции, которые выполнял Душанбе и его русскоязычные жители во внутренней структуре таджикского сообщества в советское время, Л.Бляхер показывает, что эти функции не утратили своей актуальности и с распадом СССР. По его заключению, идентификация в рамках «русского» города Душанбе с его изначальной вырванностью из местных территориальных общностей оказалась сегодня одним из немногих вариантов таджикской политической идентификации, способной послужить базой для формирования политической нации. И поскольку русские как таковые уехали, формируется слой «таджикских русских» (этнических таджиков, воспринявших русский язык и культуру), которые и составляют основу населения Душанбе. Благодаря своей «русскости» они могут подняться над локальной идентичностью, тем самым позволяя сохраняться общему балансу сил в республике.


А.В.Коротаев, Л.М.Исаев

Украинская мозаика (Опыт количественного анализа украинской избирательной статистики)

Ключевые слова: Украина, выборы, Янукович, Партия регионов, количественный анализ

На основе математического анализа электоральной статистики А.Коротаев и Л.Исаев приходятк выводу, что В.Янукович потерял Украину задолго до событий 2013–2014 гг. Проведенное ими исследование показывает, что для большей части поддерживавшего Партию регионов юго-востока страны еще до начала этих событий был характерен очень высокий уровень политической пассивности, что контрастировало с Центральной и особенно Западной Украиной, а также Киевом, где высокая политическая активность населения сочеталась с прооранжевыми настроениями. Тем самым к ноябрю 2013 г. Янукович оказался в крайне невыгодном положении, которое во многом и обусловило его падение.

Антитеза

Л.Г.Фишман

Идеология и победа

Ключевые слова: идеология, День Победы, национальное примирение

В статье предложен альтернативный подход к осмыслению Дня Победы как праздника, чья идеологическая составляющая не сводится ни к официально декларируемой, ни к обличаемой оппозицией его стороне. По оценке Л.Фишмана, День Победы в известном смысле архетипичен, и эта архетипичность не ограничивается его конъюнктурной политико-символической нагрузкой. Подлинная подоплека этого праздника в современной России такова, что в ней в значительной мере обнажается сама природа идеологии. Поэтому роль праздника 9 мая как праздника Победы в войне имеет смысл анализировать с точки зрения природы идеологии. Считая, что ключевым понятием здесь является именно «победа», а не связанная с нею дата, Фишман раскрывает то содержание, которое, пусть не всегда сознательно, вкладывается правящими элитами в празднование Победы.


Д.А.Давыдов

Россия: от общества с рентной экономикой к рентному обществу

Ключевые слова: рентное общество, рента, капитализм, социализм

Развивая идею о постепенной трансформации капитализма в рентное общество, высказанную в статье, написанной в соавторстве с Л.Фишманом (см. Полития, 2015, № 1), Д.Давыдов обращается к анализу специфики России как становящегося рентного общества. По его оценке, рентная проблематика в нашей стране не исчерпывается «нефтяной иглой», а затрагивает широкий спектр рентных по своей сущности отношений. В ходе обоснования данного тезиса, автор рассматривает совокупность факторов, благоприятствующих становлению в России рентного общества, показывая, что, в отличие от западных стран, где подобное общество теоретически может быть устойчивой формацией, в российских условиях скатывание в рентное состояние чревато экономической катастрофой.

Внешнеполитический ракурс

А.Н.Смирнов

Испытание Украиной (Польские консерваторы в поисках внешнеполитической стратегии)

Ключевые слова: правые консерваторы, либеральные консерваторы, внешнеполитическая стратегия, евроинтеграция, Евросоюз, геополитика

Драматические события на Украине, связанные с «майданной революцией» 2014 г., имели громадный внешнеполитический резонанс. По ряду причин, в том числе исторического характера, более других европейских стран в украинские дела оказалась вовлечена Польша. Как же выглядит польская стратегия в отношении Украины и каким образом она реализуется? В поисках ответа на этот сложносоставной вопрос А.Смирнов рассматривает позицию польских правых консерваторов, представляющую собой любопытный синтез общезападных, европейских и национально-патриотических доминант политического сознания.

Историческая ретроспектива: размышления и гипотезы

А.Н.Марьин-Островский

Дезинтеграция системы прав собственности в СССР: 1985–1991 гг.

Ключевые слова: институт собственности, неформальная экономическая активность, управленческий контроль, поздний СССР

В статье, продолжающей цикл работ автора, посвященных исследованию процессов становления института собственности в России (см. Полития, 2009, № 4; Полития, 2013, № 4), предпринята попытка проанализировать трансформацию системы прав собственности в позднем СССР в период с 1985 по 1991 г. Именно в эти годы происходит дезинтеграция сложившегося в СССР института собственности и зарождаются протоэлементы той системы прав собственности, которая утвердится в постсоветской России.


Я.С.Гузей

Этничность и война (Японские мигранты в общественно-политическом дискурсе Российской империи накануне и во время Русско-японской войны 1904–1905 гг.)

Ключевые слова: этничность, Российская империя, японские мигранты, общественно-политический дискурс, Русско-японская война

В статье на материале Российской империи в период Русско-японской войны 1904–1905 гг. анализируются механизмы актуализации и политизации этничности под влиянием процессов, происходящих на внешнеполитической арене. Рассмотрев трансформацию российского общественно-политического дискурса о японцах, проживавших в России на рубеже XIX–XX в., Я.Гузей показывает, как по мере перерастания разногласий с Японией в вооруженный конфликт этничность становится знаковой характеристикой японцев в символическом поле Российской империи, превращая ранее незаметных мигрантов в нацию, враждебную российским государственным интересам.


Губернаторские чтения

Русская литература и российский путь (Двадцать первые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 27 апреля 2015 г.)

Ключевые слова: культура, образование, русская литература, российский путь, российское общество

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Двадцатых первых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 27 апреля 2015 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – взаимозависимость и взаимовлияние русской литературы и российского общества, лектор – и.о. ректора Литературного института имени А.М.Горького, главный редактор журнала «Литературная учеба», доктор филологических наук, профессор А.Н.Варламов.