Abstracts 3, 2017

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 3, 2017

Download 3 (86).

Paradigms of social development

Leonid Fishman

Does Modern Mass Conciousness Exist?

Keywords: Modernity, archaic, mass consciousness, technosphere, machinery, political consciousness, schizophrenic consciousness, ideology, mythology

Does modern mass consciousness actually exist? To answer this question L. Fishman draws attention to a paradox in social studies. On the one hand, mass consciousness is known to stem from everyday routine, on the other hand, the studies of real mass consciousness tend to focus on its superficial manifestations determined by political ideologies, ephemeral states of mind, manipulative influence of the mass media, etc. Moreover, most popular socio-philosophical concepts describe Modernity as devoid of its own constants of being. Hence, it becomes impossible to single out modern mass consciousness, which succumbs to the association with pre-modern heritage. Fishman offers an alternative approach to studying modern mass consciousness as determined by lifestyle in technogenic environment and uses Russian and foreign realities to analyze some elements of this consciousness.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-6-24

Electoral Process

Alexander Kynev

Disproportional Russia. Territorial Representation in State Duma under Proportional Electoral System

Keywords: electoral systems, political representation, center-regions relations

A.Kynev analyzes the results of Duma elections in 1993—2016 to show that the Russian model of mandates’ distribution within party lists leads to a significant distortion of regional representation in favor of the regions with the least competitive elections. Such model also stipulates the replacement of party competition with competition between regions and transforms elections into the battle of administrative resources, which encourages local governments to engage in election fraud. This results in even lower level of party competition as well as diminishes parties’ influence in general. According to Kynev, only radical reform of electoral model can fix the status quo. Electoral system should guarantee that territories obtain an adequate representation in parliament in proportion to the number of voters in these territories.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-25-41


Rostislav Turovsky, Yury Gaivoronsky

Economic Influence on Electoral Behavior in Russia: is "Contract" Between Power and Society Working?

Keywords: elections, electoral behavior, economic voting, regions of Russia

The article studies the influence of economic factors on the electoral behavior of Russians during the federal parliamentary elections in 2003—2016. The conducted research proved the existence of the so-called “Putin contract”, but also revealed a number of patterns that partially contradict initial assumptions. According to their statistical model, in dynamics economic voting in Russia manifests itself as an exchange of population’s loyalty for medium-term economic growth and lower poverty levels. However, this is different from “voting with your wallet” and seeking immediate benefits, which, acording to R.Turovsky and Yu. Gaivoronsky, partly explains the absence of the negative trend in the performance of the “United Russia” in 2016 elections: two years of crisis were not enough for the electorate to lose trust in current power that earned a certain level of credibility.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-42-61


Alexei Gilev, Andrey Semenov, Irina Shevtsova

"Political Machines" and their "Drivers": Electoral Administration at Local Level

Keywords: local politics, political machines, elections, sub-national politics

A.Gilev, A.Semenov and I.Shevtsova analyze correlation between professional career of local authorities and electoral results of the “party of power”, appealing to the explanatory power of a “political machine” concept and relying on the database that includes biographies of municipal heads in three Russian regions. The study shows that heads of local governments, who previously held positions of a deputy mayor, heads of departments or other high posts in local administration, secure better electoral results for the “party of power’ than those with business or legislative backgrounds. Skills of managing local “political machines” are formed within the executive branch, and the “machines” themselves are quite stable. Thus, mobilization of such “machines” does not require either long training or extraordinary abilities from new leaders.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-62-80

Political theories

Anatoly Kaniukov

Presupposition of Trust

Keywords: political trust, faith, communication, presupposition

The article is devoted to the phenomenon of political trust. Drawing an analogy with the role of presuppositions in a language, A.Kaniukov ana- lyzes the role of trust in a political space and identifies a number of ways to further our understanding of this concept. The article raises a series of ques- tions, including whether political trust is real, in what ways the concept of trust relates to the concept of confidence, how this phenomenon relates to religion and fanaticism, and whether trust can be viewed as a process of communication. Particular attention is paid to understanding the relation- ship between trust and faith. The author concludes that recognizing the enormous role of faith in the political process should increase the society’s ability to resist political manipulation. Understanding that there is no place for knowledge in the political space, and there is only faith, will promote the development of critical thinking and tolerance and, as a result, contribute to the development of civil society.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-81-98

Historical Retrospective: Contemplations and Hypotheses

Andrey Shcherbak, Yana Gerina, Daria Berdyuzhenko, Alina Mendygalieva, Anastasia Zaitseva

Foreign Policy Influence on USSR's Ethnic Policy

Keywords: nationalism, ethnic policy of the USSR, foreign policy of the USSR, geopolitical theory of Collins

The article explores the reasons behind the ebbs and flows in the Soviet ethnic policy. Building on the geopolitical theory of R.Collins, the authors hypothesize that the ethnic policy of the USSR was closely connected with its foreign policy. The authors study the dynamics of the Soviet ethnic policy and compare it with the dynamics of geopolitical tensions to conclude that the changes in priorities that defined the principles of interethnic relations in the USSR at least in part depended on the level of geopolitical tensions in the international arena. At the times when “peaceful coexistence” prevailed in foreign policy, the Soviet leadership pursued the policy of “indigenization”, encouraged the development of ethnic minorities, nurtured their cultures and identity. The escalation of the international conflict bred the need for national unity, which spurred shifts towards the policy of Russification.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-99-116

Religion and Politics

Anna Kulkova

Religion or Communist Legacy?Influence of Religion on Attitudes towards Welfare State in European Countries

Keywords: welfare state, religion, religiosity, Catholicism, Protestantism, Orthodox Christianity

The article examines the influence of religion on the attitudes of Europe- ans towards the welfare state. A.Kulkova performs multilevel statistical analyses of the data from the fourth wave of the European Social Survey conducted in 27 European countries to conclude that individual religiosity, as well as the affiliation with the Catholic or Protestant tradition, has a negative impact on the perception of the welfare state. Contrary to that, Orthodox Christianity at both the individual and country levels is associated with an increased support for redistribution. At the same time, while there is a pronounced negative relationship between religiosity and the attitudes towards the welfare state in the countries without a communist past, in the post-communist countries, the higher levels of religiosity have almost no effect on the attitudes towards redistribution.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-117-135

Cathedra

Alexander Ostroverkhov

In Searching for Theory of One-Party Dominance: World Experience of Studying Dominant-Party Systems (I)

Keywords: theory of one-party dominance, dominant party, one-party dominance cycle, Maurice Duverger, Giovanni Sartori

The article reviews more than 65-year experience of studying dominant-party systems based on the analysis of a set of empirical and theoretical works devoted to the phenomenon of one-party dominance. In the first part of the article published in this issue A.Ostroverkhov examines the stages of one-party dominance conceptualization and compares the main approaches to defining a dominant party and a dominant-party system, revealing insurmountable contradictions between Political Sociology and Political Science regarding this problem. If Political Sociology views one-party dominance as a predominant influence of a particular party in a society caused by certain socio-psychological, cultural-historical, economic and politico-legal reasons, Political Science views it as a merely quantitative superiority of the ruling party over its rivals.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-136-153

Gubernatorial readings

Policy as Public Administration, Public Administration as Policy: Recruting Leaders and Elites in Contemporary World (Twenty-ninth Gubernatiorial Readings. Tyumen, June 6th, 2017)

Keywords: political elite, state management, management apparatus, recruitment channels

The material published here is a report on the Twenty-Ninth Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, June 6th, 2017, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region. The topic of the Readings is the channels and mechanisms of recruiting political elites and the effectiveness of public administration. The lecture is delivered by O.V. Gaman-Golutvina, the President of the Russian Association of Political Science, Chair of the Department of Comparative Political Science, Moscow State Institute of International Relations (University) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Professor-Researcher at the Higher School of Economics.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-154-180

Book Review

Andrey Teslya

Inconceivable Object.Pierre Bourdieu on Production of Monopoly on the Official and Universal (Bourdieu P. On the State: Lectures at the Coll ge de France (19891992) / Ed. by P.Champagne, R.Lenoir, F.Pupo, M.-K.Rivier; translated from French by D.Kralechkin and P.Kushnareva; foreword by A.Bikbov. M.: Publishing House Delo, RANEPA, 2016)

Keywords: Pierre Bourdieu, state, legitimacy, universal, official

Although P.Bourdieu’s course of lectures on the state (published in Russian in 2016) first appeared a quarter of a century ago, it is still interesting today and not solely as a monument to the social and theoretical thought. A.Teslya believes that from the contemporary perspective the main question to this work is about the state’s loss of monopoly on the universal that has become obvious over the past decades. According to Bourdieu’s logic, the state, while remaining the main creator of the official, is now increasingly losing its status of the universal. In other words, its role as a source of legitimate violence is no longer indisputable. The state is less able to act as a field of fields and represents only one of the fields among others. This raises the problem of the production of order, because the possibility for different groups to obtain benefits from what Bourdieu calls “logical and moral integration” is determined by the order itself being a common good.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-181-187


Elvira Leontyeva

Informal Economy: a Model Kit.(Barsukova S.Yu. Essay on the Informal Economy, or 16 Shades of Gray. 2nd edition. M.: The Higher School of Economics Publishing House, 2017)

Keywords: informal economy, Political Science, constructivist approach

E.Leontyeva highly praises S.Barsukova’s book and believes that the book is extremely useful for political scientists who are trying to understand the organization of political reality that falls outside the sphere of attention of the traditional Political Science. The book is organized as a series of essays devoted to the most famous concepts of informality. It represents an independent composition that puts all analyzed researchers and their ideas into a single semantic field rather than a mere collection of reviews. The author treats this semantic field as a panoramic vision of the informal economy, in which individual fragments, sorted out on the basis of the reviewed books, become the fundamental “bricks” of the construction. As a result, we can see the gradual “manifestation” of informality, which is usually hidden not only from the eyes of a man in the street or a policy maker, but also those of a researcher.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2017-86-3-188-193

Содержание выпуска № 3, 2017

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 3, 2017

Скачать № 3 (86) целиком.

Парадигмы общественного развития

Л.Г.Фишман

Существует ли современное массовое сознание?

Ключевые слова: Современность, архаика, массовое сознание, техносфера, техника, политическое сознание, шизофреническое сознание, идеология, мифология

Существует ли собственно современное массовое сознание? В поисках ответа на этот вопрос Л.Фишман обращает внимание на парадоксальную ситуацию, сложившуюся в общественных науках: с одной стороны, общепризнанно, что истоки массового сознания кроются в повседневной практике людей, с другой стороны, когда речь заходит о реальном массовом сознании, дело чаще всего сводится к изучению поверхностного его слоя, обусловленного политическими идеологиями, мимолетными настроениями, манипулятивным воздействием СМИ и т.д. Ситуация усугубляется тем, что в рамках ряда популярных социально-философских концепций сама Современность описывается как лишенная собственных констант бытия. Соответственно, оказывается невозможно вычленить и собственно современное массовое сознание, которое так или иначе связывается с разного рода досовременным наследием. В качестве альтернативы такому подходу Фишман предлагает рассматривать современное массовое сознание как обусловленное жизнью в техногенной среде и на российском и зарубежном материале анализирует некоторые элементы этого сознания.

Электоральные процессы

А.В.Кынев

Диспропорциональная Россия (Территориальное представительство в Государственной Думе при выборах по пропорциональной системе)

Ключевые слова: избирательные системы, политическое представительство, отношения центр–регионы

На основе анализа результатов думских выборов 1993–2016 гг. А. Кынев показывает, что используемая в России модель распределения мандатов внутри партийных списков ведет к существенным искажениям регионального представительства в пользу регионов с наименее конкурентными выборами. Другим следствием подобной модели является фактическая замена межпартийной конкуренции конкуренцией межрегиональной и превращение выборов в борьбу административных ресурсов, что стимулирует региональные власти к электоральным фальсификациям. В итоге общий уровень межпартийной конкуренции, как и влияние политических партий в целом, еще больше падает. Исправить сложившуюся ситуацию, по мнению Кынева, способно лишь радикальное изменение электоральной формулы. Избирательная система должна гарантировать территориям представительство в парламенте, адекватное численности их избирателей.


Р.Ф.Туровский, Ю.О.Гайворонский

Влияние экономики на электоральное поведение в России: работает ли «контракт» власти и общества?

Ключевые слова: выборы, электоральное поведение, экономическое голосование, регионы России

Статья посвящена анализу влияния экономических факторов на электоральное поведение россиян на федеральных парламентских выборах 2003–2016 гг. Проведенное авторами исследование подтвердило наличие так называемого «путинского контракта», но в то же время выявило ряд особенностей, которые частично идут вразрез с предварительными предположениями. Согласно результатам статистического моделирования, экономическое голосование в России проявляется в динамике как обмен лояльности населения на экономический рост и снижение уровня бедности в среднесрочной перспективе. Но это не «голосование кошельком» и не поиск сиюминутной выгоды, что, по мнению Р.Туровского и Ю.Гайворонского, отчасти объясняет отсутствие негативной динамики в результатах «Единой России» на выборах 2016 г.: двух лет кризиса оказалось недостаточно для того, чтобы электорат разочаровался в действующей власти, заработавшей определенный кредит доверия.


А.В.Гилев, А.В.Семенов, И.К.Шевцова

«Политические машины» и их «водители»: электоральное администрирование на местном уровне

Ключевые слова: локальная политика, политические машины, выборы, субнациональная политика

Используя объяснительный потенциал концепции «политической машины» и опираясь на базу данных, включающую в себя биографии глав муниципалитетов трех российских регионов, А.Гилев, А.Семенов и И.Шевцова анализируют влияние профессиональной траектории местных руководителей на электоральные результаты «партии власти». Проведенное ими исследование показывает, что главы муниципалитетов, занимавшие ранее посты заместителей мэра, руководителей департаментов и других структурных подразделений администрации муниципального образования, обеспечивают «партии власти» более успешное выступление на выборах, нежели выходцы из бизнеса или из законодательной власти. Навыки управления локальными «политическими машинами» формируются внутри исполнительной власти, а сами эти «машины» достаточно устойчивы, и их мобилизация не требует от вновь пришедших руководителей длительного обучения или каких бы то ни было особых качеств.

Политические теории

А.Н.Канюков

Пресуппозиция доверия

Ключевые слова: политическое доверие, вера, коммуникация, пресуппозиция

Статья посвящена феномену политического доверия. Проведя аналогию с пресуппозицией в языке, А.Канюков анализирует бытование концепта доверия в политическом пространстве и выделяет ряд возможных направлений дальнейшего его осмысления. В статье ставится вопрос о реальности политического доверия, о соотношении концептов доверия и уверенности, о связи феномена доверия с религией и фанатизмом, о доверии как о процессе коммуникации. Особое внимание уделено обоснованию взаимосвязи между доверием и верой. По заключению автора, осознание огромной роли веры в политических процессах должно повысить резистентность общества к манипуляциям со стороны политиков. Понимание того, что в политическом пространстве нет знания, а есть лишь вера, будет способствовать развитию критического мышления и толерантности и в конечном счете стимулировать развитие гражданского общества.

Историческая ретроспектива: размышления и гипотезы

А.Н.Щербак, Я.Я.Герина, Д.А.Бердюженко, А.Б.Мендыгалиева, А.В.Зайцева

Влияние внешней политики на национальную политику СССР

Ключевые слова: национализм, национальная политика СССР, внешняя политика СССР, геополитическая теория Коллинза

В статье исследуются причины «волнообразного» характера советской национальной политики. Опираясь не геополитическую теорию Р.Коллинза, авторы формулируют гипотезу, согласно которой национальная политика в СССР была тесно связана с политикой внешней. Проанализировав чередование волн в советской национальной политике и сопоставив его с динамикой геополитической напряженности, авторы приходят к выводу, что смена приоритетов в определении принципов межэтнических отношений в СССР как минимум частично зависела от уровня геополитического напряжения на международной арене. Когда во внешней политике преобладало «мирное сосуществование», советское руководство готово было проводить политику «коренизации», поощрять развитие этнических меньшинств, поддерживать национальные культуры и национальные идентичности. Когда же международная обстановка накалялась, возрастала потребность в национальном единении, стимулировавшая переход к политике русификации.

Религия и политика

А.Ю.Кулькова

Религия или коммунистическое наследие? (Влияние религии на отношение к государству благосостояния в странах Европы)

Ключевые слова: государство благосостояния, религия, религиозность, католицизм, протестантизм, православие

В статье рассматривается влияние религии на отношение европейцев к государству благосостояния. На основе многоуровневого статистического анализа данных четвертой волны Европейского социального исследования по 27 странам Европы А.Кулькова приходит к выводу, что индивидуальная религиозность, равно как и принадлежность к католической или протестантской традиции, оказывает негативное влияние на восприятие государства благосостояния. Напротив, православию как на индивидуальном, так и на страновом уровне сопутствует повышенная поддержка перераспределения. При этом если в странах без коммунистического прошлого негативная взаимосвязь между религиозностью и отношением к государству благосостояния четко выражена, то в посткоммунистических странах усиление религиозности практически не сказывается на отношении к перераспределению.

Кафедра

А.А.Островерхов

В поисках теории однопартийного господства: мировой опыт изучения систем с доминантной партией (I)

Ключевые слова: теория однопартийного господства, доминантная партия, цикл однопартийного доминирования, Морис Дюверже, Джованни Сартори

В статье предпринята попытка обобщить более чем 65-летний опыт изучения систем с доминантной партией на основе анализа массива эмпирических и теоретических работ, посвященных феномену однопартийного господства. В первой части статьи, публикуемой в этом номере, А.Островерхов рассматривает этапы концептуализации однопартийного господства и сравнивает основные подходы к определению доминантной партии и системы с доминантной партией, вскрывая непреодолимые противоречия между политической социологией и политической наукой при обращении к данной проблематике. Если в рамках политической социологии однопартийное господство трактуется как преимущественное влияние конкретной партии в обществе, вызванное определенными социально-психологическими, культурно-историческими, экономическими и политико-правовыми причинами, то в рамках политической науки под ним понимается лишь количественное превосходство правящей партии над соперниками.

Губернаторские чтения

Политика как управление, управление как политика: рекрутирование лидеров и элит в современном мире (Двадцать девятые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 6 июня 2017 г.)

Ключевые слова: политическая элита, государственное управление, управленческий аппарат, каналы рекрутирования

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Двадцать девятых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 6 июня 2017 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – каналы и механизмы рекрутирования политических элит и эффективность государственного управления, лектор – президент Российской ассоциации политической науки, зав. кафедрой сравнительной политологии МГИМО(У) МИД РФ, профессор-исследователь Высшей школы экономики О.В.Гаман-Голутвина.

Размышляя над прочитанным

А.А.Тесля

Немыслимый предмет (Пьер Бурдье о производстве монополии на официальное и универсальное) Бурдье П. О государстве: Курс лекций в Коллеж де Франс (1989—1992) / Ред.-сост. П.Шампань, Р.Ленуар, Ф.Пупо, М.-К.Ривьер; пер. с фр. Д.Кралечкина и П.Кушнаревой; предисл. А.Бикбова. — М.: Издательский дом «Дело» РАНХиГС, 2016

Ключевые слова: Пьер Бурдье, государство, легитимность, универсальное, официальное

Хотя курс лекций о государстве П.Бурдье, изданный на русском языке в 2016 г., был прочитан четверть века назад, он и сегодня интересен не только как памятник социально-теоретической мысли. Базовый вопрос, который возникает при современном обращении к нему, как полагает А.Тесля, связан со ставшей очевидной за последние десятилетия утратой государством монополии на универсальное. Если следовать предложенной Бурдье логике, то государство, оставаясь главным создателем официального, сейчас все больше утрачивает статус универсального. Иными словами, его роль источника легитимного насилия уже не бесспорна, оно все меньше способно выступать в качестве поля полей, оказываясь лишь одним из полей в ряду других, что порождает проблему производства порядка. Ведь возможность получения отдельными группами выгоды от «логической и моральной интеграции», о которой пишет Бурдье, определяется тем, что сам порядок выступает благом для многих.


Э.О.Леонтьева

Неформальная экономика: модель для сборки Барсукова С.Ю. Эссе о неформальной экономике, или 16 оттенков серого. 2-е изд. — М.: Издательский дом Высшей школы экономики, 2017

Ключевые слова: неформальная экономика, политическая наука, конструктивистский подход

Высоко оценивая книгу С.Барсуковой, Э.Леонтьева полагает, что знакомство с ней будет крайне полезным для политологов, стремящихся понять, как устроена политическая реальность, остающаяся вне сферы внимания традиционной политической науки. Будучи построена как цикл эссе, посвященных наиболее известным концепциям неформальности, эта книга представляет собой не сборник рецензий, а некую самостоятельную композицию, сводящую всех проанализированных исследователей и их идеи в единое смысловое поле. Для автора это смысловое поле есть панорамное видение неформальной экономики, в котором отдельные фрагменты, выделенные на основе прочитанных книг, становятся фундаментальными «кирпичиками» конструкции. Речь идет о постепенном «проявлении» неформальности, обычно скрытой не только от взгляда обывателя или нормотворца, но и от взгляда исследователя.