Abstracts 4, 2012

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 4, 2012

Political Theories

Svyatoslav Kaspe

ON NOTION OF POLITICAL FORM

Keywords: political form, metaphor, center, hierarchy, city, nation, empire

What is political form? What is it as an analytical category and as a political thing that it represents? After raising this question and realizing that there is no explicit and operational definition of political form in the scientific literature, S.Kaspe offers his own definition: “the integrated composition of mutually complementary spatial metaphors of authority that under certain conditions of time and place for a certain polity (or ensemble of polities) plays the role that is simultaneously descriptive, ascriptive and prescriptive, constitutes that very form of the polity (or ensemble of polities)”. Such view allows him to make several nontrivial observations regarding the modern state of the Western political form and its prospects.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-5-28

Ideologies

Leonid Polyakov

TOWARD STUDYING RUSSIAN CONSERVATISM: HISTORY AND METHOD

Keywords: conservatism, Russian context, conceptualization, methodological strategy

Having stated that authentic history of the Russian conservatism in all of its important aspects has not been restored yet, L.Polyakov concentrates his efforts on solving two tasks: testing to what extent the view that the modern Russian conservatism is rested not only upon the Soviet and emigrant conservative “underground”, but also on the rich conservative tradition of the 19th – the beginning of the 20th century is adequate, and inventorying cognitive tools that help us to research, describe and classify the very phenomenon that is termed as “conservatism”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-29-44


Dmitry Anashkin

CHURCH CONSERVATISM IN MODERN SOCIETY

Keywords: Russian Orthodox ChurchOutside of Russia, modern society, emigration, clergy, conservatism

On the basis of the experience of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia in building relationships with the state power, society and its own flock D.Anashkin shows that the Church is capable of carrying out its service in the modern society without abandoning its inherent conservatism. In order to function efficiently in the secular world, the Church does not have to fall into the reckless reforms since careful preservation of the canons, tenets and liturgical rite that were accumulated during centuries is far from being equivalent to transforming into the bygone epochs relic. The author concludes that the most important for the Church is to preserve its independence since it is the only case when its free voice can be heard.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-45-64

Russian Polity

Vladimir Gelman

THE RISE AND DECLINE OF ELECTORAL authoritarianism IN RUSSIA

Keywords: political regime, electoral authoritarianism, Russia, democratization

Nowadays almost none of the serious-minded specialists uses the term “democracy” when talking about the situation in Russia. According to the opinion of many experts, the political regime that was established in the country should be qualified as electoral authoritarianism. What are the key parameters of the Russian version of such regime type, reasons for its emergence, mechanisms of its sustainment and possible trajectories of changes? Searching for answers to these questions V.Gel’man analyzes institutional and political factors that are responsible for the rise and consequent decline of the Russian electoral authoritarianism, considers main stages of its establishment and development, discusses variants and prospects of its transformation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-65-88


Leonid Bliakher, Nikolai Pegin

CORRUPTION AS POLITICAL PROBLEM: WHO, HOW AND WHY FIGHTS CORRUPTION IN RUSSIA

Keywords: corruption, anticorruption discourse, administrative market, “benefits of illegality”

The article is devoted to analyzing the reasons that encouraged actualization of the corruption topic in the Russian society. Tying the evolution of anticorruption discourse to the twists and turns of the post-Soviet Russian political history, the authors show why corruption that was so obvious in the 1990s was neither purposefully curbed nor even viewed as an acute problem, whereas in the 2000s, when there was significantly less corruption in its legal understanding, all of a sudden it moved to the front of the public opinion and then, in the 2010s, it transformed from being a social and economic problem that it used to be during the whole previous time period, into the highly important political problem.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-89-103

Russian Regions

Tatyana Zhuravskaya

CHINESE SHOPPING center VS. CHINESE MARKET: WHAT CHANGED AFTER BAN ON FOREIGN TRADERS IN RETAIL MARKETs Case of the Amur region

Keywords: policy implementation, foreign labor force, “ethnical market”, Chinese shopping center

In the article the author considers implications of the ban on foreign traders in retail markets on the material of the Amur region. Having analyzed the results of such ban from the view angle of articulated motivations for its introduction (creating new jobs, changing the format of trade and decreasing unaccounted turnover), T.Zhuravskaya comes to the conclusion that none of the defined goals were accomplished: the mechanisms of conducting business became even less transparent, the format of trade hardly changed, the opened shopping centers were filled with the same migrants, whereas the local entrepreneurs not only failed to gain anything, but also found themselves in the situation of dishonest competition.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-104-123


Yegor Galkin

GLOBAL CITY IN FAR EAST: STRATEGIC direction OR potemkin village?

Keywords: APEC, “Eastern direction”, Asian-Pacific Region, global city, local community, Vladivostok

The article analyzes the prospects of transforming Vladivostok into the global city in the East of the country. Having considered the factors that underlie the corresponding plans, Ye.Galkin demonstrates that today these plans contradict interests of the local community that for now rejects the idea of including the city into the global space.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-124-133

Foreign polities

Victor Sergeev, Sevak Sarukhanyan

MODERNIZATION AND POLITICAL ISLAM IN TURKEY

Keywords: Turkey, modernization, liberal democracy, political Islam

Having thoroughly analyzed history of the emergence of the Turkish secular state and its consequent transformation, V.Sergeyev and S.Sarukhanyan draw the conclusion that it is wrong to explain success of political Islam in Turkey only by the current political conjuncture or charismatic qualities of Recep Erdogan. According to their assessment, political Islam in the country will continue to be enhanced. At the same time, the authors show that the victory over kemalist institutions is nowhere near the statement that the “Turkish model” of political Islam succeeded. In reality it is still at the stage of development and will soon face serious challenges with the main one being ideological.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-134-151

Antithesis

Nikolai Rozov

PURPOSE AND VALUES OF NEW CONSTITUTION

Keywords: constitution, political and legal structure, values, liberalism, etatism

In the article the author discusses the most important philosophical and political questions regarding the potential renewal of the Russian constitution. Being confident that the elaboration of alternative versions of the Basic law should be conducted without looking back at the possible distribution of political forces that will occur by the moment of constitution review, N.Rozov proposes and justifies doctrine of civil-state partnership contrasting it with the extreme versions of etatism, liberalism and “life arrangement”.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-152-168

Practical sociology

Sergey Khaykin, Nikolai Popov

PROBLEMS OF NORTH CAUCASUS AND EFFICIENCY OF STATE POLICY IN LOCAL POPULATION ASSESSMENTS

Keywords: republics of the North Caucasus, socio-economic problems, public opinion, state policy, protest sentiments

On the basis of the materials of the comprehensive sociological research project "Public opinion and efficiency of state policy in the North Caucasus" conducted in 2011 by the Institute of Social Marketing, the article considers the key problems of the North Caucasus and their reflection in the consciousness of the local inhabitants. According to the authors’ conclusion, the Caucasus is a seething region and it creates difficulties for the rest of Russia because it is the region of the integral socio-economic distress and acute ethno-confessional controversies. Overcoming these problems requires significant increase in the efficiency of state policy and its adjustment to the real demands and needs of the population.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-169-185


Gubernatorial Readings

RESOURCE CURSE: MYTH OR REALITY? Tenth Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, October 9th, 2012

Keywords: “resource curse”, raw-material economy,oil and gas complex,Tyumen region

The material published here is a report on the Tenth Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, October 9th, 2012, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic being the impact of the resource abundance on the economic development and a lecturer – K.V.Simonov, Head of the National Energy Security Fund.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2012-67-4-186-200

Содержание выпуска № 4, 2012

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 4, 2012

Политические теории

С.И.Каспэ

О понятии политической формы

Ключевые слова: политическая форма, метафора, центр, иерархия, город, нация, империя

Что такое политическая форма? Что она такое как аналитическая категория и репрезентированная ею политическая вещь? Задавшись этим вопросом и обнаружив отсутствие в научной литературе эксплицитного и операционального определения политической формы, С.Каспэ предлагает свое: «та интегрированная композиция взаимно комплементарных пространственных метафор власти, которая в определенных условиях места и времени, для определенной политии (или для ансамбля политий) играет роль одновременно дескриптивную, аскриптивную и прескриптивную, и есть форма этой политии (или ансамбля политий)». Такой взгляд позволяет ему сделать ряд нетривиальных наблюдений относительно современного состояния западной политической формы и ее перспектив.

Идеологии

Л.В.Поляков

К изучению российского консерватизма: история и метод

Ключевые слова: консерватизм, российский контекст, концептуализация, методологическая стратегия

Констатировав, что аутентичная история отечественного консерватизма во всех его значимых аспектах еще не воссоздана, Л.Поляков концентрирует свои усилия на решении двух задач: тестировании степени адекватности представления о том, что современный российский консерватизм опирается не только на советское и эмигрантское консервативное «подполье», но и на богатую консервативную традицию XIX– начала XXв., и «инвентаризации» познавательного инструментария, с помощью которого мы исследуем, описываем и классифицируем сам феномен, обозначаемый термином «консерватизм».


Д.П.Анашкин

Церковный консерватизм в современном обществе

Ключевые слова: Русская православная церковь, современное общество, эмиграция, духовенство, консерватизм

На основе опыта Русской зарубежной церкви по выстраиванию отношений с государственной властью, социумом и собственной паствой Д.Анашкин показывает, что Церковь способна нести свое служение в современном обществе, не отказываясь от присущего ей консерватизма. Чтобы эффективно действовать в секулярном мире, Церкви вовсе не обязательно впадать в безоглядное реформирование, ибо бережное сохранение наработанных веками канонов, догматов и богослужебного чина отнюдь не равнозначно превращению в реликт ушедших эпох. По заключению автора, главное для Церкви – сохранять свою независимость, так как только тогда может быть слышен ее свободный голос.

Российская полития

В.Я.Гельман

Расцвет и упадок электорального авторитаризма в России

Ключевые слова: политический режим, электоральный авторитаризм, Россия, демократизация

В настоящее время почти никто из серьезных специалистов, говоря о положении дел в России, не использует термин «демократия. По мнению многих экспертов, сложившийся в стране политический режим следует квалифицировать как электоральный авторитаризм. Каковы же ключевые параметры российской версии режима подобного типа, причины ее возникновения, механизмы поддержания и возможные траектории изменений? В поисках ответов на эти вопросы В.Гельман анализирует институциональные и политические факторы, обусловившие расцвет и последующий упадок российского электорального авторитаризма, рассматривает основные этапы его становления и развития и обсуждает варианты и перспективы его трансформации.


Л.Е.Бляхер, Н.А.Пегин

Коррупция как политическая проблема: кто, как и зачем сражается с коррупцией в России

Ключевые слова: коррупция, антикоррупционный дискурс, административный рынок, «блага незаконности»

Статья посвящена исследованию причин, способствовавших актуализации темы коррупции в российском обществе. Связав эволюцию антикоррупционного дискурса с перипетиями политической истории постсоветской России, авторы показывают, почему коррупция, столь очевидная в 1990-е годы, не только не встречала особого противодействия, но и не воспринималась как острая проблема, в то время как в «нулевые», когда коррупции в ее юридическом понимании становится ощутимо меньше, она вдруг выходит на авансцену общественного внимания, а затем, уже в 2010-е, из проблемы социальной и экономической, каковой она оставалась на протяжении всего предшествующего периода, превращается в важнейшую политическую проблему.

Российские регионы

Т.Н.Журавская

«Китайский» торговый центр vs. «китайский» рынок: что изменилось со времени запрета на торговлю иностранцев на розничных рынках (На примере Амурской области)

Ключевые слова: реализация политического решения, иностранная рабочая сила, «этнический рынок», «китайский» торговый центр

В статье на материале Амурской области рассматриваются последствия запрета на торговлю иностранцев на розничных рынках. Проанализировав результаты такого запрета под углом зрения артикулированных мотивов его введения (высвобождение рабочих мест, изменение формата торговли и уменьшение неучтенного оборота), Т.Журавская приходит к выводу, что ни одна из поставленных задач не была реализована: механизмы ведения бизнеса стали еще менее прозрачными, формат торговли почти не изменился, открывшиеся торговые центры заполнили те же мигранты, а местные предприниматели не просто ничего не выиграли, но, наоборот, попали в ситуацию нечестной конкуренции.


Е.В.Галкин

Глобальный город на Дальнем Востоке: стратегическое направление или «потемкинская деревня»?

Ключевые слова: АТЭС, «восточное направление», АТР, глобальный город, локальное сообщество, Владивосток

В статье анализируются перспективы превращения Владивостока в глобальный город на востоке страны. Рассмотрев факторы, лежащие в основе соответствующих планов, Е.Галкин показывает, что в настоящее время эти планы вступают в противоречие с интересами локального сообщества, пока отторгающего идею включения города в глобальное пространство.

Зарубежные политии

В.М.Сергеев, С.Н.Саруханян

Модернизация и политический ислам в Турции

Ключевые слова: Турция, модернизация, либеральная демократия, политический ислам

Тщательно проанализировав историю возникновения турецкого светского государства и его последующую трансформацию, В.Сергеев и С.Саруханян приходят к заключению, что успех политического ислама в Турцииневерно объяснять исключительно текущей политической конъюнктурой или харизматическими качествами Реджепа Эрдогана. Согласно их оценке, политический ислам в стране будет укрепляться и дальше. Вместе с тем в статье показывается, что победа над кемалистскими институтами отнюдь не означает, что «турецкая модель» политического ислама состоялась. В действительности она все еще находится в стадии становления и вскоре столкнется с серьезными вызовами, главным из которых является идеологический.

Антитеза

Н.С.Розов

Предназначение и ценности новой конституции

Ключевые слова: конституция, политико-правовое устройство, ценности, либерализм, этатизм

В статье обсуждаются наиболее принципиальные философские и политические вопросы, касающиеся потенциального обновления российской Конституции. Будучи убежден, что разработка альтернативных вариантов Основного закона должна идти без оглядки на вероятную расстановку политических сил, которая сложится к моменту пересмотра Конституции, Н.Розов выдвигает и обосновывает доктрину гражданско-государственного партнерства, противопоставляя ее крайним версиям этатизма, либерализма и «жизнеустроительства».

Практическая социология

С.Р.Хайкин, Н.П.Попов

Проблемы Северного Кавказа и эффективность государственной политики в оценках местного населения

Ключевые слова: республики Северного Кавказа, социально-экономические проблемы, общественное мнение, государственная политика, протестные настроения

На основании материалов комплексного социологического исследования «Общественное мнение и эффективность политики государства на Северном Кавказе», проведенного в 2011 г. Институтом социального маркетинга, в статье рассматриваются ключевые проблемы Северокавказского региона и отражение их в сознании местных жителей. Согласно заключению авторов, Кавказ бурлит и создает сложности остальной России потому, что это район «интегрального» социально-экономического бедствия и острых этноконфессиональных противоречий, преодоление которых требует существенного повышения эффективности государственной политики и приведения ее в соответствие с реальными запросами и нуждами населения.


Губернаторские чтения

«Ресурсное проклятие»: миф или реальность? (Десятые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 9 октября 2012 г.)

Ключевые слова: «ресурсное проклятие», сырьевая экономика, нефтегазовый комплекс, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Десятых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 9 октября 2012 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема чтений – влияние ресурсного изобилия на экономическое развитие, лектор – генеральный директор Фонда национальной энергетической безопасности К.В.Симонов.