Abstracts 1, 2010

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 1, 2010

Russian Polity

Irina Glebova

ISSUE OF POWER DURING REVOLUTIONS OF 1917: SOCIO-CULTURAL CONTEXT

This article offers an interpretation of the events of the year 1917 as a sort of a counterrevolution. I.Glebova thinks that the decline of autocracy that was absolutely evident in the epoch of Nicholas II meant its deviation from monosubjectiveness, escape from the violent, despotic complex. At the same time the traditional algorithm of governing, that is the fusion of power and a person, was changing. Drawing a distinctive line between a person and power implied filling the power space with the law procedures. The revolution in the sphere of power occurred, within which the latter was transformed by the European example. It was high time autocracy had had to become more modern regarding its form as well as its content, and the last monarch, although being intuitively against it, materialized that tendency. The weakness of Nicholas’ power (by the Russian standards) did not foretell an inevitable death of the autocratic system. On the contrary, it provided a chance for its transformation. The revolution against the power buried this very chance having destroyed monarchy as well as the society at large in the forms they had existed by February 1917. The construction of the new power took place under the hardest pressure of the archaic public ideas, or in the direction being opposite towards that of Nicholas.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-5-29


Alexander Galkin

MAIN PROBLEMS OF INNOVATIVE DEVELOPMENT OF RUSSIA

The article explains the necessity of the political course based on modernization and innovative development and examines the challenges that our society is going to face given that it actually heads for this course. According to A.Galkin, all these problems are tractable, but their solutions require a “well-prepared siege” implying the core qualitative reforms rather than a “mounted attack”. The author concludes, for the transformation to the innovative development to become possible it is crucial that the political factor is organically included in this process. It is also of no less importance to create social and political institutions that can provide for the ultimate success of the undertaken efforts. This is the only chance for the innovative development to become real rather than virtual.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-30-44


Elvira Leontyeva

PERCEPTION OF CORRUPTION IN RUSSIAN MASS CONSCIOUSNESS STEREOTYPES

The article is devoted to the analysis of the specificity of the “corruption” concept in the modern Russian society. After emphasizing those practices that the mass consciousness marks as corruption and analyzing the stable stereotypes that determine different social groups’ attitudes towards corruption actions, E.Leontyeva draws the conclusion that the process of corruption becoming an acute social problem is a symptom of more fundamental processes tied to the deep crisis of the “imagined community” rather than a diagnosis. Under such conditions when the concepts of “state”, “the people”, “nation” are becoming unclear and no longer can serve as the efficient social integrators, the social practices based on the personal ties, friendship, kinship, etc. appear to be much more successive than those institutionally approved. Therefore, one intends to reduce the “big” community and its communication forms to the “small” one, within which corruption is not being perceived and traced by the participants of the cooperation. The author posits it is this process that accounts for the ambivalent perception of the very phenomenon of corruption.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-45-51

Russian regions

Leonid Bliakher

STATE AND NONSYSTEMIC NETWORKS OF YELLOWRUSSIA, OR FILLING IN EMPTY SPACE

The article reveals the reasons of the cognitive dissonance appearing in the process of the political communication between the federal center and the Russian Far East. As L.Blyakher demonstrates, when the concepts used within the discourses are the same, their semantic meanings are different. The emergence of this gap is related to the radical reorientation of the region towards the Asian “gates into the global world” in the 1990s and de facto realization of the regime of the “free trade zone” (porto franco). Since this process occurred in the informal sphere and was not reflected in the official statistics, it stayed unnoticed by the central federal structures. The federal center’s aspiration of the last years to use the transit opportunities of the region came into collision with the already existing practices that are already partly legitimized in the framework of the regional government. Viewing such legitimization (perceived by the center as the “overall corruptness” of the region) as an instrument of the alternative social integration, Blyakher analyzes opportunities and risks of the assimilation of the alternative social networks by the state.

Pages: 52-79


Anna Tarasenko

PUBLIC CHAMBERS ACTIVITY IN THE RUSSIAN REGIONS: EFFICIENCY VS. FABULOUSNESS

The article examines the activity of the deliberative organs as a representation channel of the different social groups’ interests. Having conducted the comparative analysis of 26 Russian regions, A.Tarasenko discusses factors exerting influence over the efficiency of the public chambers created under the regional power structures. Having tested the impact of the political, socio-cultural and procedural factors, the author concludes that further evolution of the deliberative organs will heavily hinge upon the extent and direction of the state influence. The efficiency of the deliberative organs is nothing without the state support and participation, but such participation and support can be at any moment transformed into the institutional restrictions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-80-88

Antithesis

Vladimir Marakhonov

DISTRIBUTION ECONOMY

The author of the article proposes the hypothesis that the Russian economy has a somewhat inherent fundamental flaw that not only prevents it from the normal development, but also is the main cause of many problems in the country’s social life that do not seem to be directly correlated with the economic sphere. V.Marakhanov states that its drawback is the lack of the efficient system of the added value production. Having traced in detail the history of the Russian economic development back to the existence of the USSR, the author sheds light on the fact that this system being destroyed during the Soviet years was not restored within the transformation period towards the market economy and analyzes the relevant and possible implications of such situation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-89-110

Cathedra

Irina Papkova

RELIGION AND INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS: STATE OF DISCIPLINE IN THE USA

Having analyzed the works by the US researchers, I.Papkova demonstrates that such discipline that we can call for convenience “religion in the international relations” is still undergoing the stage of development. A lot of methodological and theoretical problems stay unsolved; the subject of the research has not been clearly defined yet. However, emphasizing the no less obvious progress in studying this filed that had been made in the US within the last 10 years the author concludes that all the necessary prerequisites for the further fruitful development of the new discipline have been generated.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-111-117


Nikolay Medushevsky

ANALYTICAL CENTERS IN POLITICAL PROCESS: US MODEL OF THINK TANKS AND ITS FUNCTIONING OUTSIDE THE COUNTRY

The article conducts the comprehensive analysis of the US “think tanks” as specific institutions providing services to the policy process through the socio-political application studies and preparation of the recommendations for decision-makers. In contrast with the broadly accepted interpretation of the US model as being “clean”, that is not burdened with the national specificity and therefore being applicable to any social system, the author employs a multimodel approach viewing “think tanks” as organizations possessing not only institutional, but also regional as well as national specialty.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-118-132

Laboratory

Georgy Satarov

TRANSFORMATION OF JUDICIAL POWER IN RUSSIA ALTERNATIVE VIEW

In the article opening the selection of materials prepared within the 3-year project of the INDEM Foundation Judicial System in Russia: Institutional-Societal Analysis of Transformation, Verification of Results, Determination of Prospects G.Satarov describes the Foundation specialists’ approach towards the analysis of the transformation of the judicial power, the object and content of their study and draw some overall conclusions. According to the Foundation’s experts, the judicial reform in Russia is not finished yet and requires continuation based on new grounds. In order to accomplish real changes in the organization and activity of the judicial power, it is necessary to conduct core reforms not only within this very sphere, but also within other forms of existence of the Russian society and state.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-133-157


Ekaterina Mishina

TRANSFORMATION OF JUDICIAL POWER IN COUNTRIES IN TRANSIT

The article presents the results of the comparative analysis of the judicial reform in 5 transit countries (Poland, Bulgaria, Latvia, Ukraine, Kyrgyzstan) and Chili. The comparison was conducted on the base of the expert questionnaires as well as comprehensive reports prepared by these countries’ experts following the scheme elaborated by the INDEM Foundation specialists. Comparing the experience of the countries in question, E.Mishina was trying to find an answer whether the problems that our country is facing in the process of the judicial power transformation are exclusive features of Russia, or they emerge everywhere where one of the basic state institutions is undergoing change and reveal the factors contributing to or preventing success of the judicial reform.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-158-175


Mikhail Krasnov

JUDICIAL POWER: EMERGENCY REPAIRING

M.Krasnov in his work lays out the precise suggestions how to improve the normative regulation of the judicial power activity elaborated within the project Judicial System in Russia: Institutional-Societal Analysis of Transformation, Verification of Results, Determination of Prospects.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-176-181

Book Review

Margarita Orlova

THINKING ABOUT IRELAND BEING ON THE EDGE OF THE CRISIS

Reflecting upon the processes occurring in the Irish society together with the authors of the monograph under review, M.Orlova totally agrees with their conclusion: the “Green Island” is still far from the end of its history – as well as the whole world having found itself within the black streak of the deep crisis.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2010-56-1-182-189

Содержание выпуска № 1, 2010

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 1, 2010

Российская полития

И.И.Глебова

Вопрос о власти в революциях 1917 г.: социокультурный контекст

В статье предложена трактовка событий 1917 как своего рода контрреволюции. По мнению И.Глебовой, ослабление самодержавия, полностью очевидное в эпоху Николая II, означало его уход от моносубъектности, избавление от насильнического, деспотического комплекса. Одновременно менялся традиционный алгоритм властвования, в соответствии с которым власть сращена с лицом. Разведение персонификатора с властью предполагало заполнение властного пространства правовыми процедурами. Происходила революция во власти, в ходе которой она преобразовывалась по европейскому образцу. Для самодержавия пришло время стать более современным, по форме и по существу, и последний монарх (внутренне сопротивляясь) эту тенденцию воплотил. Слабость (по русским меркам) николаевской власти, считает Глебова, не предрекала неминуемой гибели самодержавной системы. Напротив, в ней заложен был шанс на ее преобразование. Революция против власти этот шанс похоронила, уничтожив и монархию, и самое общество – в том виде, в котором оно сложилось к февралю 1917 г. Конструирование новой власти происходило под жесточайшим давлением архаичных народных представлений, то есть в направлении, противоположном николаевскому.


А.А.Галкин

Проблемные узлы инновационного развития России

В статье дано обоснование необходимости курса на модернизацию и инновационное развитие и проанализированы трудности, с которыми предстоит столкнуться нашему обществу, если оно действительно встанет на этот путь. По мнению А.Галкина, все эти трудности в принципе преодолимы, но такое преодоление требует не кавалерийской атаки, а хорошо подготовленной осады, связанной с глубокими качественными преобразованиями. Согласно его заключению, чтобы переход к инновационному развитию стал возможным, в этот процесс должен быть органически включен политический фактор. Не менее важно своевременно создать социальные и политические институты, которые бы обеспечили конечный успех предпринимаемых усилий. Лишь в этом случае инновационное развитие переместится из виртуального пространства в реальное.


Э.О.Леонтьева

Восприятие коррупции в стереотипах массового сознания россиян

Статья посвящена анализу специфики бытования концепта «коррупция» в современном российском обществе. Выделив и очертив набор практик, которые осмысляются массовым сознанием как коррупционные, и проанализировав устойчивые стереотипы, детерминирующие отношение различных социальных групп к тем или иным коррупционным действиям, Э.Леонтьева приходит к заключению, что превращение коррупции в актуальную социальную проблему – не столько диагноз, сколько симптом более фундаментальных процессов, связанных с острым кризисом «воображаемого сообщества». В условиях, когда концепты «страна», «народ», «нация» теряют определенность и перестают выступать в качестве эффективных социальных интеграторов, социальные практики, основанные на личных связях, знакомствах, родстве и т.д., оказываются намного более успешными, нежели институционально одобренные. Отсюда стремление свести «большое» сообщество и формы его коммуникации к «малому», в рамках которого коррупция не осознается и не фиксируется участниками взаимодействия. Именно здесь, по мнению автора, кроются истоки двойственности восприятия самого феномена коррупции.

Российские регионы

Л.Е.Бляхер

Государство и несистемные сети «желтороссии», или Заполнение «пустого пространства»

В статье выявляются причины когнитивного диссонанса, возникающего в ходе политической коммуникации между федеральным центром и Дальним Востоком России. Как показывает Л.Бляхер, при совпадении используемых в дискурсе концептов их семантическое наполнение оказывается различным. Возникновение этого разрыва связано с произошедшей в 1990-е годы радикальной переориентацией региона на азиатские «ворота в глобальный мир» и реализацией de facto режима «свободной экономической зоны» (порто-франко). Поскольку эта переориентация осуществлялась в неформальной сфере и не фиксировалась официальной статистикой, она осталась незамеченной центральными государственными структурами. Обозначившееся в последние годы стремление федерального центра использовать транзитные возможности региона вступило в противоречие с уже существующими практиками, получившими частичную легитимацию в рамках региональных властных структур. Рассматривая такую легитимацию, воспринятую центром как «тотальная коррумпированность» региона, в качестве механизма альтернативной социальной интеграции, Бляхер анализирует возможности и риски ассимиляции альтернативных социальных сетей государством.


А.В.Тарасенко

Деятельность общественных палат в регионах России: эффективность vs. фиктивность

Статья посвящена изучению деятельности совещательных органов в качестве канала представительства интересов различных социальных групп. На основе сравнения опыта 26 российских регионов А.Тарасенко анализирует факторы, отражающиеся на эффективности общественных палат, создаваемых при региональных органах власти. Протестировав влияние политических, социально-экономических и процедурных факторов, автор приходит к выводу, что дальнейшая эволюция консультативных органов будет во многом зависеть от объема и направленности государственного воздействия. Эффективность совещательных органов немыслима без государственной поддержки и участия, но эти поддержка и участие могут в любой момент трансформироваться в институциональные ограничения.

Антитеза

В.И.Марахонов

Экономика распределения

В статье выдвигается гипотеза о том, что российская экономика содержит в себе некий фундаментальный системный порок, который не только не позволяет ей нормально развиваться, но и является первопричиной очень многих проблем в общественной жизни страны, казалось бы прямо с экономикой не связанных. По мнению В.Марахонова, этот порок заключается в отсутствии эффективной системы производства добавленной стоимости. Подробно рассмотрев историю развития отечественной экономики со времен СССР, автор показывает, что эта система, уничтоженная в советские годы, с переходом к рыночной модели так и не была воссоздана, и анализирует актуальные и возможные последствия такого положения вещей.

Кафедра

И.А.Папкова

Религия и международные отношения: состояние дисциплины в США

На основе анализа работ американских исследователей И.Папкова показывает, что область знаний, которую условно можно обозначить как «религия в международных отношениях», еще находится в стадии становления. Не решены многие методологические и теоретические проблемы, не до конца определено предметное поле исследований. Тем не менее несомненный рывок в изучении данной проблематики, который был сделан в США за последние десять лет, позволяет ей говорить о том, что уже сложились все предпосылки, необходимые для дальнейшего плодотворного развития новой дисциплины.


Н.А.Медушевский

Аналитические центры в политическом процессе: американская модель «фабрик мысли» и ее функционирование за пределами США

В статье содержится детальный анализ американских «фабрик мысли» как особого рода институтов, обслуживающих политико-управленческий процесс посредством проведения прикладных социально-политических исследований и подготовки рекомендаций для лиц, принимающих решения. В противовес широко распространенной трактовке, в рамках которой американская модель представляется «чистой», то есть не отягощенной национальной спецификой и потому применимой к любой социальной системе, автор использует мультимодельный подход, рассматривая «фабрик мысли» в качестве организаций, обладающих не только институциональной, но и региональной и национальной спецификой.

Лаборатория

Г.А.Сатаров

Трансформация судебной власти в России – альтернативный взгляд

В статье Г.Сатарова, открывающей блок материалов, подготовленных по итогам реализации большого трехгодичного проекта Фонда ИНДЕМ «Судебная реформа в России: институционально-социетальный анализ трансформации, ревизия результатов, определение перспектив», описывается подход авторского коллектива к анализу трансформации судебной власти, объект и содержание исследования и приводятся некоторые выводы общего характера. Согласно заключению специалистов Фонда, судебная реформа в России не завершена и нуждается в продолжении на новых основаниях. Чтобы добиться реальных изменений в организации и деятельности судебной власти, необходимы существенные преобразования не только в самой этой сфере, но и в иных формах бытия российского общества и государства.


Е.А.Мишина

Трансформация судебной власти в транзитных странах

В статье представлены результаты сравнительного анализа судебной реформы в пяти транзитных странах (Польше, Болгарии, Латвии, Украине, Кыргызстане) и в Чили. Сравнение осуществлялось на основе экспертных анкет, а также пространных докладов, подготовленных экспертами из этих стран по схеме, разработанной специалистами Фонда ИНДЕМ. Сопоставляя опыт указанных стран, Е.Мишина пыталась найти ответ на вопрос, определяются ли проблемы, с которыми сталкивается наша страна в процессе трансформации судебной власти, исключительными особенностями России, или они возникают везде, где меняется один из базовых государственных институтов, и выявить факторы, способствующие и препятствующие успеху судебной реформы.


М.А.Краснов

Судебная власть: срочный ремонт

В материале М.Краснова излагаются конкретные предложения по совершенствованию нормативного регулирования работы судебной власти, сформулированные по итогам исследований, проведенных в рамках проекта «Судебная реформа в России: институционально-социетальный анализ трансформации, ревизия результатов, определение перспектив».

Размышляя над прочитанным

М.Е.Орлова

Размышления об Ирландии на пороге кризиса The End of Irish History? Critical Reflection of the Celtic Tiger / Ed. by C.Coulter and S.Coleman. – Manchester and N.Y.: Manchester University Press, 2003

Размышляя вместе с авторами рецензируемой монографии о процессах, происходящих в ирландском обществе, М.Орлова полностью разделяет их заключение: до конца истории «Зеленому острову» еще далеко – как далеко до него и всему миру, вступившему в полосу глубокого кризиса.