Abstracts 1, 2016

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 1, 2016

Download 1 (80).

Political theories

Oleg Kildyushov

WAR AND SOCIAL ORDER: ULTIMA RATIO OR CONDITIO HUMANA? Hobbes Clausewitz Schmitt Foucault

Keywords: war, social order, Thomas Hobbes, Carl von Clausewitz, Carl Schmitt, Michel Foucault

This article discusses the heuristic problems associated with revealing the role of war in the process of (re)production and transformation of the social order. Since war has only recently become an independent subject of social theory (despite the obvious importance of the organized violence in the historical dynamics of the modern societies), O.Kildyushov resorts to the analysis of the texts of the old and new classics that emphasized the social functionality of war or used military lenses for explication of the essence of the socio-economic and power relations – Thomas Hobbes, Carl von Clausewitz, Carl Schmitt and Michel Foucault. The author shows that the works of these political thinkers are able to act as important heuristic resources for understanding the socio-productive effects of war.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-6-32


Alexander Shvyrkov

POLITICAL THEORY, DISCOURSE AND IDEOLOGY

Keywords: theory, discourse, ideology, ideological statements, retrospective notion

On the basis of the analysis of the relationships between political theory and political discourse, A.Shvyrkov comes to the conclusion that such relationships can be best described using the metaphor of generation: although it is true that theory generates discourse, discourse is not equal to theory, and changes in theory do not necessarily lead to changes in discourse (at least, immediate and direct changes). In other words, theory and political discourse that it generates can develop quite independently of each other. Exploring the problem of ideology in this context, the author makes a distinction between ideology and ideological statement and formulates a hypothesis about the retrospective nature of the notion “ideology”, which is filled with the real content only when the change of an epoch occurs.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-33-42


Eugenia Vakhrusheva

CRITICISM OF GLOBALIZATION AND FREDRIC JAMESONS ANTI-GLOBALIZATION STRATEGIES

Keywords:  globalization, late capitalism, postmodernism, cognitive mapping, Fredric Jameson

This article analyzes Fredric Jameson’s critical concept of globalization, its philosophical and political grounds. The article shows that the American theorist’s interpretation of the phenomenon of globalization is based on Hegel's idea about the dialectic of Identity and Difference, which manifests itself not only in viewing globalization as a dialectic of unification and diversity, but also in recognizing dialectic of culture and economics an internal logic of the development of the modern capitalism. Comparing Jameson’s key idea of merging different levels of the economic, the cultural and the political as a fundamental characteristic of postmodernity to his strategies of confronting globalization, E.Vakhrusheva comes to the conclusion that he assigns the main role in the fight against globalization to the cognitive mapping strategy.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-43-53

Post-Soviet space

Andrey Goltsov

TRANSFORMATION OF GEOPOLITICAL ORDER IN POST-SOVIET SPACE

Keywords: geopolitical order, geopolitical project, neo-empire, post-Soviet space

The article examines the transformations of the geopolitical order in the post-Soviet space. According to A.Goltsov’s assessment, the geopolitical order in the territory of the former USSR is determined primarily by the ratio of power between the Russian Federation and macro-empire of the West. However, in some sub-regions the geopolitical order also largely depends on other external actors’ policy. For example, Turkey and Iran play a significant role in the South Caucasus, and the geopolitical and geo-economic influence of China continues to increase in the Central Asia. As regards the geopolitical order established in the Central and Eastern Europe, Goltsov classifies it as bipolar. At the same time, he points out the possibility of a compromise between the EU and Russia in the distribution of spheres of primary influence, which will pave the way for the transformation of the confrontational order into the bi-centric order of peaceful interaction.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-54-72


Andrey Scherbak, Mikhail Komin, Mikhail Sokolov

LES MISERABLES: COMPARATIVE BIOGRAPHIES OF UKRAINIAN AND NOVOROSSIYAN COMMANDERS

Keywords: democratization theory, social capital, conflict in South-East Ukraine, biographical analysis

The paper tests the hypothesis about the similarity of the social origin of the commanders of volunteer battalions that distinguished themselves with the beginning of the military operations in South-East Ukraine. On the basis of a comparative analysis of the biographies of more than 50 Ukrainian and “Novorossiyan” commanders, the authors show that the latter, at the very best case, belong to the lower middle class. The results of the research conducted by the authors make us look with a critical eye at some of the major tenets of the popular theories of democratization and modernization that explain transition to democracy by the extension or maturation of the middle class. On the one hand, this reflects the specificity of the post-Soviet space, where the other, less privileged social groups play a vital role in the political regime transformation rather than “the angry citizens”. On the other hand, this allows us to put the political processes unfolding in South-Eastern Ukraine into the global processes.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-73-89

Paradigms of social development

Olesya Koltsova, Eleonora Kirkizh

IMPACT OF INTERNET ON PARTICIPATION IN PROTESTS

Keywords: protests, political movements, political communications

This article analyzes the impact of Internet on protest behavior. Using data from 49 countries obtained during the sixth wave of the surveys in the framework of the project World Values Survey, O.Koltsova and E.Kirkizh build regression models that allow to assess the impact on protests of various factors related to both the “resources” and “values” categories. The research study conducted by the authors shows that reading online news bears an independent effect on people’s participation in peaceful demonstrations, which cannot be reduced to the influence of other factors, and this impact is robustly reproduced in different countries.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-90-110

Political cultures

Alexei Miller

POLITICS OF MEMORY IN POST-COMMUNIST EUROPE AND ITS IMPACT ON EUROPEAN CULTURE OF MEMORY

Keywords: politics of memory, national historical narratives, collective memory, Holocaust, genocide

Having carefully reviewed the processes occurring today in the politics of memory, A.Miller concludes that in the 21st century the European politics of memory as a whole undergone a radical transformation as a result of interaction between the Western and the Eastern European cultures of memory. According to the author’s assessment, the Eastern European model that focuses on the sufferings of its nation and the motive of the existential threat, prevailed over the West-European, in which the theme of self-blame and responsibility played the main role. Explaining such turn by both the unwillingness of the elites of the leading Western countries to enter into a tough confrontation with the EU new members regarding their politics of memory, as well as by the “old Europe’s” loss of self-confidence and trust in the success of the EU as a project of integration, Miller shows that the Eastern European mechanisms of collective memory and identity construction prevailed when the Western Europe comprehended the growing tensions in the relationships between Russia and its neighbors.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-111-121

Practical sociology

Dmitry Rogozin

AUDIT OF IMPLEMENTED SAMPLE: FROM ROUTE TO QUOTA SELECTION

Keywords: public opinion poll, convenience sample, route sample, data fabrication, interviewer’s effect

The article presents the results of a large-scale audit conducted in the wake of the quantitative apartment-based survey on tablets in the Samara and Voronezh regions. It is shown that under the existing circumstances route sampling becomes very problematic. In a situation of scarcity of different resources (money, time, personnel) the perfectly implemented samples are indicative of fabrications and distortion of the prescribed procedures rather than professional and high-quality work. In fact, pollsters implement quota-controlled samples that are incompatible with the systematic route selection, which doubts the adequacy of the employed methods of statistical analysis.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-122-141

Laboratory

Rita Kamalova

ANALYSIS OF COHERENCE OF GROUPS POSITIONS IN THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT IN 19792014

Keywords: European Parliament, European Union, political groups, coherence, coherence indices

The article examines the coherence at the European Parliament on two major cleavages (ideological and national) that determine whether deputies unite into the groups. Having described the data in use, R.Kamalova calculates the Rice index that allows to measure the degree of coherence of deputies in the group, analyzes the pairwise coherence between the groups, and then assesses the level of fragmentation and polarization of the EU legislative body.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-142-161

Cathedra

Rostislav Turovsky

NATIONALIZATION AND REGIONALIZATION OF PARTY SYSTEMS: APPROACHES TO RESEARCH

Keywords: party system, nationalization, regionalization, electoral geography

The Russian studies of party systems usually focus on their genesis and actor structure, competition and institutionalization. Meanwhile, such crucial characteristic of a party system as its nationalization has been largely overlooked by the Russian scholars. The situation with regionalization of party systems is not much better: it is mainly studied in the framework of the electoral geography, if studied at all. As a first step to remedy the situation, R.Turovsky refers to the existing international political science approaches to the study of nationalization and regionalization of party systems. He considers the origin of the relevant notions, research trends and indicators used and tests some of them on the Russian elections.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-162-180


Gubernatorial readings

Russia and the world: contours of turbulent future Twenty-Third Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, December 16th, 2015

Keywords: development cycle, crisis, world order, management of the future, Russia

The material published here is a report on the Twenty-Third Gubernatorial readings held in Tyumen, December 16th, 2015, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the Readings being possible strategies of Russia in the changing world and a lecturer – A.O.Bezrukov, Associate Professor at Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO University, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia), a retired colonel of the Foreign Intelligence Service of Russia.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2016-80-1-181-200

Содержание выпуска № 1, 2016

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 1, 2016

Скачать № 1 (80) целиком.

Политические теории

О.В.Кильдюшов

Война и социальный порядок: ultima ratio или conditio humana? (Гоббс – Клаузевиц – Шмитт – Фуко)

Ключевые слова: война, социальный порядок, Томас Гоббс, Карл фон Клаузевиц, Карл Шмитт, Мишель Фуко

В статье рассматриваются эвристические проблемы, связанные с прояснением роли войны в процессах (вос)производства и трансформации социального порядка. Поскольку, несмотря на очевидную значимость организованного насилия в исторической динамике современных обществ, война лишь недавно стала самостоятельным предметом социальной теории, О.Кильдюшов обращается к анализу текстов старых и новых классиков – Томаса Гоббса, Карла фон Клаузевица, Карла Шмитта и Мишеля Фуко, – которые подчеркивали социальную функциональность войны или использовали милитарную оптику для экспликации сущности общественно-экономических и властных отношений, показывая, что работы этих политических мыслителей способны выступить в качестве важных эвристических ресурсов при осмыслении социально-продуктивных эффектов войны.


А.И.Швырков

Политическая теория, дискурс и идеология

Ключевые слова: теория, дискурс, идеология, идеологические высказывания, ретроспективное понятие

На основе анализа отношений между политической теорией и политическим дискурсом А.Швырков приходит к заключению, что такие отношения лучше всего описываются с помощью метафоры порождения: хотя теория и порождает дискурс, дискурс не тождествен теории, и изменения в теории вовсе не обязательно влекут за собой изменения в дискурсе (по крайней мере, немедленные и непосредственные). Иными словами, теория и порожденный ею политический дискурс способны развиваться достаточно независимо друг от друга. Исследуя в этом контексте вопрос об идеологии, автор проводит различие между идеологией и идеологическим высказыванием и формулирует гипотезу о ретроспективном характере понятия «идеология», которое наполняется реальным содержанием только со сменой эпохи.


Е.А.Вахрушева

Критика глобализации и антиглобалистские стратегии Фредрика Джеймисона

Ключевые слова: глобализация, поздний капитализм, постмодернизм, когнитивное картографирование, Фредрик Джеймисон

Статья посвящена анализу критической концепции глобализации Фредрика Джеймисона, ее философских и политических оснований. В статье показано, что в своей трактовке феномена глобализации американский теоретик исходит из гегелевской идеи о диалектике Тождества и Различия, что проявляется не только в рассмотрении глобализации как диалектики унификации и многообразия, но и в признании диалектики культуры и экономики внутренней логикой развития современного капитализма. Сопоставляя ключевую для Джеймисона идею о слиянии различных уровней экономического, культурного и политического как фундаментальной характеристике постсовременности с предлагаемыми им стратегиями противостояния глобализации, Е.Вахрушева приходит к выводу, что главную роль в борьбе с глобализацией он отводит стратегии когнитивного картографирования.

Постсоветское пространство

А.Г.Гольцов

Трансформации геополитического порядка на постсоветском пространстве

Ключевые слова: геополитический порядок, геополитический проект, неоимперия, постсоветское пространство

В статье исследуются трансформации, которые претерпевает геополитический порядок на постсоветском пространстве. По оценке А.Гольцова, геополитический порядок на территории бывшего СССР определяется прежде всего соотношением сил РФ и макроимперии Запада. Вместе с тем в отдельных субрегионах геополитический порядок существенно зависит также от политики других внешних акторов. Так, на Южном Кавказе немалую роль играют Турция и Иран, в Центральной Азии продолжает усиливаться геополитическое и геоэкономическое влияние Китая. Что касается Центральной и Восточной Европы, то сложившийся там геополитический порядок Гольцов квалифицирует как биполярный. В то же время он указывает на возможность компромисса между Россией и ЕС в распределении сфер преимущественного влияния, что откроет путь к трансформации конфронтационного порядка в бицентрический порядок мирного взаимодействия.


А.Н.Щербак, М.О.Комин, М.А.Соколов

«Отверженные»: сравнительные биографии украинских и «новороссийских» полевых командиров

Ключевые слова: теория демократизации, социальный капитал, конфликт на юго-востоке Украины, биографический анализ

В статье тестируется гипотеза о близости социального происхождения командиров добровольческих батальонов, проявивших себя с началом боевых действий на юго-востоке Украины. На основе сравнительного анализа биографий более чем 50 украинских и «новороссийских» полевых командиров авторы показывают, что последние относятся в лучшем случае к нижнему среднему классу. Результаты проведенного ими исследования заставляют критически взглянуть на некоторые из основных положений популярных теорий демократизации и модернизации, связывающих переход к демократии с расширением или созреванием среднего класса, что, с одной стороны, отражает специфику постсоветского пространства, где важнейшую роль в трансформации политических режимов играют не столько «рассерженные горожане», сколько иные, менее привилегированные социальные группы, а с другой – позволяет вписать развертывающиеся там политические процессы в общемировые.

Парадигмы общественного развития

О.Ю.Кольцова, Э.А.Киркиж

Влияние интернета на участие в протестах

Ключевые слова: протесты, политические движения, политические коммуникации

Статья посвящена анализу влияния интернета на протестное поведение. Используя данные по 49 странам, полученные в ходе шестой волны опросов в рамках проекта World Values Survey, О.Кольцова и Э.Киркиж строят регрессионные модели, позволяющие оценить воздействие на протесты различных факторов, относящихся как к категории «ресурсов», так и к категории «ценностей». Проведенное ими исследование показывает, что чтение онлайн-новостей оказывает самостоятельное влияние на участие людей в мирных демонстрациях, не сводимое к влиянию других факторов, и это влияние устойчиво воспроизводится в разных странах.

Политические культуры

А.И.Миллер

Политика памяти в посткоммунистической Европе и ее воздействие на европейскую культуру памяти

Ключевые слова: политика памяти, национальные исторические нарративы, коллективная память, Холокост, геноцид

Внимательно рассмотрев процессы, происходящие сегодня в сфере политики памяти, А.Миллер приходит к выводу, что в XXI столетии в результате взаимодействия западно- и восточноевропейской культур памяти произошла радикальная трансформация европейской политики памяти в целом. По его оценке, восточноевропейская модель, сфокусированная на страданиях своей нации и мотиве экзистенциальной угрозы, одержала верх над западноевропейской, в которой главную роль играла тема собственной вины и ответственности. Связывая такой поворот событий как с нежеланием элит ведущих западноевропейских стран вступать в жесткую конфронтацию с новыми членами ЕС по вопросам политики памяти, так и с утратой «старой Европой» уверенности в себе и в успешности ЕС как проекта интеграции, Миллер показывает, что при осмыслении в Западной Европе растущего напряжения в отношениях между Россией и ее соседями возобладали восточноевропейские механизмы коллективной памяти и конструирования идентичности.

Практическая социология

Д.М.Рогозин

Аудит реализованной выборки: от маршрута к отбору по квотам

Ключевые слова: опрос общественного мнения, конформная выборка, маршрутная выборка, фабрикация данных, эффект интервьюера

В статье представлены результаты масштабного аудита, проведенного по следам поквартирного опроса на планшетах в Самарской и Воронежской областях. Показано, что в сложившихся условиях проведение маршрутной выборки становится весьма проблематичным. В ситуации дефицита различных ресурсов (денег, времени, кадров) идеально реализованные выборки указывают скорее на фабрикации и отход от предписанных процедур, нежели на профессионально и качественно выполненную работу. Фактически опросные центры реализуют контролируемые квотные выборки, несовместимые с систематическим маршрутным отбором, что ставит под вопрос адекватность используемых методов статистического анализа.

Лаборатория

Р.У.Камалова

Анализ согласованности позиций групп в Европейском парламенте в 1979–2014 годах

Ключевые слова: Европейский парламент, Европейский союз, политические группы, согласованность, индексы согласованности

В статье исследуется согласованность в Европарламенте первого–седьмого созывов по двум основных расколам (идеологическому и национальному), обусловливающим объединение депутатов в группы. Описав используемые данные, Р.Камалова рассчитывает индекс Райса, позволяющий измерять степень согласованности депутатов в группе, анализирует попарную согласованность между группами, а затем оценивает уровень фрагментированности и поляризованности законодательного органа ЕС.

Кафедра

Р.Ф.Туровский

Национализация и регионализация партийных систем: подходы к исследованию

Ключевые слова: партийная система, национализация, регионализация, электоральная география

Российские исследования партийных систем обычно сфокусированы на их генезисе и акторной структуре, конкурентности и институционализации. При этом такая важнейшая характеристика партийной системы, как ее национализация, по большей части оказывается вне поля зрения отечественных ученых. Немногим лучше обстоит дело и с регионализацией партийных систем, которая если изучается, то преимущественно в рамках электоральной географии. В качестве первого шага к исправлению сложившейся ситуации Р.Туровский обращается к существующим в зарубежной политической науке подходам к изучению национализации и регионализации партийных систем, рассматривая происхождение соответствующих понятий, направления исследований и используемые в них индикаторы, а также тестирует некоторые из них на материале российских выборов.


Губернаторские чтения

Россия и мир: контуры тревожного будущего (Двадцать третьи Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 16 декабря 2015 г.)

Ключевые слова: цикл развития, кризис, мировой порядок, управление будущим, Россия

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Двадцать третьих Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 16 декабря 2015 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – возможные стратегии России в меняющемся мире, лектор – доцент МГИМО(У) МИД России, полковник Службы внешней разведки РФ в отставке А.О.Безруков.