Abstracts 4, 2014

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 4, 2014

Russian Polity

Vladimir Gelman, Andrei Starodubtsev

POSSIBILITIES AND LIMITATIONS OF AUTHORITARIAN MODERNIZATION: RUSSIAN REFORMS OF THE 2000s

Keywords: policy, political regime, authoritarian regime, socio-economic reforms, Russia

In order to answer the question of whether key socio-economic changes can be implemented successfully under the conditions of electoral authoritarianism, V.Gel’man and A.Starodubtsev turn to the analysis of the Russian experience of the 2000s. The study conducted by the authors shows that, despite the existence of opportunities for authoritarian modernization, its implementation encounters a number of political and institutional constraints, including the poor quality of the state apparatus and inefficiency of institutional design. The authors conclude that under the regimes of electoral authoritarianism the success of an innovative policy is determined by three interrelated factors: (1) strategic priority of reforms in the eyes of a country’s president; (2) focused implementation of these reforms by their proponents within certain ministerial jurisdictions; (3) one-step nature of the reforms and their implementation within a limited time.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-6-30


Andrei Okara

FOURTH POWER BETWEEN SOCIETY AND STATE Political Journalists as Part of Political Class of Modern Russia (II)

Keywords: political journalism, new media, legitimacy of power, public sphere, virtual reality, information-psychological war

n this article A.Okara attempts to comprehend the role of political journalism in the social life of the modern Russia. The second part of the article published in this issue (for the first part, see Politeia, 2014, 3) examines the political journalists’ perception of politics and politicians, their status as the “fourth power”, as well as their role in managing perceptions of legitimacy of power structures. Having pointed out the growing influence of journalists as creators of the meanings, “correctors” of the picture of what is going on, creators of virtual reality (as well as their decreasing role as intermediaries between events and society), the author also demonstrates that to date the impact of domestic journalists and journalism on politics remains mostly fragmentary, unsystematic, and sporadic.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-31-48


Alexei Miller

POLITICS OF MEMORY IN RUSSIA: YEAR OF DASHED HOPES

Keywords: politics of memory, historical policy, Ukrainian crisis, dialogue between society and government

Having documented the deepest crisis in the politics of memory in Russia, A.Miller turns to the analysis of the events and circumstances that led to the destruction of the emerging areas and forms of dialogue and cooperation in the field of historical consciousness between government and society as well as between the individual segments of the latter. The article compellingly shows that the crisis over Ukraine that gradually evolved into the crisis of relations between Russia and the US and the EU is a key factor contributing to the radical change of the situation with the politics of memory in the country. According to the author's assessment, if the present trend in Russia continues, what is happening today can signal the start of a long process of mobilizing civil society not just on an anti-liberal, but ignorant nationalist platform.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-49-57

Political theory

Mikhail Ilyin

ALTERNATIVE POLITICAL FORMS IN HISTORICAL TIMES AND CIVILIZATIONAL SPACES (I)

Keywords:  political form, political order, political formula, evolutionary morphology

The article represents a sort of prologue to the debate about the political form as a phenomenon and as an analytical category. In the first part of the article published in this issue, M.Ilyin, having briefly touched upon morphology as a special method of scientific analysis of reality, tries to answer the question of why people perceive as a phenomenon of the same order and use the same word “form” (or its analogues) to describe very dissimilar analytical tools; considers the ratio of different real political forms (plural) with an abstract political form (singular); and introduces a distinction between political form, political orders and political formulae. The first part of the article concludes with the review of the real forms, orders and formulae that existed before, exist now and are capable of existing through times and civilizational spaces of politics with the help of the scientific apparatus of evolutionary morphology.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-58-70


Alexander Shvyrkov

ABOUT RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN POLITICAL THEORY AND REALITY

Keywords: political reality, political fact, political theory, causality

This article is devoted to the analysis of the relationship between political reality, political theory and political facts. If condensed, the author's logic unfolds as the following. Political facts emerge only with the advent of political theory. Multiplying the number of theories always means multiplying the number of facts. Political facts are drawn from political reality. The latter is incomprehensible, infinite, and inexhaustible. The key point in the relationship between theories and facts is that theories embrace the existing plethora of facts only to a negligible extent. As a result, there is almost never real competition between theories; the analysis of the majority of political processes requires application of several theories at once; the construction of facts in the form of causal chains is difficult or impossible. According to the author's evaluation, it is the specific features of the origin of political theories that allow them to exist to a certain extent separately from political reality.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-71-85


Rostislav Turovsky

SUBNATIONAL POLICY: INTRODUCTION TO POTENTIAL THEORY

Keywords: subnational policy, political region, federalism, regional construction

One of the main problems of regional political studies is deficit of unifying concepts, which leads to the focus of researchers on relatively narrow topics, the study of which impedes complete and comprehensive understanding of the subject. As a possible step to solving this problem, R.Turovsky introduces and justifies a concept of subnational policy, through which a variety of political processes occurring inside the country and related to its territory can be examined. The article defines subnational policy and identifies its three dimensions – vertical (inter-level), horizontal (inter-territorial), and local, and examines the relation of subnational policy with such traditional research paradigms as federalism, regional policy, local government, and international politics.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-86-99

Paradigms of Social Development

Alexei Gilev

WIDOWS, GREED, AND LARGE INHERITANCE: PROBLEMS OF POLITICAL SUCCESSION IN ASIA

Keywords: political succession, South, Southeast and East Asia, political elites, nepotism

The article investigates an institution of succession and analyzes factors that contribute to the electoral success of political leaders' successors on the material of the countries in the South, Southeast and East Asia. Based on the analysis of 25 cases of succession in the history of India, Indonesia, South Korea, Malaysia, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan, the Philippines, and Sri Lanka, the author concludes that the circumstances most favorable for the elites' coalition in power (closedness of the regime, dependent successor, resources’ availability) appear to be less favorable for the success of succession. Having pointed out a sort of “sinking effect” (leaders that assume power from authoritarian and resource-rich rulers are more likely to lose their electoral advantage), A.Gilev at the same time emphasizes that such effect can be mitigated by the use of majoritarian electoral formula: the higher the proportion of deputies elected by the majority rule, the easier it is for the ruling group to maintain its advantage when transferring power to a successor.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-100-117

Post-Soviet Space

Nikolai Borisov

INSTITUTION OF PRESIDENCY IN UKRAINE: POWER SHIFT OR MODEL TRANSFORMATION?

Keywords: institution of presidency, political institutionalization, Ukraine, patronal presidentialism

The article discusses political and legal aspects of the presidential power transfer in Ukraine in February 2014 from the perspective of the development of this institution. Identifying the established system in Ukraine as patronal presidentialism, N.Borisov shows that in Ukraine, contrary to the promises of the new authorities, the model of presidency based on patron-client relations, informal institutions and a scenario “winner takes all” is reproduced. According to his assessment, the real steps towards democratization of the Ukrainian political system have not been undertaken, and it is yet premature to talk about the beginning of the transition to “good” or “good enough” institutions in Ukraine.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-118-128

Ideologies

Alexei Smirnov

AXIOLOGY OF EUROPEAN CONSERVATISM: BETWEEN TRADITION AND PROGRESS

Keywords: conservative ideology, political conservatism, Christian tradition

Having analyzed principles of conservative consciousness embodied in the attitudes and electoral preferences of the Europeans, A.Smirnov comes to the conclusion about the prematureness of the verdict on semantic exhaustion of conservatism and its complete transformation into a meaningless category. The author posits that the socio-economic transformations of the last decades that heralded the triumph of liberal principles only partly affected political, cultural and ideological foundations that define the inner world of the European peoples; and a variety of disasters and challenges of this century may reunite conservative ideas with their former conceptual value. In this case, ascribing values to these ideas, which are now largely depleted, will once again become popular and in demand.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-129-144

Practical sociology

Dmitry Rogozin, Dmitry Saponov

CORPUS OF ERRORS IN AUTOMATED TELEPHONE SURVEY

Keywords:  interview duration, corpus of errors, general theory of errors, paradata, telephone survey

The paper presents a formalized approach to the detection of systematic errors in mass surveys by constructing a single data matrix. Errors are defined as the difference between values of individual variables in the sample representing all respondents and a subsample, from which units of observation coded under different contextual conditions or possessing another set of related parameters are removed. The time the interview was conducted and its duration are considered as factors that hypothetically affect biases. The results obtained by the authors do not allow to speak with confidence about the reliability of the developed procedure, but presents great opportunities for operationalization of the general theory of errors.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-145-162

Book Review

Leonid Polyakov

VERY TIMELY BOOK (Musikhin G.I. Essays on Theory of Ideology. M.: Publishing House of Higher School of Economics, 2013)

Keywords:  ideology, political theory, liberalism, socialism, conservatism, populism

Assessing the work under review as a milestone for the problematic sphere of ideology studies in the national political science, L.Polyakov expresses his view that from now on no study of ideology published in Russian that fails to advance this topic above the bar set by G.Musikhin can be qualified as properly scientific. According to the reviewer, within the metaphorical domain “ideologiya.ru”, Musikhin's book has all the attributes that can be conveyed by the term benchmarking. However, he by no means thinks that the author “ended the discussion”. On the contrary, from his point of view, the author in some sense “opened the discussion”. Focusing on the already invented “wheels”, “deliciously” described by Musikhin, one can and should go further – especially in the direction of the applied analysis of contemporary Russian ideologies.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-163-170


Gubernatorial Readings

RESOURCES FOR RUSSIAN ECONOMY'S GROWTH IN A CHANGING WORLD Eighteenth Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, November 6th, 2014

Keywords: Russian economics, economical crysis, resources of development, Tyumen region.

The material published here is a report on the Eighteenth Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, November 6th, 2014, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the Readings being resources for Russian economy's growth in a changing world, and a lecturer – L.M.Grigoryev, Head of Department of World Economy, Higher School of Economics; Senior Advisor to the Head of the Analytical Centre for the Government of the Russian Federation.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2014-75-4-171-188

Содержание выпуска № 4, 2014

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 4, 2014

Российская полития

В.Я.Гельман, А.В.Стародубцев

Возможности и ограничения авторитарной модернизации: российские реформы 2000-х годов

Ключевые слова: политический курс, политический режим, авторитарный режим, социально-экономические реформы, Россия

В поисках ответа на вопрос, могут ли ключевые социально-экономические преобразования быть успешно осуществлены в условиях электорального авторитаризма, В.Гельман и А.Стародубцев обращаются к анализу российского опыта 2000-х годов. Проведенное ими исследование показывает, что, несмотря на наличие возможностей для авторитарной модернизации, ее реализация наталкивается на целый ряд политических и институциональных ограничений, включая низкое качество государственного аппарата и неэффективность институционального дизайна. По заключению авторов, в режимах электорального авторитаризма успех инновационного политического курса определяется тремя взаимосвязанными факторами: (1) стратегической приоритетностью реформ в глазах президента страны; (2) их концентрированной реализацией в ограниченных ведомственных рамках силами сторонников преобразований; (3) одноступенчатым характером реформ и проведением их в сжатый период времени.


А.Н.Окара

«Четвертая власть» между обществом и государством (Политические журналисты как часть политического класса современной России) (II)

Ключевые слова: политическая журналистика, новые медиа, легитимность власти, публичная сфера, виртуальная реальность, информационно-психологическая война

В статье А.Окары предпринята попытка осмыслить роль политической журналистики в общественной жизни современной России. Во второй части статьи, публикуемой в этом номере (начало см. Полития, 2014, № 3), анализируется восприятие политическими журналистами политики и политиков, их статус как «четвертой власти», а также роль в управлении представлениями о легитимности властных структур. Зафиксировав рост влияния журналистов как создателей смыслов, «корректоров» картины происходящего, творцов виртуальной реальности (при одновременном снижении их значения как посредников между событиями и обществом), автор вместе с тем показывает, что на сегодняшний день воздействие отечественных журналистов и журналистики на политику остается по большей части фрагментарным, несистемным и спорадическим.


А.И.Миллер

Политика памяти в России: год разрушенных надежд

Ключевые слова: политика памяти, историческая политика, украинский кризис, диалог общества и власти

Зафиксировав глубочайший кризис в сфере политики памяти в России, А.Миллер обращается к анализу тех событий и обстоятельств, которые привели к разрушению зарождавшихся площадок и форм диалога и сотрудничества в области исторического сознания между властью и обществом, а также между отдельными сегментами последнего. В статье убедительно показано, что ключевым фактором, обусловившим кардинальное изменение ситуации с политикой памяти в стране, был кризис вокруг Украины, постепенно переросший в кризис отношений РФ с США и ЕС. По оценке автора, при сохранении нынешнего тренда происходящее сегодня в России может стать началом длительного процесса мобилизации гражданского общества не просто на антилиберальной, но на некритично националистической платформе.

Политические теории

М.В.Ильин

Альтернативные политические формы в исторических временах и цивилизационных пространствах (I)

Ключевые слова: политическая форма, политический порядок, политическая формула, эволюционная морфология

Статья представляет собой своего рода пролог к дискуссии о политической форме как явлении и аналитической категории. В первой части статьи, публикуемой в этом номере, М.Ильин, кратко остановившись на морфологии как особом способе научного анализа действительности, пытается найти ответ на вопрос, почему люди воспринимают как явления одного порядка и называют одним словом «форма» (или его аналогами) очень непохожие друг на друга аналитические инструменты, рассматривает соотношение различных фактических политических форм (во множественном числе) с абстрактной политической формой (в единственном числе) и вводит различение политической формы, политических порядков и политических формул. Завершает первую часть статьи обзор фактически существующих, существовавших и способных существовать форм, порядков и формул во временах и цивилизационных пространствах политики с помощью научного аппарата эволюционной морфологии.


А.И.Швырков

Об отношениях между политической теорией и реальностью

Ключевые слова: политическая реальность, политический факт, политическая теория, причинность

Статья посвящена анализу отношений между политической реальностью, политической теорией и политическими фактами. В сжатом виде ход рассуждений автора состоит в следующем. Политические факты появляются только с появлением политической теории. Умножение числа теорий всегда означает умножение числа фактов. Политические факты черпаются из политической реальности. Она непостижима, бесконечна, неисчерпаема. Ключевой момент в отношениях между теориями и фактами состоит в том, что теории лишь в очень незначительной степени охватывают имеющееся множество фактов. В результате между теориями практически никогда не возникает настоящей конкуренции, анализ большинства политических процессов требует привлечения сразу нескольких теорий, а выстраивание фактов в виде причинно-следственных цепочек затруднено или невозможно. По оценке автора, именно особенности происхождения политических теорий и позволяют им существовать в известной мере независимо от политической реальности.


Р.Ф.Туровский

Субнациональная политика: введение к возможной теории

Ключевые слова: субнациональная политика, политический регион, федерализм, региональное строительство

Одной из главных проблем региональных политических исследований является дефицит объединяющих концептов, что приводит к ориентации исследователей на относительно узкие темы, при изучении которых не возникает полного и всеобъемлющего понимания предмета. В качестве возможного шага к решению этой проблемы Р.Туровский вводит и обосновывает концепт «субнациональная политика», с помощью которого могут изучаться самые разные политические процессы, происходящие внутри государства и имеющие связь с его территорией. В статье дается определение субнациональной политики, выделяются три ее измерения – вертикальное (межуровневое), горизонтальное (межтерриториальное) и локальное – и рассматривается соотношение субнациональной политики с такими традиционными исследовательскими парадигмами, как федерализмом, региональная политика, местное самоуправлением и международная политика.

Парадигмы общественного развития

А.В.Гилев

Вдовы, скупость и богатое наследство: проблемы политического преемничества в странах Азии

Ключевые слова: политическое преемничество, Южная, Юго-Восточная и Восточная Азия, политические элиты, семейственность

В статье на материале стран Южной, Юго-Восточной и Восточной Азии исследуется институт преемничества и анализируются факторы, способствующие электоральной успешности преемников политических лидеров. На основе анализа 25 случаев преемничества из истории Индии, Индонезии, Южной Кореи, Малайзии, Непала, Сингапура, Таиланда, Тайваня, Филиппин и Шри-Ланки автор приходит к заключению, что обстоятельства, наиболее благоприятные для находящейся у власти коалиции элит (закрытость режима, зависимый преемник, ресурсная обеспеченность), оказываются менее благоприятными с точки зрения успешности преемничества. Зафиксировав своего рода эффект «проседания» (лидеры, принимающие власть у авторитарных и обеспеченных ресурсами правителей, легче теряют электоральное преимущество), А.Гилёв вместе с тем обращает внимание на то, что он может быть сглажен за счет применения мажоритарной электоральной формулы: чем выше доля депутатов, избираемых по мажоритарной системе, тем легче правящей группе удержать свое преимущество при передаче власти преемнику.

Постсоветское пространство

Н.А.Борисов

Институт президента Украины: смена власти или трансформация модели?

Ключевые слова: институт президентства, политическая институционализация, Украина, патронажный президенциализм

В статье рассматриваются политико-правовые аспекты смены президентской власти на Украине в феврале 2014 г. с точки зрения перспектив развития данного института. Квалифицируя сложившуюся на Украине систему как патронажный президенциализм, Н.Борисов показывает, что, вопреки обещаниям новых властей, в стране воспроизводится модель президентства, основанная на патрон-клиентских отношениях, неформальных институтах и сценарии «победитель получает все». По его оценке, реальных шагов в направлении демократизации украинской политической системы так и не было сделано, и говорить о начале движения Украины в сторону более или менее эффективных институтов пока преждевременно.

Идеологии

А.Н.Смирнов

Аксиология европейского консерватизма: между традицией и прогрессом

Ключевые слова: консервативная идеология, политический консерватизм, христианская традиция

Проанализировав ориентиры консервативного сознания, воплощенные во взглядах и электоральных предпочтениях европейцев, А.Смирнов приходит к выводу о преждевременности вердикта о смысловой исчерпанности консерватизма и окончательном превращении его в бессодержательную категорию. Социально-экономические трансформации последних десятилетий, обозначившие торжество либеральных принципов, считает он, лишь отчасти затронули политико-культурные и мировоззренческие основы, определяющие внутренний мир европейских народов, и разнообразные катаклизмы и вызовы нынешнего столетия вполне могут вернуть консервативным идеям их прежнее смыслополагающее значение. В этом случае ценностное наполнение таких идей, ныне изрядно растраченное, вновь станет востребованным и актуальным.

Практическая социология

Д.М.Рогозин, Д.И.Сапонов

Корпус ошибок автоматизированного телефонного опроса

Ключевые слова: длительность интервью, корпус ошибок, метки разности, общая теория ошибок, параданные, телефонный опрос

В статье представлен формализованный подход к обнаружению систематических ошибок массовых опросов посредством конструирования единой матрицы данных. Ошибки определяются как разность значений отдельных переменных в выборке, репрезентирующей всю совокупность респондентов, и подвыборке, из которой удалены единицы наблюдения, регистрируемые при иных контекстуальных условиях или обладающие другим набором сопутствующих параметров. В качестве факторов, гипотетически влияющих на смещения, рассмотрены время проведения интервью и его продолжительность. Полученные авторами результаты не позволяют с уверенностью говорить о надежности разработанной процедуры, однако открывают широкие возможности для операционализации общей теории ошибок.

Размышляя над прочитанным

Л.В.Поляков

Очень своевременная книга Мусихин Г.И. Очерки теории идеологии. – М.: Изд. дом Высшей школы экономики, 2013

Ключевые слова: идеология, политическая теория, либерализм, социализм, консерватизм, популизм

Оценивая рецензируемую работу как рубежную для проблемного поля изучения идеологии в отечественной политической науке, Л.Поляков высказывает убеждение, что отныне ни одно исследование идеологии на русском языке, не продвигающее эту тему выше заданного Г.Мусихиным уровня, просто не сможет быть квалифицировано как собственно научное. По мнению рецензента, в рамках условного домена «идеология.ru» книга Мусихина обладает всеми признаками того, что передается термином benchmarking. Вместе с тем он отнюдь не считает, что ее автор «закрыл тему». Напротив, с его точки зрения, он в каком-то смысле «открыл» ее. Ориентируясь на уже изобретенные «велосипеды», вкусно описанные Мусихиным, можно и нужно идти дальше – особенно в направлении прикладного анализа современных российских идеологий.


Губернаторские чтения

Ресурсы роста российской экономики в меняющемся мире (Восемнадцатые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 6 ноября 2014 г.)

Ключевые слова: российская экономика, экономический кризис, ресурсы роста, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Восемнадцатых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 6 ноября 2014 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – ресурсы роста российской экономики в меняющемся мире, лектор – руководитель департамента мировой экономики Высшей школы экономики, главный советник руководителя Аналитического центра при правительстве Российской Федерации Л.М.Григорьев.