Abstracts 3, 2007

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 3, 2007

CIS - TERRA INCOGNITA: POLITICAL PROCESSES IN THE FORMER SOVIET REPUBLICS

Andrei Okara

UKRAINIAN DISCOURSES AND RUSSIAN PARADIGM (The Optimum Model of Russian-Ukrainian Relations as a Political, Cultural and Socio-Philosophical Problem)

The article covers the analysis of factors impairing Russian-Ukrainian mutual understanding. Stating that Russia and Ukraine are very close and similar to each other in many areas the author reveals deep differences in the constructive specificities of those very "historical development generators" that set the direction and velocity of each of the country`s movement in space and time. A.Okara convincingly shows that from the prospective of political culture and the combination of social stability and instability, Chaos and Order paradigm Ukraine and Russia are phenomena in many ways contradicting each other. At the same time these countries are so closely interrelated that their historical future first of all depends on the nature of bilateral relations. According to the author the most promising relationships for both countries would not be the ones based on "subtraction" or just simple "addition" of their potentials but on the "multiplication" of these potentials via synergetic cooperation on strategic issues. In his opinion this is the quest of the format for such cooperation that should become the basis of Russian-Ukrainian relationships.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-6-31


Alexander Sobianin, Vasiliy Misnik

"UNCATCHABLE JOE" OF CENTRAL ASIA. Russia as the Strategic Resource of Kirghiz Development

The article covers an attempt to follow the possible directions of modern Kirghiz development. On the basis of the analysis of the state of affairs in the republic the authors come to the conclusion that during the years of independence it failed to respond any of the challenges that came together with freedom and to find its place in the regional and international division of labor. Nevertheless, according to their conclusion this does not mean that Kirghizia did not and will not become a "normal" country. A.Sobianin and V.Misnik relate the prospects of its would be regional "specialization" with Russia. They believe that currently Kirghiz Republic has all to gradually move to the position of a key player, however, as a member of the Russian team.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-32-41

Political Theories

Gleb Musikhin

PLURALISM OF POLITICAL VALUES OR GENERAL IMPERATIVE OF PERSONAL LIBERTY: IS THE CHOICE NON-PREDETERMINED?

The urgent issue faced by the world community is what should be the attitude of a constitutional rule-of-law state to those who are not always in line with the commonly recognized social norms of everyday living. Should it protect human rights up to suppressing "anti-modern sectarianism and obscurantism" or should it express maximum tolerance to different forms of social and individual activity that does not fit into the tough frameworks of the Modernity project? In the first case the ending might be the "dictatorship of humanism", in the second case the rule-of-law state turns into the indifferent witness of personal liberty oppression. According to G.Musikhin it is the principle of individual autonomy that opens the way to getting beyond this dilemma. He concludes that the real value pluralism and liberal democracy tolerance should be based on the supremacy of individual autonomy leaving space for collective values that do not always meet the principles of constitutional liberalism.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-42-60


Nickolay Minashin

TRUST NETWORKS AND THE FORMATION OF THE STATE. Dutch experience

The article deals with the substantiation of heuristic value of the elite democracy concept while studying of political regimes that already stopped being autocratic but are far from consolidated liberal democratic standards. Owing to limited access to information on functioning of elite democracies of the 20th - 21st centuries the author turns to the Dutch experience of the late 16th - early 18th centuries proving that the effective integration of trust networks may be a mighty driver of national economic development providing for the high level of stability in the country. The author concludes that in the Netherlands` case the integration of trust networks replaced building of centralized bureaucratic institutions typical for modern history. However, due to the absence of such institutions the Netherlands found themselves behind their geopolitical rivals — England and France who were moving on the way of institutional development.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-61-74

Public Consciousness

Elena Potapchuk

SILENCE. Problems of Modern Russian Political Metaphor

The article covers the analysis of the causes and consequences of weak regional participation in introducing of new political metaphors. According to the author the "muteness" of regional authorities is brought by the political "deafness" of federal structures. The design of political metaphors process in regional policy has to sublimate in the quest of the practical decisions of specific problems. As it is shown in the article such approach is far from being harmless since rejecting political initiatives regional politicians practically pass their functions of strategic planning to the center that is not always able to take into account regional specifics. Besides, the political center and regional authorities come to speak not the same language thus breaking the unified communication code responsible for contacts inside the system.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-75-82


Tatiana Evgenieva, Antonina Selezneva

"ENEMY IMAGE". AS THE FACTOR OF THE FORMATION OF MODERN RUSSIAN YOUTH`S NATIONAL IDENTITY

One of the specifics of modern Russia became the actualization of the "enemy image" in the mass consciousness. It is in particular expressed in the growth of radical nationalism and xenophobia especially among the youth. On the basis of social identity theory the authors hypothesize that this tendency is the consequence of the Russian youth`s value vacuum that came after the USSR disintegration. They believe that this was the absence of the system of meaning around which the society could unite that created a favorable medium for negative identification through the "enemy image".

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-83-92


Alexei Sitnikov

ORTHODOXY INFLUENCE ON RUSSIAN CITIZENS SOCIAL ACTIVITY AND POLITICAL VALUES

The article contains the results of the study addressing the level of the correlation between the Orthodox Church membership and Russian citizens` social activity and political preferences. Using the analysis of the data of the poll conducted in January-March 2006 at some Moscow secular and religious educational establishments the author shows that Orthodox religiosity as such does not influence believers` political orientation and social activity. In his opinion the influence is exerted by a certain subculture conditioned more by special ideological segments and traditions around the church than the religious dogma.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-93-99

Russian regions: the far east

Natalia Rizhova, Natalia Simutina

RUSSIAN-CHINESE BORDER: ALIENATED - COEXISTENT - INTERDEPENDENT?

The authors give arguments evidencing that Blagoveschensk - Hey He area may be interpreted as transborder. The border plays rather a contact than barrier function, migration, predominantly pendulum exchange, is growing, commodity and cash flows are increasing, and the citizens of both territories actively interact getting commercial profit from the border resource. At the same time it is shown that these processes take place in the institutionally indefinite cross-border field. The result is the transborder interaction of predominately informal nature often based on Chinese priorities.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-100-114


Alexander Aseev

ADMINISTRATIVE TERRITORIAL AND NATIONAL DIVISION IN THE FAR EAST: THE GENESIS OF MODERN CONTRADICTIONS

The author analyzes the origin of current issues in Russian national territorial policy. Using the analysis of national territorial transformations conducted in 19th - 20th centuries in the Far East the author shows that the cause of most problems currently faced by the small aboriginal peoples of the Russian Federation is the fact that the division between a political nation and an ethnic group disappeared. In the Russian empire there was a dominant political nation, however, nationalities were clearly defined. The Soviet power proclaimed each people`s right to self-determination and evened these differences thus putting a "time bomb" under the whole building of the Soviet Union and its successors.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-115-124


Dmitriy Atroschenko

LABOR MARKET IN THE PERIOD OF SYSTEM TRANSFORMATIONS. Using Jewish Autonomous Republic as Example

The article covers the analysis of political factors` influence in the sphere of labor relations. The author focuses his attention on the labor market processes in Jewish Autonomous Republic. Since the Jewish Autonomous Republic is not a strategically important region attracting the close attention of the country`s higher leadership and there are neither powerful defense complex companies nor valuable natural resources there D.Atroschenko considers things taking place there as the most "pure" case of labor market shaping in the post-soviet area.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-125-134

Antithesis

Boris Orlov

FROM FEBRUARY TO OCTOBER. February Process of 1917 in the Context of the Confrontation of Subcultures

In the search of the answer what let the Bolsheviks to implement their adventurous ideas B.Orlov analyzes the political subcultures which expressed themselves in the activity of different social groups and organizations, the main participants of the February process. In his opinion at the beginning of the revolution the representatives of two different political subcultures came to the political arena - the consensus one whose carriers were trade and industrial circles, liberal intelligentsia, urban middle class and the confrontation one. Lenin and his extremist supporters used the latter to come to the power. These were not the Soviets that gave them the "green light" but the wave of the protests of peasants who were just trying on worker`s overalls, a soldier or a sailor uniform.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-135-157

Book Review

Leonid Bliakher

LOOKING FOR THE ABSENT OBJECT (Third electoral cycle in Russia / Edited by V.Ya.Gelman. - Saint-Petersburg: Publishing house of the European University in Saint-Petersburg, 2007. - 294 p.)

Noting the doubtless merits of the collective monograph under the editorship of V.Gelman L.Blyakher still states that its authors could not get beyond the negative description of the Russian political regime as being neither "purely" authoritarian nor properly democratic. Moreover, although the book makes think about the structure of Russian political institutions and the principle difference between the "name" of an institution and the function it performs in the society the issue of the essence of Russian political regime is not raised there. Explaining such "narrow" point of view by the desire to stick to the scientific "purity of style" Blyakher reflects on the factors hindering the conceptualization of Russian political reality.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-158-163


Boris Makarenko

CHECKING OF THE POLICY BY THEORY (Petrovsky V.E. From Empire to the Open World. - M.: ROSSPAN, 2007. - 206 p.)

B.Makarenko reviews the monograph of the famous expert in international relations V.Petrovsky. In his opinion the work`s main merit is that it gives the "thick description" of the theories of international relations that teach to understand this sphere as science and provide for the analytical tools of its rethinking, planning and forecasting.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-164-166


Anna Sokolova

POLITICAL SCIENCE IS AN EXACT SCIENCE(Modeling in Socio-Political Sphere. Science Almanac. 2007. 1.)

A.Sokolova gives the review of the first issue of new specialized journal called to create a publishing site for researchers who use the tools of exact sciences for studying of socio-political sphere.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-167-168

Chronicle

Yury Korgunyuk

SUBJECTS WITHOUT PROPERTIES. Russian Political Parties in the Election Campaign of 2007

In the traditional for the magazine review Yu.Korgunyuk presents the main events in the life of Russian political parties in August-October 2007. As usual the chronicle is accompanied by analysis of the alignment of political forces in the country. According to the author the today`s situation in Russia reminds of Brazil in 1964—1985. The current Russian reality reminds of the Brazilian situation in that time not only by the same complete immunity of the supreme power from any impact on the side of political parties and the scale of electoral engineering but also by the artificial, subjectless and unstable nature of the "party of the power" whose positions are supported by purely administrative efforts.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2007-46-3-169-191

Содержание выпуска № 3, 2007

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 3, 2007

СНГ – Terra Incognita: политические процессы в бывших республиках СССР

А.Н.Окара

Украинские дискурсы и российская парадигма (Оптимальная модель отношений России и Украины как политологическая, культурологическая и социально-философская проблема)

Статья посвящена анализу факторов, осложняющих достижение российско-украинского взаимопонимания. Констатировав, что по большинству видимых параметров Россия и Украина чрезвычайно близки и похожи друг на друга, автор вскрывает глубокие различия в конструктивных особенностях тех самых «генераторов исторического развития», которыми задаются направление и скорость движения каждой из стран в пространстве и времени. В статье убедительно показано, что с точки зрения политической культуры, а также сочетания состояний социальной стабильности и нестабильности, парадигм Хаоса и Порядка Украина и Россия представляют собой во многом противоположные феномены. Вместе с тем эти страны настолько тесно связаны между собой, что их историческое будущее зависит прежде всего от характера двусторонних отношений. Наиболее перспективными для обеих стран А.Окара считает отношения, основанные не на «вычитании» и не на простом «сложении» их потенциалов, но на «перемножении» этих потенциалов через синергетическое взаимодействие по стратегическим вопросам. Именно поиск формата такого взаимодействия, по его мнению, и должен лечь в основу российско-украинских отношений.


А.Д.Собянин, В.М.Мисник

Неуловимый Джо Средней Азии (Россия как стратегический ресурс развития Киргизии)

В статье предпринята попытка проследить возможные направления развития современной Киргизии. На основе анализа положения дел в республике авторы приходят к выводу, что за годы независимости ей не удалось ответить ни на один из вызовов, свалившихся на нее вместе со свободой, и найти свое место в региональном и международном разделении труда. Тем не менее, согласно их заключению, это отнюдь не означает, что «нормальной» страны из Киргизии не получилось и не получится. Перспективы обретения ею действительно серьезной региональной «специализации» А.Собянин и В.Мисник связывают с Россией. По их мнению, у Кыргызской Республики сегодня есть все для того, чтобы, оставаясь маленькой, двигаться к позиции постепенно становящегося ключевым игрока – но в составе российской команды.

Политические теории

Г.И.Мусихин

Плюрализм политических ценностей или всеобщий императив свободы личности: выбор не предопределен?

В современном мире остро стоит вопрос, как вести себя конституционному правовому государству по отношению к тем, кто не во всем соответствует общепринятым нормам социального общежития. Должно ли оно защищать права человека вплоть до подавления «антисовременного сектантства и мракобесия», либо ему следует проявлять максимальную терпимость к различным формам социальной и индивидуальной активности, не вписывающимся в жесткие рамки проекта Модерна? В первом случае дело может кончиться «диктатурой гуманизма», во втором правовое государство превращается в безучастного свидетеля попрания прав личности. По мнению Г.Мусихина, выход за пределы данной дилеммы открывает принцип индивидуальной автономии. Согласно его заключению, подлинный ценностный плюрализм и толерантность либеральной демократии должны исходить из примата индивидуальной автономии, оставляя при этом пространство для коллективных ценностей, не всегда отвечающих принципам конституционного либерализма.


Н.И.Минашин

Сети доверия и формирование государства (Опыт Нидерландов)

Статья посвящена обоснованию эвристической ценности концепта элитной демократии при изучении политических режимов, уже переставших быть автократическими, но при этом далеких от стандартов консолидированной либеральной демократии. В связи с ограниченностью доступа к информации о функционировании элитных демократий XX–XXI вв. автор обращается к опыту Нидерландов конца XVI – начала XVIII столетия, убедительно доказывая, что эффективная интеграция сетей доверия может оказаться мощным «драйвером» экономического развития страны и обеспечить высокий уровень стабильности в обществе. По заключению автора, в случае Нидерландов опора на сети доверия заменила собой строительство централизованных бюрократических институтов, характерных для эпохи модерна. Однако отсутствие таких институтов в конечном счете привело к тому, что Нидерланды уступили своим геополитическим соперникам – Англии и Франции, двигавшимся по пути институционального развития.

Общественное сознание

Е.Ю.Потапчук

Молчание (Проблемы современной российской политической метафоры)

В статье анализируются причины и последствия слабого участия регионов в выдвижении новых политических метафор. По оценке автора, «немоту» региональных властных структур порождает политическая «глухота» структур федеральных. Процесс конструирования политических метафор в региональной политике вынужденно сублимируется в поиск конкретных решений практических проблем. Такой подход, как показано в статье, далеко не безобиден, ибо, отказываясь от политических инициатив, региональные политики практически полностью передают функции стратегического планирования центру, который не всегда способен учесть региональную специфику. При этом политический центр и регионалы-хозяйственники начинают говорить на разных языках, что ведет к разрушению единого кода коммуникации, обеспечивающего внутрисистемное общение.


Т.В.Евгеньева, А.В.Селезнева

Образ «врага» как фактор формирования национальной идентичности современной российской молодежи

Одной из особенностей современной России стала актуализация в массовом сознании образа «врага», выражающаяся, в частности, в росте радикального национализма и ксенофобии, особенно в молодежной среде. Отталкиваясь от положений теории социальной идентичности, авторы высказывают гипотезу, что данная тенденция есть следствие ценностного вакуума, в котором оказалась современная российская молодежь после распада СССР. По их заключению, именно отсутствие системы смыслов, вокруг которой могло бы объединиться общество, создало благоприятную почву для негативной идентификации через образ «врага».


А.В.Ситников

Влияние православия на социальную активность и политические ценности граждан России

В статье представлены результаты исследования, нацеленного на выявление степени корреляции между принадлежностью к православной Церкви и социальной активностью и политическими предпочтениями граждан России. На основе анализа данных социологического опроса, проведенного в январе-марте 2006 г. в ряде светских и православных учебных заведений г. Москвы, автор показывает, что на политическую ориентацию и социальную активность верующих влияет не собственно православная религиозность, но определенная субкультура, обусловленная не столько вероучением, сколько особыми пластами околоцерковных идеологий и традиций.

Российские регионы: дальний восток

Н.П.Рыжова, Н.Л.Симутина

Российско-китайская граница: отчужденная — сосуществующая — взаимозависимая?

В статье приводятся аргументы, свидетельствующие о том, что зона Благовещенск–Хэйхэ может интерпретироваться как трансграничная: граница выполняет скорее контактную, нежели барьерную функцию, растет миграционный, преимущественно маятниковый, обмен, увеличиваются товарный и денежный потоки, граждане обеих территорий активно взаимодействуют между собой, извлекая из ресурса границы коммерческую выгоду. Вместе с тем авторы показывают, что все эти процессы развертываются в институционально неопределенном приграничном поле. В результате трансграничное взаимодействие носит преимущественно неформальный характер и зачастую строится в соответствии с приоритетами китайской стороны.


А.А.Асеев

Административно-территориальное и национальное деление на Дальнем Востоке: генезис современных противоречий

В статье предпринята попытка проследить генезис нынешних «узлов» в национально-территориальной политике России. На основе анализа национально-территориальных преобразований, проводившихся в XIX–ХХ вв. на Дальнем Востоке, автор показывает, что значительная часть проблем, с которыми сталкиваются в настоящее время малочисленные народы РФ, обязана своим появлением неразличению политической нации и этнической группы. Если в рамках Российской империи при наличии доминирующей политической нации достаточно четко выделялись «народности», то советская власть, провозгласившая право каждого народа на самоопределение, нивелировала это различие, тем самым заложив «мину замедленного действия» под все здание Советского Союза и его преемников.


Д.В.Атрощенко

Рынок труда в период системных преобразований (На примере Еврейской автономной области)

Статья посвящена анализу влияния политических факторов на сферу трудовых отношений. В центре внимания автора находятся процессы, разворачивающиеся на рынке труда Еврейской автономной области. Поскольку ЕАО не относится к числу стратегически важных регионов, привлекающих особенно пристальное внимание высшего руководства страны, и там нет ни мощных предприятий оборонного комплекса, ни ценных природных ископаемых, происходящее в ней рассматривается Д.Атрощенко как максимально «чистый» случай формирования рынка труда на постсоветском пространстве.

Антитеза

Б.С.Орлов

От Февраля к Октябрю (Февральский процесс 1917 г. в контексте противоборства субкультур)

В поисках ответа на вопрос, что позволило большевикам реализовать свою авантюрную затею, Б.Орлов обращается к анализу политических субкультур, проявивших себя в деятельности различных социальных групп и организаций – главных участниц февральского процесса. По его мнению, в самом начале революции на политическую арену вышли представители двух разных политических субкультур – консенсусной, носителями которой выступали торгово-промышленные круги, либеральная интеллигенция, городские средние слои, и конфронтационной. Именно опираясь на последнюю, экстремистски настроенные сторонники Ленина и пришли к власти. И «зеленую улицу» им открыли не Советы, а митинговая стихия крестьянских масс, только примерявших на себя рабочую робу, форму солдата или матроса.

Размышляя над прочитанным

Л.Е.Бляхер

В поисках отсутствующего объекта (Третий электоральный цикл в России / Под ред. В.Я.Гельмана. — СПб.: Изд-во Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге, 2007. — 294 с.)

Отмечая несомненные достоинства коллективной монографии под редакцией В.Гельмана, Л.Бляхер вместе с тем констатирует, что ее авторы так и не смогли выйти за рамки негативного описания российского политического режима как не являющегося ни «чисто» авторитарным, ни собственно демократическим. Более того, хотя книга невольно заставляет задуматься о структуре политических институтов в России, о принципиальном несовпадении «имени» института и той функции, которую он выполняет в обществе, вопрос о сущности российского политического режима в ней не ставится. Связывая подобную «узость» взгляда со стремлением сохранить политологическую «чистоту стиля», Бляхер размышляет об истоках ситуации, препятствующей концептуализации реальности российской политики.


Б.И.Макаренко

Поверка политики теорией (Петровский В.Е. От империи — к открытому миру. М.: РОССПЭН, 2007. — 206 с.)

Объектом рассмотрения в рецензии Б.Макаренко является монография известного ученого-международника В.Петровского. Главным достоинством рецензируемой книги Б.Макаренко считает то, что в ней дано «насыщенное описание» теорий международных отношений, которые учат понимать эту сферу как науку и обеспечивают аналитический инструментарий для ее осмысления, планирования и прогнозирования.


А.В.Соколова

Политология — наука точная (Моделирование в социально-политической сфере. Научный альманах. 2007. № 1)

В материале А.Соколовой дан обзор первого номера нового специализированного журнала, призванного создать издательскую площадку для исследователей, использующих инструментарий точных наук при изучении социально-политической сферы.

Хроника

Ю.Г.Коргунюк

Субъекты без свойств (Российские партии в избирательной кампании 2007 г.)

В традиционном для журнала обзоре Ю.Коргунюка представлены основные события в жизни российских политических партий в августе-октябре 2007 г. Как обычно, хронике предпослан анализ расстановки политических сил в стране. По оценке автора, ситуация, сложившаяся сегодня в России напоминает ту, что существовала в Бразилии в 1964–1985 гг. Нынешнюю российскую действительность сближает с тогдашней бразильской не только совершенный иммунитет верховной власти от какого бы то ни было воздействия со стороны партий и масштабы электоральной инженерии, но и искусственность, «бессубъектность» и крайняя неустойчивость «партии власти», чьи позиции поддерживаются почти исключительно административными усилиями.