Abstracts 4, 2015

Main Page ~ Journal Archive ~ Abstracts 4, 2015

Download 4 (79).

RUSSIAN POLITY

Leonid Bliakher

VERY SMALL BUSINESS IN A VERY BIG STATE, OR WHAT TO HOPE FOR WHEN THERE IS NOTHING TO HOPE FOR

Keywords: state, informal economy, distribution, public service, common good

The article discusses the relationship between the sphere that constitutes the economic basis (“fodder base”) of the state, the specificity of the mechanism by which the state extracts resources and the distinguishing features of the political structure of the society in the post-Soviet Russia. Based on the analysis of the transformations that the Russian state has undergone over the past 25 years, L.Blyakher identifies three stages in its development (state as a seller of services; state as a distributor of goods; and a modern, transitional stage), demonstrating that these stages are conditioned upon the nature of the “fodder base”. The author focuses on the role of the informal economy in this interaction. The article shows that during the crisis of the traditional “fodder base” of the Russian state the low-level informal economy reproached in everyday life is the only sphere that is not harmed.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-24


Ilia Matveev

HYBRID NEOLIBERALIZATION: STATE, LEGITIMACY, AND NEO-LIBERALISM IN PUTINS RUSSIA

Keywords: neoliberalism, neopatrimonialism, legitimacy, reforms

The article attempts to identify and explain the changes and continuity in the implementation of the neoliberal policy in Putin's Russia. Bereft of the opportunity to consider the whole array of factors that determine the process of neoliberalization, I.Matveev focuses on the internal springs of the changing economic and social policies such as the dynamics of state building and transformation of the dominant forms of the regime legitimacy. In the first part of the article he shows how the weakening of the state under Boris Yeltsin and then its “strengthening” under Vladimir Putin influence the process of privatization and (re)nationalization; in the second part of the article the author demonstrates how the wide plebiscite legitimacy of Putin was combined with the acceleration of neo-liberal reforms in the social sphere. According to his conclusion, despite the increasingly more active state intervention into the economy, in the modern Russia it is not so much about the failure of neoliberal policies, but rather about the specific local version of “real neo-liberalism.”

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-25-47

POLITICAL THEORIES

Yuri Rudnev

FOUCAULTS TWO BODIES Questioning Contemporary Foucault Studies

Keywords: Michel Foucault, Colin Gordon, Foucault Effect, Foucault Studies, cultural studies

Knowing and quoting Foucault is unavoidable for contemporary Humanities. Dominating English-speaking tradition even created a particular interdisciplinary field of Foucault Studies. Their representatives analyze the manifold socio-cultural and political phenomena by means of Foucault's theory. Recent paper takes into consideration the characteristic features and main stages of Foucault Studies’ development. Special attention is paid to the shift of foucauldians’ (as a corporation of Foucault’s followers) approach from the interpretation to abridgment and instrumentalization of thinker’s concepts.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-48-68


Yaroslav Bakhmetyev

CONCEPTUAL RETHINKING OF NATIONALISM UNDER GLOBALIZATION

Keywords: globalization, nationalism, national state

The conventional wisdom holds that in the modern world global processes are opposed to national institutions and cultural values. In criticizing this viewpoint, Ya.Bakhmetyev hypothesizes that it is based on the conceptual simplification of the notions of nationalism and globalization at the theoretical level, which turned into the speculative analysis of reality. The theoretical analysis conducted by the author, including the analysis through the deconstruction of the relevant notions and concepts that are based on the latter, points to the need of rethinking the political aspects of nationalism and globalization, as well as connection between nation and national state.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-69-86

Post-Soviet space

Nina Legoshina

KARPMANS TRIANGLE VICTIM-PERSECUTOR-RESCUER IN COVERING UKRAINIAN CRISIS BY SOCIO-POLITICAL MASS MEDIA

Keywords: communication systems, social consciousness, socio-political mass media, Ukrainian crisis, political psychology, Karpman’s triangle

The article justifies the possibility of applying S.Karpman’s psychological model of interpersonal relationships to the studies of political communication. After analyzing the role structure of participants of interaction within the framework of codependent relations, described by the so-called “Karpman’s triangle”, N.Legoshina shows that such a role model constitutes a powerful technology of influence on mass consciousness, including the influence through the formation of public opinion by mass media. The distinguishing features of this technology and the specifics of its application are discussed in the article on the example of mythologizing the image of Russia, Ukraine and the United States during the coverage of the Ukrainian events of 2014–2015 by the socio-political media.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-87-99


Denis Letnyakov

ROLE OF RUSSIAN LANGUAGE IN POST-SOVIET CENTRAL ASIA

Keywords:  Russian language, post-Soviet space, Central Asia, language policy, “soft power”

The article discusses the role of the Russian language in the Central Asia – the region of the former Soviet Union. Carefully analyzing the use of the Russian language as a means of everyday communication and lingua franca, its popularity in the fields of culture, science and media, the accessibility and prestige of the Russian-language education, D.Letnyakov shows that, despite the policy of “nationalization” of the language sphere that is in one way or another conducted by all states in the region, the Russian language still plays an important role in the Central Asian societies. At the same time, according to his opinion, the current state of the Russian language and the Russian culture is largely the inertia of the Soviet period, the effect of which will gradually fade, and if Russia fails to develop and implement a clear strategy of “soft power”, it will soon lose its benefits in the Central Asia, and the latter will be really lost for Russia.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-100-115

Antithesis

Maria Krechetova, Georgy Satarov

POWER AND VIOLENCE Case of Russia

Keywords:  political power, legitimate violence, illegitimate violence, Russia

In order to assess the threat of the Russian authorities’ exercising mass physical violence, M.Krechetova and G.Satarov analyze prerequisites for the realization of this threat and the restrictions that the political leadership may face if it possesses an intention to turn to such measures. After thoroughly elaborating on the terminology used, the authors consider the basic conditions for the growth of political violence (including political rent and weakness of authorities), explore the dynamics of the political violence in Russia and simultaneously touch upon the specific conditions of the expansion of violence in our country. After that the authors, relying on the ideas of Hannah Arendt, refer to the morphology of physical political violence, describing its triggers and limits.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-116-139

Laboratory

Victoria Oleinik

ANALYSIS OF 6th UKRAINIAN VERKHOVNA RADA STRUCTURE ON BASIS OF DEPUTIES ROLL-CALL VOTING

Keywords: Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, power distribution in parliament, power index, Banzhaf index, α-index, consistency index, political maps

The article presents the results of the application of mathematical methods to the analysis of the structure of legislative bodies (on the example of the 6th Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada). The study conducted by V.Oleynik is yet more proof of the efficiency of applying such methods to solving these problems. Building political maps and calculating consistency indices allowed the author to obtain the realistic picture of the distribution of power between the factions in the Ukrainian parliament in the period of 2007–2012. It has been demonstrated that the power of a faction (measured by Banzhaf index) is far from being determined by the proportion of seats it is entitled to; in fact, it may be zero for non-zero values of the proportion of seats. In turn, utilizing α-indexes enabled a more subtle analysis of power distribution, which clearly demonstrated that small factions might exert greater influence than large factions that hold extreme positions.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-140-161


Gubernatorial readings

RUSSIAN SOCIETY: NEW CHALLENGES AND THREATS Twenty-Second Gubernatorial Readings. Tyumen, November 10th, 2015

Keywords: Russia, Russian society, public opinion, crisis, Tyumen region

The material published here is a report on the Twenty-Second Gubernatorial Readings held in Tyumen, November 10th, 2015, under the framework of the joint project conducted by the journal Politeia and the administration of Tyumen region with the topic of the Readings being challenges and threats facing the Russian society today and a lecturer – M.K.Gorshkov, Director of the Institute of Sociology of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), member of RAS.

DOI: 10.30570/2078-5089-2015-79-4-5-162-184

Содержание выпуска № 4, 2015

Главная страница ~ Архив журнала ~ Содержание выпуска № 4, 2015

Скачать № 4 (79) целиком.

Российская полития

Л.Е.Бляхер

Очень маленький бизнес в очень большом государстве, или На что надеяться, когда надеяться не на что

Ключевые слова: государство, неформальная экономика, распределение, государственная услуга, общее благо

В статье рассматривается связь между сферой, составляющей экономическую основу («кормовую базу») государства, спецификой механизма изъятия им ресурсов и особенностями политической структуры общества в постсоветской России. На основе анализа трансформаций, которые претерпело российское государство на протяжении последних 25 лет, Л.Бляхер выделяет три этапа в его развитии (государство – продавец услуг, государство – распределитель благ и современный, переходный этап), демонстрируя обусловленность этих этапов характером «кормовой базы». В центре внимания автора – то место, которое занимает в этом взаимодействии неформальная экономика. В статье показано, что в условиях кризиса традиционной «кормовой базы» российского государства единственной сферой, не терпящей ущерба, является низовая, укоренная в повседневности неформальная экономика.


И.А.Матвеев

Гибридная неолиберализация: государство, легитимность и неолиберализм в путинской России

Ключевые слова: неолиберализм, неопатримониализм, легитимность, реформы

В статье предпринята попытка выявить и объяснить изменения и преемственность в реализации неолиберальной политики в путинской России. Не имея возможности детально рассмотреть всю совокупность факторов, определяющих процесс неолиберализации, И.Матвеев концентрирует внимание на таких внутренних пружинах меняющегося экономического и социального курса, как динамика государственного строительства и трансформация доминирующих форм легитимности режима. В первой части статьи он показывает, как ослабление государства при Б.Ельцине, а затем его «усиление» при В.Путине влияли на процесс приватизации и (ре)национализации, во второй – как широкая, плебисцитарная легитимность Путина сочеталась с ускорением неолиберальных реформ в социальной сфере. По его заключению, несмотря на все более активное вмешательство государства в экономику, в современной России речь идет не столько об отказе от неолиберальной политики, сколько о специфической местной версии «реального неолиберализма».

Политические теории

Ю.В.Руднев

Два тела Фуко (Очерк современного состояния Foucault Studies)

Ключевые слова: Мишель Фуко, Колин Гордон, эффект Фуко, Foucault Studies, cultural studies

Без знания и цитирования Мишеля Фуко трудно представить себе современную гуманитарную науку. Доминирующая в ней англоязычная традиция исследований даже породила особую междисциплинарную область Foucault Studies, представители которой используют теорию Фуко при анализе широкого круга актуальных социокультурных и политических феноменов. Настоящая статья рассматривает процесс становления и характерные черты Foucault Studies, уделяя особое внимание механизмам, с помощью которых фукольдианцы как корпорация последователей Фуко перешли от толкования его текстов к их выборочному прочтению и инструментализации основных концептов мыслителя.


Я.А.Бахметьев

Концептуальное переосмысление национализма в условиях глобализации

Ключевые слова: глобализация, национализм, национальное государство

Принято считать, что в современном мире глобальные процессы противостоят национальным институтам и культурным ценностям. Критикуя данную точку зрения, Я.Бахметьеввысказывает гипотезу, что за ней кроется концептуальное упрощение понятий национализма и глобализации на уровне теории, обернувшееся спекулятивным анализом реальности. Проведенный им теоретический анализ, в том числе посредством деконструкции соответствующих понятий и базирующихся на них концепций, указывает на необходимостьпереосмысления политических аспектов национализма и глобализации, а такжесвязи нации с национальным государством.

Постсоветское пространство

Н.В.Легошина

Треугольник Карпмана «Жертва – Преследователь – Спасатель» в освещении украинского кризиса общественно-политическими СМИ

Ключевые слова: коммуникационные системы, общественное сознание, общественно-политические СМИ, украинский кризис, политическая психология, треугольник Карпмана

В статье обосновывается возможность использования психологической модели межличностных отношений С.Карпмана при исследовании политической коммуникации. Проанализировав ролевую структуру участников взаимодействия в рамках созависимых отношений, описываемую так называемым «треугольником Карпмана», Н.Легошина показывает, что подобная ролевая модель является мощной технологией воздействия на массовое сознание, в том числе через формирование общественного мнения посредством медиа. Особенности данной технологии и специфика ее применения рассматриваются в статье на примере мифологизации образов России, Украины и США при освещении украинских событий 2014–2015 гг. общественно-политическими СМИ.


Д.Э.Летняков

Роль русского языка в постсоветской Центральной Азии

Ключевые слова: русский язык, постсоветское пространство, Центральная Азия, языковая политика, «мягкая сила»

В статье рассматривается роль русского языка в таком регионе бывшего СССР, как Центральная Азия. Тщательно проанализировав использование русского языка как средства повседневного общения и lingua franca, его распространенность в сферах культуры, науки и медиа, доступность и престижность русскоязычного образования, Д.Летняков показывает, что, несмотря на политику «национализации» языковой сферы, которую так или иначе проводят все государства региона, русский язык по-прежнему занимает важное место в центральноазиатских обществах. Вместе с тем, по его заключению, нынешнее положение русского языка и русской культуры – во многом инерция советского времени, эффект которой будет постепенно ослабевать, и, если Россия не сумеет разработать и реализовать внятную стратегию «мягкой силы», она очень быстро растеряет свои преимущества в Центральной Азии и та действительно окажется для нее потерянной.

Антитеза

М.Ю.Кречетова, Г.А.Сатаров

Власть и насилие (Случай России)

Ключевые слова: политическая власть, легитимное насилие, нелегитимное насилие, Россия

Ставя перед собой задачу оценить угрозу применения российской властью массового физического насилия, М.Кречетова и Г.Сатаров анализируют предпосылки реализации этой угрозы и те ограничения, с которыми может столкнуться политическое руководство, если намерение перейти к подобным мерам у него возникнет. Подробно остановившись на используемой терминологии, авторы рассматривают базовые условия роста политического насилия (к каковым относят политическую ренту и слабость власти), исследуют динамику политического насилия в России, параллельно затрагивая специфические условия расширения насилия в нашей стране, а затем, опираясь на идеи Ханны Арендт, обращаются к морфологии физического политического насилия, описывая его спусковые крючки и ограничители.

Лаборатория

В.В.Олейник

Анализ структуры Верховной рады Украины VI созывана основании поименных голосований депутатов

Ключевые слова: Верховная рада Украины, распределение влияния в парламенте, индекс влияния, индекс Банцафа, α-индекс, индекс согласованности, политические карты

В статье представлены результаты применения математических методов при анализе структуры законодательных органов (на примере Верховной рады Украины VI созыва). Проведенное В.Олейник исследование в очередной раз подтвердило продуктивность обращения к данным методам при решении подобного рода задач. Построение политических карт и вычисление индексов согласованности позволило автору получить реалистичную картину распределения влияния между фракциями в украинском парламенте в 2007–2012 гг. Было показано, что влияние фракции (измеренное с помощью индекса Банцафа) отнюдь не определяется долей мест, которыми она располагает; в частности, оно может быть нулевым при ненулевых значениях доли мест. В свою очередь, обращение к α-индексам дало возможность провести более тонкий анализ распределения влияния, наглядно продемонстрировавший, что немногочисленные фракции могут обладать большим влиянием, чем крупные фракции, занимающие крайние позиции.


Губернаторские чтения

Российское общество: новые вызовы и угрозы (Двадцать вторые Губернаторские чтения. Тюмень, 10 ноября 2015 г.)

Ключевые слова: Россия, российское общество, общественное мнение, кризис, Тюменская область

Публикуемый материал представляет собой отчет о Двадцатых вторых Губернаторских чтениях, прошедших 10 ноября 2015 г. в Тюмени в рамках проекта, осуществляемого журналом «Полития» совместно с администрацией Тюменской области. Тема Чтений – новые вызовы и угрозы, с которыми сталкивается сегодня российское общество, лектор – директор Института социологии РАН академик РАН М.К.Горшков.